1989 Toyota Supra 3.0 turbo from North America


Best car out there for value and performance


The only thing that is at all worn on my car is the paint. It is faded badly and rust is starting to show through.

I cannot seem to keep tires on it for some reason. I think it is because I leave a layer or two of rubber at every stop light.

General Comments:

I am seriously addicted to Supras. I had a 1983 non-turbo and I loved it. I then bought a 1987 non-turbo and I liked that one even more. I then bought a 1991 Chevy Pick up. This only lasted a month before buying my latest car. I currently drive a 1989 Toyota Supra Turbo, and just for the record I am never selling this one.

This car has amazing acceleration and awesome top end power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1989 Toyota Supra 3.0i 6-cylinder from UK and Ireland


Don't pay too much and you'll have a great, fun car


The engine leaks oil from every gasket as well as burning oil along with the petrol. This is probably due to broken piston rings and the engine could do with reconditioning or replacing.

Rust is rampant over the rear wheel arches.

The boot (trunk) seals have perished and water leaks in whenever it rains, filling the spare wheel well and soaking anything in contact with the carpet.

Radiator cooling fan cowling has snapped and the cowling fouled the fan, causing overheating problems (to be fair, even though the fan was jammed, the engine was fine after being allowed to cool down and still runs well).

General Comments:

Fast, fun motoring, but too expensive to run on any sort of budget.

Don't even consider buying a Supra of this age unless you're prepared to pay for repairs and maintenance.

Still starts first time every time and I still enjoy driving it. I've even made excuses to go out just so I can have a drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

19th Jul 2002, 16:56

I love my supra ~ bought after 100,00 miles after most major repairs done - get the history of the vehicle and you should be OK. Had mine for two years. Best car I ever had.

Jenny Wren.

1989 Toyota Supra Turbo 3.0 injection turbo from UK and Ireland


Poor fuel consumption, but worth it for the looks


The radiator blew on the first day of ownership, but this was because the previous owner let it run out of coolant. However no further damage was suffered.

General Comments:

I found keeping up with the general maintenance of the car ensured its reliability, so other than parts required for scheduled services, no parts were necessary.

The drivers seat was rather worn, but no more than can be expected for a high mileage vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

1989 Toyota Supra Turbo 3.0 turbo from North America


Nothing else is a car compared to a Supra


Nothing so far! Yes the head gasket is a big problem for the Supras, especially the turbos. Keep changing the oil with synthetics and make sure your coolant level is good and your gasket will be good up until 150,000 miles like mine! HKS make a metal headgasket for 200 bucks for the Supra. Nice easy peace of mind from that.

General Comments:

You won't believe it. People think my 89 looks like a 95. Perfect paint, doesn't fade.

Transmission is solid and feels great. Power beyond your wildest dreams. 400bhp possible with a few upgrades.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 14:11

No, power is not possible to 400 horses... It's possible to 600! And that is dyno tested at the wheels baby!

29th Jun 2002, 15:15

True Dat!

21st Nov 2002, 17:44

My '89 Supra turbo is at 135,000 miles and it's still going strong. The head gasket was replaced at 60,000 miles, and went through the HKS stage 7 upgrade. It feels like a part of my body when I'm driving it, and so far, no other cars feel like it.

22nd Feb 2003, 20:54

Had my Supra Turbo 6 Months spun it last week. Hit a curb at fifty mangled alloy bent one strut, £25 from breakers back on the road do that with any other muscle car (Don't think so) Built to last built like a tank that will do 160MPH as stock. I love my SUPRA...