1985 Toyota Pickup Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1985 Toyota Pickup Turbo 2.4 Liter Inline 4 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Inline 4 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired254 miles
Most recent distance232305 miles
Previous carFerrari 308

Summary:

Awesome truck, it keeps going and going..

Faults:

This car had not a single problem until last year (2003).

4/12/03: Starter solenoid died around 200K.

5/12/03: Fuel pump died around 215K.

6/25/03: First trace of oil loss, worn valve guides.

8/11/03: Engine seized up on a 2000 mile drive, (I forgot to check the oil and it burned it all up and then overheated.)

9/12/03: (See a pattern with the 12th day of the month?) The fuel pump died and was replaced under warranty. Defective.

4/18/04: Wrecked! Bummer. It held up VERY well, but was totaled because the challenging vehicle was a Suburban.

General Comments:

First off, yes my previous car was a Ferrari 308 GTB. So why in the world would I buy a Toyota pickup? Reliability. My 308 only had 31200 miles before it began to have a lot of problems. So, I sold it and bought an SR5 pickup because my friend's pickup had almost 150000 miles on it, and it was a 79.

This truck was a little hard to adjust to because it had only 150 horses compared to the 280 from my car, and on top of that, it didn't steer the same, but it was very satisfying for normal driving needs. It wasn't really comfortable, but it wasn't totally rough either. The fuel economy was awesome for a truck, 20 mpg average. This truck was totally reliable up til the early 200K mile mark. It never left me stranded suddenly. It always slowly began to die, then it died. In all, this truck is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned and it is a sure way to please anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

1985 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 22R Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This is a great machine

Faults:

Needed to replace the clutch around 200,000 miles. Replaced the timing chain at 209,000 miles.

General Comments:

If I have my say, I will keep this little truck forever. The fuel economy and maintenance cost's make this a very affordable truck. There are very few electronic things to break and this makes it very easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

1985 Toyota Pickup 2.4L 22R Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L 22R Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

This pickup assures me that I have made at least one smart decision in my lifetime

Faults:

The clutch went out at about 75,000 miles.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

This pickup will probably run forever. I have had no problems with it in the past 18 years, besides the clutch.

The only thing that I don't like about it is that the seats are too small and there is no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

22nd Dec 2008, 14:14

Power steering?

Who needs it!

I've read a lot of the reviews about the Toyota Pickup of this vintage, and it sounds like you made a very good decision when you bought it. Count your blessings!

1985 Toyota Pickup RN 2.4 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance155478 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Bulletproof engine, bulletproof truck

Faults:

The only things that has gone wrong with this truck is that the steering joints began to wear.

The engine overheated due to my stupidity. (I used it with a snow plow which blocked the airflow to the engine)

General Comments:

This is a truck, not a pleasure cruise car and it is very good at what it does. The 18 years of ownership it has been great! I call this, the bulletproof truck. I have hauled over 1500 lbs of concrete in the bed without engine strain and have taken it to 102 mph without problem. This is a great truck and I would definitely buy another car from Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

8th Sep 2003, 16:44

Hi I owned a 1985 SR5 4x4. Probably the toughest best working vehicle I've owned. I bought it in 1986 with 12000 kilos or about 7200miles. Sold it in 1995 with 357,000kilos. Bought a Ford drove it for 2 yrs, now I'm back to Toyota, this time a 1992 4-Runner, it runs and works like a Toyota! GGGGGreaattt!!

1985 Toyota Pickup 2.4L 2bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L 2bbl Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance188500 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

I'm hooked on Toyota - you can't stop them

Faults:

Replaced the timing chain and clutch after "stealing" the truck for $250 from a non-mechanically inclined guy. I've felt guilty ever since. NOT!

General Comments:

My friends and co-workers don't understand why I won't buy a new truck. Are they kidding?! I just threw out the vinyl bench seat and installed cloth buckets. The engine purrs, and it does everything I want it to do. The AC still works too. I even loaned it to the local high school while I was out of the country for six months (read: a free paint job). My only complaint is road noise, but I'm working on that with new jute and carpeting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

11th Aug 2003, 08:34

Which buckets did you install? Do the holes line up? I need to replace my flattened bucket seat.

7th Jun 2005, 21:39

Toyota's ROCK! I just bought an 85 Pickup from a guy who was in the navy for 20 years. It sat for 6 years, and when he cranked it over after checking the oil, it started right up! INCREDIBLE!!! This guy had put 186,000 miles on it and it didn't owe him a dime. I picked it up for $350, put about $45 into it (plugs, wires, cap & rotor) and decided to drive it "for the winter". Well, here it is... JUNE, and I AM STILL DRIVING IT!!! You can't beat the 4X4! I beat this truck relentlessly. I'm talking about driving through floods, over banks, high speed crashes into small trees and shrubs, down streams and shallow river beds, and extreme off-roading! At first, my attitude was "I don't care if I crash it" but after trying so hard to kill it, I am so impressed that I am thinking of restoring it.

Sorry, got carried away. My reason for adding a comment was that I also had to replace the bench seat in my truck. The springs were coming out and there was stuffing all over the place. I just headed down to the local junk yard (recycled parts center:) and picked up a seat for $5.00! It costs me more to register this truck per year than it does to maintain it! I Love my Toyota!

1985 Toyota Pickup Extened Cab 22-R with 5 speed from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 22-R with 5 speed Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

The most reliable and long lasting truck ever made

Faults:

The typical wear and tear items like the clutch, belts and hoses, timing chain, brakes, tires, etc.

The back bumper has rusted, but no other rust.

General Comments:

Quite possibly the most reliable car or truck ever made.

It felt like I could have drove it 200,000 more miles when I sold it.

Only thing I hate is the lack of power steering.

I have regretted selling this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

26th Oct 2004, 10:36

The only thing I don't like about 85 toyota pickups is all the rust in the beds other than that it's a great truck.

1985 Toyota Pickup 22R from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 22R Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance400000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

One of the best engines ever made!

Faults:

The clutch. That's it!

General Comments:

Toyota's always have and always will run forever! This truck ran on the road until wrecked in 1998. It was towed back to my house completely unreconisable. I got in, turned the key and it started right up!! I could of sworn it was bound for the junk yard. The engine wasn't damaged at all. It still runs as an unregistered woods truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

9th Mar 2006, 18:44

My toyota has over 237,000 miles on it. It has virtually no problems except oil, it uses a quart about every 200 miles..

30th Mar 2006, 13:44

I totalled my old toyota, flipped and rolled! when I got it home it had a busted radiator, broken cap, and split oil line to gauge. Turned the key and it still fired up fairly quick and ran on three cylinders, spurting oil, and water. got a new frame and body, and yes the engine still gets me to work every week, and is my play truck on the weekends!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews