1987 Toyota Starlet Reviews

1987 Toyota Starlet DX 1.3 litre 12 valve from Sweden

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 litre 12 valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

The Toyota Starlet DX 1987 is cheap and reliable

Faults:

This car has cost me more than I've bargained for. However, every cost, but one was must be considered to be delayed service. I'm just sorry that these costs came down on me and not the previous owner... The only cost that needn't to have occurred is that I had to replace the generator (the bearings had jammed). It cost me about 50 pounds.

General Comments:

This car is really cheap to own and drive. Insurance is extremely low, as is the road tax. Not more than 200 pounds per year (Sweden). Fuel consumption is just above 0,5 litres per 10 kilometres. In spite of this the car is quick, the engine has 75 hp and the car weighs just around 850 kilogrammes.

The car handles well on the road, the suspension is tight, but flexible, and the grip is excellent, although this is somewhat due to broader tyres than standard. The gear box runs smoothly, although there is some noise when I gear up from first to second.

Negative is the sound comfort, which is more adequately described as discomfort. Road and wind noise is tiring.

The car is surprisingly roomy inside, and I have no trouble of finding a comfortable driving position, although I am 188 centimetres tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

1987 Toyota Starlet XL 1.0 from Indonesia

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30500 kilometres
Most recent distance70800 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

An affordable small car

Faults:

The engine power dropped when I turned-on the AC as it only used a 1000cc engine.

The car was too small and relatively unstable for intercity travelling especially when it was used in a highway.

General Comments:

Starlet XL 1.0 was an affordable small city car.

The design was quite attractive and modern at that time.

For innercity usage, fuel consumption was very economical, 1 liter gasoline for 11-12 kms.

The car was very suitable for innercity travelling as the car was very easy to park.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

1987 Toyota Starlet DX 1.3 from Belgium

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Super reliable car!

Faults:

My Starlet never let me down in 14 years!!!

Only the suspension had his best times at the age of 13 years.

General Comments:

The Starlet was the best car I ever had, no big problems in 14 years, I have now a Ford Focus and I had more problems with it in 2 years than with the Starlet in 14 years! I think I gonna sell the Focus for a Toyota Corolla...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2003

1987 Toyota Starlet GL 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and economical, but mind how you go!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My Starlet was faultlessly reliable.

It was the ideal first car for me, being economical on fuel and cheap to insure, although parts can be quite pricey.

It felt solid, well built, and relatively safe for a small car. It was also very well equipped, and compared to a Ford Fiesta or similar it felt quite plush inside.

It handled reasonably well with good road-holding, although the body tended to pitch and roll about a bit.

The main problem with this car was that it was SLOW! In fact, I'd go as far as to say it was dangerously underpowered. If you attempted to merge onto a motorway whilst climbing a hill you wouldn't even hit 50mph by the time you hit the end of the slip road, let alone 70mph. You'd just better hope that the other traffic can get out of your way!

The Starlets other shortcoming was the brakes, which although servo-assisted were woefully inadequate. If you braked hard to do an emergency stop the wheels would lock up almost immediately, but if you don't brake hard enough you just won't stop!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

22nd Jun 2005, 20:40

I can't believe what you wrote? My starlet 1987 is one of the quickest cars I have ever owned! This is true, I promise, I can easily out accelerate most cars up to and including 2.0 litres. I cruises at 90mph, I often drive it in excess of 105mph! It is awesome. Why? I don't know. It's the ordinary 12 valve engine 1000cc. I love it. I do400miles a week to work, and it cost me £300 three years ago, It had 69k on it when I got it, now 97,000miles. I service it myself, and am putting a new cam belt on this week. I can change the oil and points and condenser in a half hour. It is expensive parts, But a flying machine. No more Fords for me. Regards Andy.

6th Mar 2006, 21:59

I don't know what the last comment was about, I had the same car and agree with the reviewer that the acceleration was painfully slow.

2nd Apr 2009, 10:24

My 1988 Starlet is also slow. But I wouldn't go so far to say it is dangerous. I can blend in with the other traffic. City traffic is no problem, motorway asks for a little looking ahead. 160 km/h can be reached if the wind condition is favorable.

2nd Apr 2009, 11:38

"Slow" is a VERY relative term. If a car merges into traffic and can maintain freeway speeds, it is NOT "dangerously slow". American car magazines regard ANYTHING that does 0-60 in over 5 seconds as "slow". No way. If it can do 65 merging and cruise at 80 it is MORE than adequate.

21st Aug 2010, 04:43

I've owned a Toyota Starlet from 1987 for 2 years now, had no major problems yet, only costs for damage I was responsible for.. it's very reliable, and it isn't slow at all, I drive 140km/h on highways no problem..

OK, it doesn't go from 0 to 100 in 10 seconds, but who needs that?

I like it a lot!

1987 Toyota Starlet GL 1.0 petrol, NA from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol, NA Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

Fine A to B transportation, but insurance is surprisingly high

Faults:

Master cylinder leaking.

General Comments:

Bought for £200. It's my first car; I didn't like the idea of a Starlet at first because of their rarity, but it's in good condition. There's a little rust around the tailgate and a pinprick leak into the driver footwell. I presume this to be originating somewhere from the master cylinder.

The interior is airy and fairly spacious. Boot is large enough for a week's shopping.

Not a fast car. Engine is a 999cc, 12v four with little power and poor torque, so inclines are a problem. Five speed gearbox was a surprise, as most cars of this size and age had four speeds.

I thought it would be cheap to insure. I am seventeen years old and a new driver, but a one litre economy car would surely cost only a little to cover? No! It's classified in group six. All other young, first time buyers beware; stick to a Fiesta.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews