2001 Toyota Sienna XLE 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, but a little noisy on highway

Faults:

Rear hatch lift pistons; dealer changed under warranty.

Very noisy fan when heat or AC are on. Dealer says get use to it! That's the way it is.

Check engine light comes on about every 10K miles. Always caused by dirty Mass Air Flow Sensor. Dealer will charge you $75 to clean each time. You can do it yourself with the same CRC spray from Pep-boys in about 5 minutes (a can is about $5 and will last for many years quick spray). Check the Internet for easy procedure for cleaning the MAF Sensor. This is a common problem on most Toyota cars.

General Comments:

Very reliable vehicle, but not as quiet on highway as you would expect from Toyota.

The engine is very reliable except for nagging check engine light due to dirty MAF sensor. Not a problem if you're handy, but it could be a pain if you had to bring it into the shop every 10k for a $75 spray clean.

Still has same pep as new, even with 104,000 miles.

No oil sludge problems that others have had.

Change oil and antifreeze as required!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

2001 Toyota Sienna CE 3L V6 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Very very disappointing

Faults:

Front brake disc's warped.

Front brake calipers locked.

Tail lights filed with water.

Air conditioning quit, twice.

Replaced all four tires in second year.

General Comments:

Spent more money keeping this vehicle on the road in six years than I did in 15 years on a Dodge Caravan.

Not good value, overpriced.

Through my experience found it unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 23:50

Tail lights full of water is a warning sign of past damage. Perhaps this is because you bought it used? There is indication it was 1 year old when you bought it.

11th Aug 2007, 14:06

Tail lights full of water can also mean that it wasnt assembled well in the first place.

11th Aug 2007, 16:03

Yes, on a Chrysler because you can see white light coming out from around the edges of the lenses, but on a Toyota? NO! These cars are actually inspected out of the factory. I am sorry if the last commenter is used to owning a Ford or Chrysler.

12th Aug 2007, 17:00

Oh great another Toyota lover in the comment above, geeze. The reviewer had problems with his Toyota. That's not impossible now is it.

13th Aug 2007, 00:13

If these cars are inspected so well out of the factory and are such quality vehicles, then explain all the problems the reviewer has had with their Toyota!

2001 Toyota Sienna LE from North America

Summary:

2001 Sienna high priced dud

Faults:

Just never had the quality I was expecting from a Toyota. The van has 2 sliding doors that have rattled since it was new and the dealer doesn't seem to be able to fix it.

The inside unlocking button on the sliding doors stick, just a pain in the neck really.

The latch to open the rear broke in 2007, got 3 different prices for the latch when I inquired at the dealership.

Brakes have squeaked and squealed despite many trips to the Toyota service department. The van has always been serviced at the dealer until recently.

Seems subject to wind shear. Always correcting on windy days, makes for a long trip anywheres if the wind is blowing.

General Comments:

Paid top dollar for the LE version of this van and it hasn't measured up. I was more satisfied with my Dodge Caravan which I bought used and 3 years old.

Service at the dealership went from so so to just totally unacceptable in 2007.

I think Toyota make a good car, have a 2005 Corolla that is great, but service is terrible in my town. Probably won't buy another if service doesn't improve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2007

2001 Toyota Sienna XLE 3.0 VVTi from North America

Summary:

High price, low quality, too small for 7

Faults:

Steering control arm cracked.

Battery died at 14k.

Orig. tires died at 20k.

Stereo tweeter has blown 4 times under normal use.

Rear window defroster broke.

General Comments:

This the top-of-the-line XLE version, but the interior is not very plush or comfortable.

The seats feel like toilet seats and do not provide sufficient lateral nor lumbar support.

The a/c & heat are mediocre.

Stereo (premium upgrade) is horrible! Way too much bass, sound concentrated below belt-line, and we've blown 4 teeters without blasting it ever. Dealer has given us an argument about replacing tweeter every time.

If you put the sun visors to the side window position, every time you make a turn they swing and hit your head. Dealer says this is normal, nothing they can do.

Way too many squeaks and groans for a newer car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

18th Oct 2004, 18:02

I have a 2001 XLE and the only problem I have had is with the driver side automatic sliding door working properly.