Toyota Levin Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1993 Toyota Levin GT Apex 1.6L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance131000 kilometres

Summary:

Absolutely amazing to drive and really cool first car.

Faults:

Air conditioning needed re-gassing at 125000Km.

Both front seat-belts stopped retracting, cheap fix.

General Comments:

The car is very quick.

Very Very good on the fuel 8.5L per 100 in town and 6L per 100 on the highway.

Awesome on the corners due to low height.

Cabin can be a little small for some taller people especially the rear seats.

Doors still closes with a nice clonk even though the car is 13 years old.

I love Toyota and think that I am now hooked for life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2006

6th Feb 2006, 06:25

Hi there, I own a 94' model 20v. I do agree with your comments. However, I wish that the car was rear wheel drive!!. I live in the UK and was wondering if there were any places that stocked parts for this model?

18th Jun 2006, 16:13

Unfortunately, since this particular car was never meant to be exported overseas; it has a very limited source of tuning and aftermarket parts.

These two offer pretty much all of one's requirements to get one up to a fairly respectable HP.

Of course one will have to pay a premium on shipping, although parts are quite cheap with regards to the EDM pricing.

http://www.greenline.jp/

26th Feb 2007, 18:35

Greatest car in the world!!!

1996 Toyota Levin BZG 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75314 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Both front wheels bearing need to be fixed after 100,000 km. Cost about $420 each.

The sunroof is very difficult to open or close.

General Comments:

Very good and reliable car. Except the normal wear and tear, nothing goes wrong.

Can speed up (from 0 km/h) faster than my BMW 318ti (1996). However, it is not as comfortable and not as stable as the BMW when driving.

Never have problem with the factory stereo. Easy to operate. Just a very practical (2 seaters) car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

1993 Toyota Levin GT APEX I.6 20V from Kenya

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission I.6 20V Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres

Summary:

Deceptively quick

Faults:

Erratic operation on the drivers side electric window.

Drive shaft had to be replaced at 121,000 km.

Replaced brake pads at 122,000 km.

Left headlight unit clouded over.

Assorted squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

This car has good performance and great fuel economy (up to 15KM/L).

The ride is rather harsh, but that's probably because of after market shocks and springs I fitted.

The handling is decent, but the car has an unusual tendency to spin when braked hard from high speed.

For a car with a 7400 RPM rev limit, it's curiously hesitant to rev. I've changed the air filter, but the problem remains.

If you are willing to thrash the engine this car is seriously quick with frenetic torque steer and snorting exhaust. I have surprised more than one bee-mer driver at a roundabout. However if you drive with a light right foot its perfectly docile and fuel efficient.

Lacks grunt at low revs though.

I love the factory spec tubular headers and the great exhaust note.

This car requires very little in the way of maintenance and is easy to drive but the sparkling 20 valve engine is a wolf in sheep's clothing.

I love the look (It's midnight black), the sound and the ease of ownership. I hate the flimsy interior build and cheap plastics.

Totally addictive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

21st Sep 2005, 06:11

I do have a question. is it hard for you to find parts with the Levin. I own one and I cannot find any parts for it.

14th Jun 2008, 08:08

Problems;

Erratic operation of the electric window on the drivers side, more especially when its really cold.

Poor idle at times as well as car light reflecting problem with engine emission system.

Performance is low at lower rave counts, performs well between 3000 ad 7000 raves.

High consumption of fuel when tempted by great exhaust noise to be heavy on the accelerator!

Squeaks and Rattles.

Difficult to find parts as it is a rare model in many countries. Must be compared with similar engines in order to obtain parts.

Does not smoothly enter into third gear a higher speeds, gear operation also not too smooth when really cold. However, this changes when engine is warmed up.

Generally;

I love the car, fast, great exhaust noise, comfortable.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews