2005 Toyota Solara Reviews

2005 Toyota Solara SE 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

Best value in a $20,000-range coupe, hands down.

Faults:

Water pump replaced (under warranty) at 34,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive if you get the 5-speed manual transmission, plus you get better performance from the more-than-adequate 4 cylinder engine.

The paint is disappointing--very thin and chips easily.

The seats are not comfortable compared to my Diamante, which had outstanding seats, and the cloth seat fabric doesn't look to be sturdy enough for the long haul, but only time will tell.

I think this is a very nice looking coupe, with a great suspension for absorbing road bumps and terrific brakes. The car responds quite well to the driver, even though it's not a sports coupe, which, of course, it's not intended to be. I bought it for the comfort and economy it gives my daily drive, and so far it's more than lived up to my expectations.

This is my first Toyota. I chose this car over the Accord coupe, and I'm very happy with my decision.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2008

2005 Toyota Solara Convertible 6 cyclinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cyclinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Great value for the money. Love it!

Faults:

Windows leaked.

Passenger door hinge locked up.

Rear window defroster did not defrost.

Stereo sound (on AM/FM radio and on CD) cuts in and out after use of convertible top.

Hesitated on increasing speed.

General Comments:

I absolutely love driving this car.

I love having a convertible and am very pleased with it overall.

I would like the passenger seat to have a "memory" to make it easier for my passengers to get and out, and get the car seat readjusted each time.

Very quick.

Many blind spots; however, in comparison to other manufacturers, it looks to be about the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

25th Sep 2007, 13:09

Your Windows leak sir because it's a convertible... every convertible, t-top, targa top etc. leaks... it's what they do, unless you don't use them ever.

2005 Toyota Solara V6 SLE convertable 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Most fun We've had in a car in years

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

The Car is lots of fun to drive, handles very well, and gets lots of looks and comments.

The interior and exterior fit and finish are typical Toyota, superb and probably unbeatable for the money.

Good performance from the engine transmission combination, quiet power with poise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

7th Jul 2005, 21:21

Why the frown if you love the car?

26th Sep 2005, 19:41

A lot of people buy cars based on these comments and smileys. I am thinking of buying the same car. But good thing I read your comment, rather than judge the car with the smileys.

27th Sep 2005, 13:17

If I'm not mistaken, the smiles and frowns come from the creator of this site, and the people who rate the reviews (members). They do not come from the authors of the reviews. The frown, I'm assuming, is because the author was very brief, and did not say much about the car.

22nd Dec 2006, 10:33

I love mine for two years now. 19.5 mpg over all since purchased, plenty of power. You can't drive down the road on a nice day without comments directed to you.

Get a red convertible with tan interior and enjoy.

Tough to see out the rear with the top up though.

23rd Sep 2007, 19:13

Has anyone gone to the dealer to remove the rear headrests, and did they give you a problem? I am looking to buy the 2006 because the sticker price for a 2007 $28,000 is too much for me.

20th May 2008, 14:36

Wow this car is a one of a kind. I'm thinking of buying it. When I did a test drive, wow definitely gonna buy.

2005 Toyota Solara from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

Nothing wrong with the car, but this dealership is getting to Americanized

Faults:

Buying from the second largest dealer in the US doesn't ensure you're going to be thrilled with their so-called "professionalism."

We have purchased at least five (5) Toyota since 1990; three from the same dealership.

When we selected our vehicle off the lot, it was explained that every vehicle has a checklist and nothing leaves the lot until the service department does its thing. (I don't disagree. Whether those check lists are adhered to is another story. In my case, a pretty sad story.)

When we went to pick up the car, two major items immediately jumped out at us. 1). The taillight was cracked and a portion was missing. 2). The top (the car is a convertible) had streaks running through it. The salesperson told us it was a by-product of spraying some kind of coating (to preserve the lust in the finish.) He told us it was a common occurrence and that it could be removed using a 'heat' treatment they could perform.

Two minor items that surfaced. 1). The air-conditioning wasn't working; and 2). We had no manuals in the glove compartment.

The dealership took notes of all our concerns and assured us things would be resolved.

To date - the taillight was replaced. The manuals were provided. The air-conditioning problem was not resolved the first time we brought it in.

It turned out the streaks on the convertible top could not be 'heat treated' out. The dealership assured us that it would be covered under warranty.

Toyota was called in and we were told that Toyota would pay for a replacement; then later both of the parties would split the cost.

Seems both the dealership and Toyota have done an about-face. Now we've learned that the streaks that are found on the convertible top occur 50% of the time. They couldn't explain why.

We were just offered a two-year maintenance free package as compensation. My wife hit them up for three. She felt that if THEY replaced the top, the integrity of the vehicle would be in question.

General Comments:

Toyota spends a lot of money telling you about customer satisfaction. This is the first time we weren't happy, but really had no recourse. Their Website doesn't addressed 'customer feedback'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews