2004 Toyota Highlander Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Toyota Highlander V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24250 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

I would recommend this car and buy it again

Faults:

Some computer control for the anti-lock brakes or vehicle skid control went out and could not drive over 3 mph--car would vibrate terribly! was replaced under warranty, but was told it was a big job to calibrate.

General Comments:

Love everything about the car, except wish I got closer to the EPA gas mileage estimates--I average 17-18 mpg mixed highway and city (not bad for an SUV though). The car is very comfortable, smooth to drive and has plenty of cargo space or the third row seat. It drives like a car, tows a 17' power boat no problem, and handles great in the snow with its all wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2006

12th Sep 2006, 14:37

In trying out a number of SUV's I found the Highlander to be very unstable in braking and very underpowered. The interior fit and finish was also incredibly sloppy. I guess if you like it that's what matters.

2004 Toyota Highlander Limited V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It is an unsafe, expensive piece of scrap metal

Faults:

The Highlander hesitates or cuts out when the speed goes below a certain level. Originally it was only in the 20 to 30 mph range, but it now hesitates at around 40 mph and even in the passing gear range. This is very dangerous as it slows down at the most critical times.

The power steering and brakes also failed on the car when it was 7 months old. The car was towed in and repaired so I was told.

General Comments:

I have contacted Toyota many times and even went to arbitration about the vehicle. The arbitrator acknowledged there was a problem, but ruled it should be repaired under the warranty even though Toyota disputes there is anything wrong with it and therefore not repairable.

It seems Toyota hasn't been held responsible for this even though they definitely are aware of the problem in many of their vehicles. An American company would never be allowed to get by with misleading the consumer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

18th Jul 2005, 10:04

It is unlikely that Toyota will do anything about it unless pressured to do so. They have recently announced a new software upgrade that is supposed to fix the problem, but most that have the upgrade are still experiencing hesitation. I suggest you file claims with the National Highway Transportation Safety Admin. at http://www.nhtsa.gov and with the Center for Auto Safety at http://www.autosafety.org.

2004 Toyota Highlander from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Hesitation a big safety concern

Faults:

I am worried about transmission hesitation problem. There has been recent news articles about Toyota and Lexus trying to fix this, but in the meantime the car has a serious hesitation problem. It happens when you try to accelerate from a low speed, like you do when you merge on an interstate. It can be dangerous in this situation as you gun your engine to merge into traffic and nothing happens. This makes for a very near miss and I am afraid one of these times it will cause an accident. I am told that the transmission has a computer that learns your driving style and that this will go away, but we have had it for a year now and it hasn't learned yet.There are 3 drivers in my family so I am not sure how a vehicle can learn the driving habits of multiple drivers! I will not allow my 16 yr. old to drive in this situation anymore.

General Comments:

Generally, I like the Highlander, but the hesitation issue is giving me serious second thoughts on this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

26th Jan 2005, 08:05

I hesitate (pardon the pun) to buy a new Highlander until I can be assured that this problem is corrected. Is the problem in all Toyota's? I know it is an issue in some of the Lexus line and also the Sienna, which makes sense because I think the Highlander and Sienna are basically the same vehicle with a different body style.

2004 Toyota Highlander from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles

Summary:

It is the best all round car/SUV I have owned over the last 35 years

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my 2004 Highlander over the 10 months that I have owned it.

General Comments:

This mid size SUV drives like a sedan. I drives equally well on city roads and highways. Gas mileage is 18 city and 27 highway with air conditioner running. I have the V6 cylinder 256 Horse power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

4th Dec 2004, 18:55

I think you are too high on the horsepower rating.

17th Feb 2006, 09:07

My 2001 Highland Limited V6 AWD has been flawless. With 83,000 miles, it still runs like the day I bought it. I had one problem with the AC fan going on and off, but the dealer found the bad connection and it's working great. I'm always scared of buying first year models, but Toyota did this one well. Can't say enough about how reliable this vehicle has been. Unfortunately, my vehicle got hit by hail yesterday and I'm worried they are going to total the SUV. So, I'm looking at buying another maybe a hybrid.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews