Toyota iQ Reviews

2010 Toyota iQ 1.0 VVT-i petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carJaguar X-Type

Summary:

Good small car, but think again if you expect to get 65 MPG

Faults:

Nothing physically, although since new I have only achieved an average fuel consumption of 35 MPG (compared to the quoted 65 MPG combined/57 MPG urban in the brochure).

The car has been back to the dealer twice for various "tests" (basically plugged into a laptop to see if any fault codes come up) along with an economy test where they achieved 42 MPG (mainly dual carriageway driving), which they have advised is PERFECTLY ACCEPTABLE for this vehicle. I have also reported the "problem" to Toyota Customer Relations UK, who advised me that as the dealer could not find any faults, then there is nothing that can be done!

General Comments:

Positives:

Despite the poor MPG (my wife has a 2003 Renault Scenic dCi which does 42 MPG average on the same journeys) the car is fun, handles great, is well spec'ed, & stands out from the crowd.

Very comfortable and quiet at speed.

Zero road tax.

Enough room for my family (my 2 children love it in the back).

Negatives:

MPG achieved nowhere near what is quoted in the brochure.

The cabin lighting is appalling.

Boot space is virtually zero with the back seats up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

2009 Toyota iQ 1.0 from Spain

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Great small car

Faults:

Nothing apart from a CD stuck in the car stereo.

General Comments:

Handing is great, comfort is great... just changed oil at 10.000 kms for 80€, nothing has gone wrong, and the more kms, it seems to work better. Ditto, the iQ rules. Hi-End small car. Rides on the motorway without problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2010

29th Dec 2010, 07:54

I just took delivery of my new iQ2 diesel a couple of weeks ago. No problems so far, averaging 4.7 litres / 100km - looking forward to the next year without problems!

Paul.

22nd Mar 2012, 14:07

42.500 Km on the clock now...

Works like a Swiss clock. No problems at all. Just in the garage for oil changes...

2009 Toyota iQ 3 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Great, but a few problems

Faults:

The front wheel bearing went after 8000 miles, and the gearbox was replaced after it seized on the motorway. The car was being driven in excess of 90 mph and this overheated the oil. The dealer said that the use was abnormal and would only cover the labour, leaving me with a £2000 bill for a new gearbox. A recon was not available.

The steering gear was replaced after a recall.

General Comments:

This excellent and cheap to run car is very cool; it's easy to park and looks quite funky.

It seems to grow around you while you're driving it, and this comes as a shock when you get out and remember how small it is!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2009

6th Oct 2009, 16:09

Toyota conducted over 4 million miles of road testing with the IQ. I'm very surprised you have had such problems.

17th Oct 2009, 13:18

I should know, I carried out a handful of those test miles, during which I drove over 85mph and never had a wheel bearing failure, therefore I suspect there is more going on than meets the eye. I am not accusing anyone of anything. Thanks.

21st Oct 2009, 20:44

I'm surprised you have had so much bother, I don't want any trouble.

22nd Dec 2009, 17:29

My IQ has done over 30,000 miles now with no problems at all. It's been serviced once and is giving over 50mpg. I'm not trying to upset anyone.

16th Jul 2010, 03:13

I test drove one of these, and it has a glaring spec omission - no Isofix child seat prep on the front seat.

We may have bought one as the runabout if my wife could have fitted our rear facing child seat in the front.

Neat little car, but far too compromised and expensive to consider if you don't live in a major city, or have a tiny parking space - a normal hatchback makes more sense.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews