1998 Toyota Starlet Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Toyota Starlet Reflect F 1.3 petrol from Sri Lanka

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21300 kilometres
Most recent distance21490 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

The best small car on the road

Faults:

Seems to have a rattling sounds when I go over bumpy roads at around 40km/h. Inside the engine, the part leading to the exhaust pipe is rusted.

General Comments:

Great car, I love it. It's small enough to weave in and out of traffic and fast enough to keep up with the bigger boys. Unfortunately the rear seats don't have that much leg room, however the front is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

1998 Toyota Starlet S 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An absolute dream!

Faults:

None whatsoever.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute dream. It drives superbly and is comfortable even on long journeys.

The fuel economy is excellent, 40 miles to the gallon around town with ease. I have had 48 miles per gallon on a long journey before.

It is also plenty fast enough with its 0-60 at 11.2 seconds, being able to keep up with traffic, not only at the lights, but also on the motorway.

There is plenty of room inside the front and the back seats are large enough to be comfortable on any journey.

All in all I would recommend this car to anyone.

The only bad thing about this car is that they have stopped making it. I would have another straight away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

26th Feb 2002, 00:13

Hi, I have a late 98 model starlet as well... I was wondering about the last thing you wrote about them stopping production? Is it true?

12th May 2002, 13:19

It is shame if they have stopped making them they look nicer than the yaris.

17th May 2002, 23:08

Hi from Australia. I am thinking of buying a Toyota Starlet 1997-2000 model and would appreciate comments from any Australians out there with Starlets. I am looking for a reliable economic car and need to hear more good things about the Starlet. I've spent the last 12 months and about $20,000 of repairs on a lemon of an Alfa Romeo 33 and would like to restore my faith in 4-cylinder cars. Please help!

25th May 2002, 06:35

In answer to your request for other Australians advise for the Starlet. I bought a Starlet 1998 Model today from a car dealer in Victoria. It is great, runs really well.

I too have had a very old car, in which I have spent a lot of money on mechanical repairs. I would definitely recommend the Toyota Starlet, especially if you can get your hands on one with low kms, as I have.

3rd Dec 2002, 16:59

Hi from Greece! Starlets over here are very popular and are used also by car rental companies. I own the latest model which has 45500km on and no problem has occurred at all! It's very reliable, fast enough and the fuel consumption is low.

The only thing I didn't like when I first bought it was the poor handling at fast turns. The problem disappeared after I have put 3cm lower springs from H&R, new shocks, and 15" aluminum wheels, tyres are 195/50/15 and wow!!! What a difference on the road, and better looks of course.

17th Sep 2005, 00:36

I have a 1999 Toyota Starlet and live in Australia. I have travelled 142 000 km since new and have had hardly any problems (only squeaky front brakes, loose fan belt and steering wheel is starting to wear on the top edge). Main complaint is from the kids, being a hatch and that it is squeezy in the back. Also, tall front passengers can bump their head getting in. But reliable, definitely. Good car.

13th Dec 2007, 02:44

The toyota starlet is quite OK, but I wouldn't recomend flipping one. I had quite a nasty accident after losing control on a straight road. It rolled like an empty coke can in the wind. Even though I was going 236 kms an hour, I survived. What a mighty little pizza pocket.

1998 Toyota Starlet S 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6917 miles
Most recent distance28250 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Nippy and reliable, a perfect small car

Faults:

Cigarette lighter stopped working. This was fixed under the warranty.

General Comments:

Drives superbly for a small car and is comfortable on long journeys.

The fuel economy is excellent, 42 miles to the gallon around town.

Quite quick for the size of the car.

Very well made, I have never once worried about breaking down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews