1995 Toyota Paseo Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Toyota Paseo 1.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34947 miles
Most recent distance39200 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Much more than just walking around...

Faults:

Basically none.

Roof seems a little low even for someone short.

It has original Toyota factory radio/tape which works fine, but makes a light ticking noise only when playing a tape. This is from a slight crack inside. Usually can't hear it once you turn up the sound anyway. The radio base system is pretty good for a girls car.

General Comments:

I love this car!!! I am the second owner. I have only had it for a short time and I already know that this is definitely a keeper.

Steering is tight and handles road and corners well.

The absolute best gas mileage I've ever seen in a car ever. I went on a trip with this Paseo and went almost 400 miles before getting gas. It gets about 320 miles when commuting locally. I usually pay about $12 for gas.

This car is a real trooper. The engine has surprising pep for its small size and it is so quiet that you sometimes wonder if its running... its really smooth for a sport coupe.

For a 7 year old car the interior is almost perfectly maintained. The seats are free of tears except for a minor tear on the driver seat. But that is from getting in and out of the car you sometimes rub against the seat because the car is small.

The body of the car is put together well. Its well painted and free of rust. Back rear spoiler adds a more sporty look to the car.

Sun roof keeps the car warmer on winter days and brings in the perfect amount of air on summer days. A/C-heater works great.

It's a very fun car to drive. If you like smaller vehicles try to get your hands on this one if you can. They are no longer made, but definitely worth the dime. Toyota probably stopped making them because the cost is just too good for the consumer.

Its the cutest little coupe that really is very reliable and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an adorable and affordable sport coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

26th Apr 2003, 06:43

I have owned a 1992 Toyota Paseo for 8 years and have only had to replace the tyres. Because it's getting a bit old, I am thinking of getting a newer car and looked at reviews for Renault Clio 1.4, intending to buy one. After looking at the awful reviews and then comparing the Paseo reviews, I have decided to keep my car!! It is lovely to drive, economical and smooth handling. The only negative is that it is only suitable for small people in the back.

22nd Jul 2004, 16:17

I have a '94 Toyota Paseo as my first car. I love the Paseo. It gets incredible gas mileage -i got it in October and did not have to refill it until February- it also is a very small and perfectly sized car for a beginner. The only hard part of driving my Paseo is the fact that its manual, not automatic. However, after learning all the delicacies of stick shift, I know I won't trade my Paseo until I absolutely have to.

5th Sep 2008, 08:05

I have but one complaint about the car. I own a 95 and the paint is terrible because there is no clear coat. The paint is faded really bad and has a white chalky residue all over. It really makes the car look awful. The car is great other than that; would recommend this car to anyone. Lots of fun to drive.

By the way I'm 6ft4 tall; I just put the seat back and ride.

1995 Toyota Paseo 1.5 cc./90c.i. in-line 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 cc./90c.i. in-line 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

A beginners sports car

Faults:

The only problem I have had with this car is the sun roof case/protector. The zipper broke since it was a VERY tight fit getting it in. I only have one side zipped and that seems to be doing the job well since it stays pretty quiet back there.

General Comments:

This is a good first car for a teenager. It's not too powerful, handles well with about $1000 into suspension, and is extremely fun to drive. I would recommend it to novice drivers who like sports cars, but can't afford/handle the hard-core sports cars such as MR2 Spyders and Miatas. Right now my dad and I are looking into exhaust systems and intakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

13th Nov 2003, 09:03

Just a quick Paseo note:

Sorry to burst you peoples’ bubble, but a Paseo is in no way, shape or form any sort of sports car… not in the least. Paseos are among the slowest cars on the road and the handling is garbage. Paseos are fine cars, however they are simply Toyota Tercels with a couple different body panels; not sports cars. My suggestion to those of you who are trying to modify or tune your paseos is to cease at once. Relegate yourselves to the fact that you drive an 18-second econo-bucket and save your money for a car with potential. P.S., contrary to suggestion, a Mazda Miata is not a “hardcore sports car”… keep looking.

30th Jun 2005, 16:19

I agree with the comment above saying the Paseo is not a sports car. The fact the car is only a 1.5 and produces 89BHP clearly states that. I disagree about the car being 'one of the slowest on the roads'. The paseo is very nippy and can out accelerate many other vehicles.

As for modifying the car, there is nothing wrong with modifying a Paseo. They look really good when tastefully modified. As for performance modifications, the only cost effective modification is to do a Starlet turbo engine conversion, its a straight forward swap with minimal modification required. Having the turbo conversion will leave many other cars on the road standing, also the turbo engines have huge potential for alot of BHP.

Thank you for reading

Humayun

25th Feb 2009, 15:13

Just wanted to say also that the Miata is a hard core sports car (or has the potential anyway). Check youtube for a turbo Miata that passes, Porsche, Evo and many other crazy, much higher priced cars like they are out for a Sunday drive. I have one myself without the turbo and I can say it is a go cart with a licence plate. Warm it up properly and shift it at redline all day long. They really do move quite well. All those people who say they are "chick" cars obviously never drove one.

As for the Paseo not sure, don't own one but it is a Toyota so you really can't go wrong.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews