1998 Toyota Sienna Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1998 Toyota Sienna XLE 3.0L V6 from Belgium

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance179000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

A Japanese in an American suit

Faults:

Some undesirable noises in the dashboard.

Noisy breaks.

Really bad tires for European speed-craziness. I had to replace them after a few hundred km.

No major problems, however, until the air-conditioning broke down at 150000 km, and the alternator had to be replaced at 155000 km.

General Comments:

Pleasant exclusivity for Europe (non imported vehicle).

Still moves in comfort and relative silence after such a high mileage.

This car never really let me down, even with spare parts having to be ordered abroad.

You must know that this car is driven harshly (Belgian way) : 160 km/h + and abusive quick-down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1998 Toyota Sienna XLE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A lemon!

Faults:

Engine needed rebuilt in 30,000 because of the oil sludge which I change the oil every 3,000 miles or 3 months I sold it in 2000 and I bought the 97 previa LE supercharged with 40,000 miles on it now it has 90,000 with no problems just oil change Go with the Previa not the sienna.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

8th Nov 2004, 12:47

Unfortunatley the Previa is no longer available except on the used market. They stopped making them when the Sienna came out, but don't ever be fooled that the Sienna is a replacement for the Previa or in any way equal to it. The Previas are one of the "good ol days" Toyotas before they began cheapening their product to make them more affordable for american buyers.

1998 Toyota Sienna LE 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Sucks!

Faults:

Just below 50,000 miles, oil consumption rose and blue smoke on startup. Dealer says that the engine has sludge, and that Toyota will not repair it under warranty since this "obviously" indicates a lack of oil changes. The van has had regular oil changes at 4 mo./4000 mile intervals.

The van also has several squeaks and rattles, especially in the dash and right side sliding door. Rear brakes developed an intermittent squeal.

General Comments:

The van is quiet and fairly comfortable, but we liked the Dodge better when test driving. Concerns about its transmission and belief in "Toyota quality" led us to the Sienna. Big mistake!

Based on the obvious lack of quality and even worse backing of their product, I'll never buy anything else that Toyota makes. Worst car I've ever had, by a long stretch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

9th Feb 2002, 09:47

I agree, I would have never bought anything from a foreign country. Toyota's are underpowered, unreliable, uncomfortable,not durable wannabe American cars that can't pull a hot wheels car. They are total and complete TRASH! You should have gone with a Dodge and you would'nt be in this situation. I know a lot of people with foreign vehicles and they talk as if they're God's gift to the Earth. I would rather have a reliable comfortable durable overpowered American vehicle. Next time BUY AMERICAN!!!

1998 Toyota Sienna LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Practical and reliable family transport

Faults:

Rear rear belts seem to jam and the cargo net hooks broke off.

General Comments:

It has been extremely reliable and practical apart from a couple of the minor things noted.

The lease is up in 7 weeks and we'll miss it, if we don't buy or get a new one. Two of my neighbors bought one, I think they are happy too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

1998 Toyota Sienna XLE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance37450 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Surprisingly unreliable

Faults:

On 7/17/00 on my way to work, the engine started to run very rough and the power reduced like the car was going to die on the road. Then the engine warning light came on. I took the car to nearest Toyota dealer - Arlington Toyota - in Jacksonville, Florida (less than 2 miles). No car loan was offered this day.

Arlington Toyota found the problem, replaced all six fuel injectors (fp2320920010) still under warranty. I received the car back (11:00am July 18). The car ran fine for 2 days. However I noticed white smoke for 5 seconds when first started in the morning, or when making a fast right turn.

I took the car back to Arlington Toyota at 7:00pm July 20. Complained to the General Manager. He drove the van and acknowledged the lack of engine power. Later, they found a new problem with the cam sensor. The parts had to be ordered, and a loan car was provided (Toyota Camry SE) on July 21. The car was held for repair until July 25. A new cam sensor was installed; however they could not find the reason for the smoke.

The dealer kept the car for further investigations. On July 27 Arlington Toyota found the problem. They opened the engine valve cover and discovered oil sludge. The dealer called and stated that the problem is not covered under warranty. They said this was due to lack of oil changes and then took back the loan car. They suggested I rented the car on my own from another place and waited for a Southeastern Toyota representative to evaluate my warranty on Aug. 03, 2000.

I provided the dealer proofs of receipts of all the 5 oil/filter changes that the car had over a period of 2 years and 2 months (approx. 1 oil change every 6 months following the manufacturer's recommendations), the first 2 with a Toyota dealer, and the subsequent ones done by my workers.

According to the manager, Toyota will not consider this problem to be under warranty.

General Comments:

The car is unreliable:

1. Electrical: 2 out of 3 cig. lighters don't work (short circuit when something is plugged in). The dealer repaired them but the problem came back and they are still not working.

2. Batteries: died after 22,000 miles. Dealer replaced new batteries.

3. Tire alignment problem: from the beginning. all 4 tires had to be replaced at 5,500 miles.

4. Tire balancing: vibrations in steering wheel while driving. Tire balance sensor light constantly came on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

23rd Jun 2002, 11:13

I encountered the same problem with my Sienna Engine. I bought an used Sienna with 66,000 mileage. I realized the white smoke coming when the engine is started. I wrongly thought the previous owner didn't get the oil changed at recommended mileage. After reading your comment, now I realized it is an inherent problem with Sienna Engine. The Toyota service center in my city opened the engine and cleaned the sludge, etc.. My van has been in the service center for more than one month now, because the valve covers are back ordered and they don't expect the valve covers to be available for 3 more weeks. This makes the stay of my Toyota Sienna Van in service center for about two months - I never expected or imagined the cars will be service center this long - that too for the inherent problem with the automobile. Hari Jefferson City.

1998 Toyota Sienna LE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Faults:

Died on the road once. Dealer can't fix alignment problems. Cheap interior materials.

General Comments:

A fast comfortable van. With more glitches than I expect from Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews