2007 Toyota Tundra 4.6 V8 from North America

Summary:

It's terrible, I'll never buy another Toyota

Faults:

My starter failed at 55,491 miles.

General Comments:

Toyota offered nothing but excuses when I asked for reimbursement for an obviously defective part. When has a starter ever failed at 55,000 miles?

Toyota quality is an ad slogan, nothing more. I will never buy another one. Can you believe they actually targeted marketing to me after my complaint to lease a new Camry?! Do I look that stupid?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2011

18th Dec 2011, 13:06

At least your starter lasted 55,000. My 09 RAV-4 lasted 38,000.

19th Dec 2011, 18:15

Sorry you fell for ad hype. Why anyone would waste money on a product from a totally discredited car company is beyond me. With 23 million recalls and counting, one might just get the idea that that manufacturer is a little lax on quality. You should have bought a real truck such as a Ford F-150, Chevy Silverado or Dodge Ram.

2007 Toyota Tundra from North America

Summary:

It's not worth the $$$$$$$$!!!

Faults:

I had to dump $700 into the brakes, the radio stopped working, and Toyota said I need to fix it!!!

The Toyota shop is not much help, it's always $109 per hour.

I WOULD NOT BUY A TOYOTA AGAIN IN MY LIFE!

General Comments:

When it's time to fix, it costs too much!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2011

8th Mar 2013, 20:02

Interesting... I have a 2007 Tundra 4x4 (3" leveling kit, bag, 36" wheels) with 169,700 miles. To date, I have only had to pay for replacement of the rotors, which did not occur until 152K miles (replaced the pads for the first time at 93k).

I did have the rear wheel bearings replaced at 98k and water pump at about 80k, both replaced under warranty. It has been the most dependable and enjoyable vehicle we have ever owned. We have no hesitation in loading it down and heading out on a 5,000 mile trip.

Once it hits 200K, it will be retired to our second home as a spare vehicle, and we will purchase a new Tundra.

2007 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double cab 4.7 from North America

Summary:

A Dinosaur

Faults:

I usually don't offer advice, but this Tundra, 4.7 liter, got 12.3 mpg or less, and handles terribly - it is a dog.

The stereo went out within 1 month.

Although the body is quite attractive, the visibility is terrible.

Great comfort, but this will not fit in a standard sized garage; ie: this truck is not practical and is way overpriced, horrific gas mileage.

I have owned three Tacomas, and they are more fun to drive, not as wide, can haul just as much with double the gas mileage. This Tundra is a dinosaur and will soon be extinct!

General Comments:

10-12 mpg for a Toyota is horrific. The truck is comfortable, but not practical in any way. I have always owned Toyotas (Tacomas) and they should stick to the mini truck market as they handle better, are more practical, more reliable, better mpg, can fit in a garage, haul just as much.

The only good thing is the 6 airbags, but I believe you are prone to more accidents as the visibility is terrible. Try parking this is any tight parking spot and you will agree this is not a smart design - too wide, too long, terrible mpg, but it does look good.

To any car manufacturer can make a reliable truck that gets great mpg and hauls a decent amount, then they will sell millions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2010

30th May 2010, 07:42

In all fairness, and I have a Silverado, the large trucks tow better. My boat could not be pulled by the mini ones.

31st May 2010, 16:13

"To any car manufacturer can make a reliable truck that gets great mpg and hauls a decent amount, then they will sell millions."

GMC is doing just this. My best friend just passed his 14-year-old GMC with 165,000 miles on to his son and bought a new one. Even with the V-8, he got 20mpg on the highway, sometimes towing his boat. The old GMC, even with 165,000 miles is still totally reliable and has never had a single mechanical problem.

We also own a GMC, and though ours has only 90,000 on it, it has had nothing but a set of tires and one battery. It has yet to even have the brake pads replaced (though I might add we DON'T tow anything with ours).