Triumph 2000 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1974 Triumph 2000 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance180530 kilometres
Previous carNissan 720 Pickup

Summary:

A reliable, cost-efficient, fun vehicle

Faults:

The head gasket blew approx. 2 years ago.

The clutch has been replaced 3 times since new.

Rubber fuel lines have perished, causing engine bay fire.

There is a recurring fault with a lack of power and excessive pinking when the car is at operating temperature.

General Comments:

This car has been in the family since 1982 and has 5 successive learner drivers.

It is a very good car to learn to drive in, with a short gear throw, and precise manual steering.

The exhaust note sounds brilliant through narrow town streets.

It has stood up well to "boy racer" driving, with only a worn clutch and a blown head gasket to show for it.

The exterior paint is original, with only one touch up required on the bonnet, due to the aforementioned fire.

There is a low level of noise inside the car at any speed, and this, along with the very roomy interior, makes for a very comfortable car on long trips.

It has doubled as a flat-land farm car on occasion, a duty which although the manufacturer may never have intended the car to carry out, it has handled admirably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

13th Feb 2004, 10:28

I think the fuel line problems and the pinking are probably related. Do you also get "dieseling" when you switch off after a long run?

The pinking will be due to the low octane rating of modern fuel. The different chemical content (including a relatively high level of benzine) has been blamed for perishing of rubber pipes in VWs, and I wouldn't run any old car on it (even with an additive) without regularly checking the state of the fuels lines, especially where they meet the fuel pump and around other seals. Try using an octane booster to get the ron up to about 98 (I guess it could take even higher, which should help fuel consumption). Probably best to fit an under-bonnet fire extinguisher as well, just in case!

13th Mar 2004, 00:48

Cheers Mate, pity I didn't read it sooner, due to New Zealand drivers, our trusty Triumph is now significantly shorter than factory. A large urban 4x4 "didn't see it stop", subsequently shunting it into the rear of the truck in front. Which adds another point... Triumphs are very, very strong in crashes - but mind the big steering wheel.

1970 Triumph 2000 MkII 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1975
Most recent year of ownership1982
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

A really practical and classy motor

Faults:

Synchromesh on 2nd a bit rough replaced by a secondhand box.

Driveshaft replaced due to worn splines.

Universal joint on propshaft.

Usual other odds and ends.

General Comments:

My Dad's car, but I learned to drive on it.

Carried out family round for 7 years without complaint. Loads of legroom and space in front and back.

Stylish design. Beautiful interior.

Fantastic straight 6 engine, flexible and powerful.

After we sold it on it ran for another 2 years. Rust was getting into the rear suspension mounts which were difficult to fix without a complete strip down.

I have often thought about buying one of the estate versions for myself instead of a modern econobox clone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

1967 Triumph 2000 Mk 1 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92200 miles
Most recent distance92400 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfetta GTV

Summary:

Solid, reliable and worth a look

Faults:

Car was acquired as a gift from my brother - the second owner - in the following condition:

Rust in left front and rear guards, repaired with fibreglass.

Leaks in boot (trunk) and front passenger floor, repaired by replacing obviously worn-out rear window seal and applying non-setting compound to windscreen rubber.

One trafficator globe, the choke indicator globe and one rear numberplate globe needed to be replaced.

Driver door had been replaced with a secondhand unit after a side collision. This door was laden with about 12 coats of paint of the wrong colo(u)r and had to be stripped to bare metal prior to priming. Note that the door frame was unaffected by the collision!

Door timber trims had been restored prior to collision, so the new door's trim strip had to be brought up to the standard of the others. This was OK since the dash panels still had to be done and so it wasn't much extra effort.

Slight engine oil leak from one of the rocker cover studs, fixed by fitting a fibre washer under the metal washer.

Front struts and steering mount rubbers were picked up as being in need of replacement by the roadworthy test station. These are being replaced today.

Replacement battery.

General maintenance was also required, such as:

Greasing the steering rack and water pump (watch this item, since it requires fitting a 1/8" grease nipple and pumping until grease exudes from the breather hole. It required 21 pumps (!!!) which shows that it had probably never been done). Also greased the inner driveshaft grease point, which is fitted only on later cars.

Top up of the auto transmission fluid, required one litre.

Repair of rear parcel shelf with new vinyl, and deletion of three mismatched rear seatbelts. In Australia they were not required until 1971, and since I only use this seat for parcels I'm better off without them. Yes, it does have front inertia-reels, and yes I do use them. I'm not stupid.

Cleaning/restoration of front and rear indicator light assemblies, including respraying chrome paint into rear units and making new rubber gaskets. The original owner had used hard body putty, which took quite a lot of work to remove.

Replacement of two peeling and badly rusted hubcaps. I also have a full set of secondhand carpets on order to replace the water-damaged carpets, which had rotted away and were missing.

Removal of the steering wheel to tighten up the indicator stalk and get the horn working. The brass pin which connects to the horn ring had dropped out at some earlier time and had been replaced with a flat-headed roofing nail. I also repaired by drill-pinning one of the bakelite mounts to the horn cap, which had been poorly glued.

Removal of the dash light dimmer rheostat, disassembly and cleaning to get it working again. The parking light switch also needs this (it works nine times out of ten) but I'll leave that until the dash is removed for covering.

Front door checkstraps still need replacing, but I haven't been able to find these items yet. I'm also looking for the rather weird 1.35 volt hearing-aid battery used by the dash clock, if anyone knows where to find them.

The car's paint is in poor condition, having been resprayed by the original owner without scuffing the surface first or clearcoating over the grey metallic paint. It's therefore crazed and peeling, and I'll probably take the whole car back to bare metal over the next few months, one panel at a time, and then repaint it.

Interior is in good used condition for a 35-yo car and apart from the parcel shelf, timber and carpets mentioned above I'll probably revinyl the dash and clean the head lining. There are two minor rips in the seats and some split stitching, which will also be attended to as time permits. The rear seat top will also be capped, since the vinyl hardens in the sun - common to all cars - and has both faded and cracked. The car has a rear-window venetian blind so this is unlikely to occur again anytime soon.

General Comments:

This is a highly under-rated car, and well worth the time and effort to restore. I plan to use it as a daily driver, and with less than 100,000 miles on the odometer the engine will last for quite a while before needing to be overhauled.

They're a strong car, and ran well at Bathurst in the sixties and I'm utterly surprised that their resale value is so feeble. This car had been for sale unsuccessfully for about two years.

My brother had the top-end done a few years ago for a valve job, but the engine has obviously never been taken out.

It's a delight to drive, sedate and yet when you "give it a bit of welly" has enough zip for modern road use. I'd have preferred a manual transmission, but the auto is relaxing to drive and the brakes stop all that weight ferociously.

Compared to the similarly-sized Alfa Romeo 2600 of the same era, this is a much better car for the restorer. Parts are readily available (unlike the 2600, for which even the tires or pistons will require a mortgage on the house) and with a bit of elbow-grease and a few bucks you can be driving something that doesn't look like it just came out of a wind-tunnel clone factory.

With the rarity of these cars, it's literally a head-turner. In the three weeks I've had her, I've already been asked by several service-station (gas-station) attendants what kind of car it is.

Oh, and I've dubbed her Michelle. After her Italian body designer Giovanni Michelotti (1921-1980), but of course.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2002

8th Jan 2003, 20:31

...

The original owner had used hard body putty, which took quite a lot of work to remove.

...

Hi.

Many cars in Australia were produced with hard body putty as sealant for the tail & indicator lights. Holden's especially.

12th Jun 2005, 06:30

Yes I agree - all modern cars do look the same, boring to drive, I like my Triumph its so easy to work on, parts are cheap - I have a Triumph restorer 6 miles away from where I live so parts are easy to obtain.

I don't know what sort of petrol you use in Australia, but here in the UK we have to use unleaded - I get problems with running on when you switch off the ignition. I find I have to stall the engine at the same time as switching it off to save damage.

1970 Triumph 2000 saloon 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A good car, but it shouldn't be your first one

Faults:

Key ignition worn out, always cut out.

Rust.

Air lock in foot brake.

Drivers seat worn badly (big hole in middle)

General Comments:

A good powerful car that is very reliable. Older models do rust over time in mud guards and a bit under the bonnet. I still like the car apart from the complex wiring system although most British cars do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

29th Jun 2002, 03:54

Does your car have overdrive?

4th Sep 2002, 00:01

What is the fuel consumption on average?

1971 Triumph 2000 Mk 2 2.0 six from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Fabulous old British saloon

Faults:

Radiator needed soldering to cure leak.

Valve cover gasket needed replacement.

Rebuilt carburetors.

Installed new tires.

General Comments:

The Triumph 2000 Mk 2 was one of the neatest cars I've ever owned. Very reliable, always started first turn of the key, and great looking. Rust is a problem with older Triumphs, but this car was basically clean. Cabin seats were very comfortable, and interior materials had weathered the years very nicely, and still looked good.

Handling was decent and predictable. Weak brakes, due to primitive single circuit master cylinder. Plenty of power from the lively 2 liter six with twin Stromberg side draft carburetors. Automatic transmission was adequate, and reliable, but no doubt that better performance available from the 5 speed transmission.

A gorgeous, glorious British machine. I dearly wish I could have kept her, but Federal motor vehicle laws got in the way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews