1994 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Toyota MR2 G-Limited 2.0 Twin cam 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance111200 kilometres

Summary:

Supercar looks without the price tag

Faults:

The clutch was slipping badly when I bought it (100,000km) since Japanese spec. part is less robust than UK equivalent.

Reversing lights switch on the 'box was broken during clutch replacement - flimsy connectors.

Passenger wiper mechanism is very badly worn.

Thermostat got jacked open at 108,000 km.

General Comments:

This car is great fun and deceptively fast.

Performance at low revs is labored, but really takes off when the variable induction system kicks in between 5000 and 6000 rpm.

Handling is good, but an increase in front grip would reduce the annoying understeer.

Currently poor number of tuning products available directly in the UK, but is getting better by the day.

Exhaust note is throaty without being intrusive.

The T-bar roof makes it a real head turner on a sunny day.

Seating position is very comfortable, even for someone 6'4" like myself, with a gorgeous short throw gear change.

Pop up headlights are cool!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

26th Jun 2003, 16:29

Very interesting, I just got a 94 G-Ltd, 104000 km, clutch slips - needed a new reverse light switch. But take it up to 5000 rpm and it takes off! I used to have a 153bhp rev 2, and the rev 3 is a lot faster as well as handling better. You don't score economy too high, I get 28 mpg when I hammer it in town and 32 mpg on a run. Any advise on clutches?

2nd May 2010, 17:26

You've just made my day mate, I've wanted to buy an MR2 turbo for ages, but always thought I'd never fit in one as I am also 6ft 4" LOL, but if you say it's fine then I'll be investing in one very soon.. Many thanks buddy.

1994 Toyota MR2 T-Bar 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

The mutts nuts

Faults:

Passenger side leaks through the T-top seals.

Electric windows sound a bit rough but have never given a problem though.

General Comments:

An absolute cracking car. Drop dead gorgeous, fairly economical, and decent servicing costs.

Rear tyres wear quickly (and no garages keep them in stock!), but it's never failed to start first time.

Performance good above 4000rpm, below that just be patient. This car cost me my driving licence hehehe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

5th Jul 2001, 05:23

I think your MR2 has an engine problem. My MR2 3S-GTE, when it reaches 2500rpm or above, the power jumps up. Even 2500 below the car is still stable, ready for you to hit high boost.

Go check your engine, your engine has a problem.

andersen@myself.com

16th Dec 2003, 08:57

I would agree. My '95 GTS (standard) spins up for 2500RPM too. In fact, by 4000 rpm, I am already sending a message from my brain to reach for the next gear ;)

17th Apr 2004, 06:46

I have a 2.0 g-limited and mines the same. Nothing much happens before you reach 3500/4000rpm, but after that it doesn't hang around!.

Nick.

10th Jun 2006, 05:38

Well that's the difference between turbo and N/A.

17th Jun 2008, 16:05

You guys are getting confused. this is not a turbo. The turbo's have the low-down power, these 2.0NA engines need to be revved (to 7000rpm)

I have a 1994 GT UK model with the Na engine, and it starts to fly above 4000.

1994 Toyota MR2 Turbo T-Bar 2.0 Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota 93 MR2 Turbo

Summary:

To drive one is an experience beyond the scope of words. Too much power for the average human

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I just purchased this immaculate 1994 Turbo with ALL options. The car is absolutely flawless! It also runs perfect, and you can even eat off the engine (I still can't believe how clean it is). The only dirt on the car was from the eye-prints I left all over it.

OPTIONS: Locking t-tops (with shades and bags), tan leather, dual airbags, ABS, limited slip differential, CD, cassette, equalizer, 2 subwoofers, 8-speaker stereo system, foglamps, cruise control, tilt, A/C, lumbar seats, power everything, factory theft-deterrent system, bone-stock 2.0 twin entry turbo engine (200+ horsepower - NICE!) mated to a 5-speed transmission, 15 inch 5-spoke OEM rims, perfect cherry red paint with a single-piece factory spoiler.

PERFORMANCE: It starts up with a nice little growl, and doesn't seem like much of a threat at first, but once you put it in gear and give it some gas, you will have the ride of your life. It has crisp throttle response, agile cornering, and excellent brakes. The car will nimbly zip through 90 degree banks at 40+ mph with no sliding whatsoever (kids, don't try this at home) (be sure you're on dry pavement with good tires, and no police near by). The passing power is sheer animal.... downshift and give it some gas,... the turbo will start to hiss, and you will be pushed into the back of your seat as the needle swings into the triple digits. People often wonder what the little red blur was... the world may never know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

5th Jan 2001, 10:20

Sounds like my '93!! I'm 40 years old, and have owned a few 80's MR2's, but this is my first turbo. I know I'll need a new identity soon, because this little girl is not the type to bring home to Mama, and I'll probably be needing a new license! Gut wrenching speed for the money!

29th Sep 2001, 13:52

I'm picking my 91 up tonight. Very excited. The previous owner was engaged in a race with a Carrera and said he just hit the cruise control and 140 MPH. Liked it better than the rickety Ferrari he drove.

13th Jan 2004, 12:10

Sounds like this review was written the day you got the car. Would be curious to know what you have to say about it now, 3 1/2 years later, assuming you still have it-?

20th May 2004, 17:09

This car is a performance vehicle and therefore means performance prices to a certain degree. Even after 3 years I think the smirk will still appear even if a new turbo was required as this is something we, well I would expect if buying this type of car. I'm not saying the turbo would go, but from my general conversations with lots of people they seem to think that it is a good idea to stay away from turbos. I have driven turbo cars and I would say that they are much better than normally aspirated.

I have run a 220 gsi turbo and coupe turbo both close to a 100,000 miles and never once had a problem with them. I'm sure that Toyota's build quality would be of a higher standard.

30th Mar 2005, 09:49

I am an owner of a 93 plate MR2 g limited T Bar and I love it to pieces, but the only thing that bugs me about the car is the T Bar roof leaks and soaks the seats, only when it rains for hours though.

The seals seam to be in perfect shape and have no cracks or anything.

1994 Toyota MR2 Turbo 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car will whip the butt of an M3 0-60mph. The MR2 does it in a staggering 5.2 seconds 0-60mph.

Top speed of 155mph+.

So, BMW drivers, if you see a MR2 turbo behind you... be afraid, be very afraid!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 1999

1994 Toyota MR2 G-limited 2.0 Twin Cam 16V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.0 Twin Cam 16V petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Electric windows are a bit slow, and motor can sound strained at times.

Doors are hard to close properly and can take a good pull to close them.

Interior can have annoying rattles!

General Comments:

A one in a million car to drive.

Buy one and never look back.

Super fun to drive.

Drop dead looks.

Not many sub 15,000 pound cars are going to be a patch on it for performance!

Can be a bit hard on petrol, and oil!

Other than that it is a dream car that you would happily lick clean every night before going to bed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 1998

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews