1981 Triumph TR7 Reviews

1981 Triumph TR7 Convertible 2.0 litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carMG Midget

Summary:

I doubt that I will part with it

Faults:

Nothing much really, no major faults. Think I may have to replace the viscous fan coupling soon.

Rustproofed from new and several times since, so no real problems there.

Interiors aren't that durable, and in the open topped car, tends to weather quickly. Best kept as original as possible in my opinion.

Needs careful rustproofing. Rust can be a problem on most cars of this era.

Will probably fit a stainless steel exhaust when the mild steel one fails.

General Comments:

Good fun, good handling, brakes only adequate, ride good for its time but not to modern standards. The controversial styling is now part of the character of the car.

Cabin is light and airy with lots of room for two. Two seats only.

No radio / stereo as standard, care needs to be taken with aftermarket as they can look out of place.

Most parts readily available new, or if not, second hand, but some bits and pieces of trim can be expensive.

Probably a purchase you would make as a second car, but nevertheless a practical daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2013

1981 Triumph TR7 from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres

Summary:

The most fun to drive car on earth

Faults:

Rear wheel bearings and clutch master cylinder, clutch bushings.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. I remember watching the Avengers and Purdy with her TR7. I was luck enough to find one that had slept inside most of her life so far. I am sad right now as it it is sleeping for the winter in a cosy heated garage.. Can't wait for spring..

If I have one negative point, it is the top. Mind you, I have had it replaced with a new leather top.. Very hard to put back in.. takes 2 to do it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2010

1981 Triumph TR7 DHC 2 litre Convertible from UK and Ireland

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2 litre Convertible Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Lovely

Faults:

Cylinder head.

General Comments:

More economical than the V8. Dubbed ‘the shape of things to come’ on its initial release campaign, it is a car that was certainly ahead of its time. The first for side impact beams, big black bumpers, transfer decals, and a plastic dash? It was even designed for unleaded fuel from day one due to its initial USA market.

This is a car that really is fun to drive, because it is one that really has to be actually driven.

Still looks bang up to the minute even today, yet it is possible to actually do a service on a car like this in your own garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2007

1981 Triumph TR7 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carTriumph TR7

Summary:

My all time favorite car to drive..

Faults:

Pickup coil wire seperated. 20,000 miles.

Right Ball joint failure 22,000 miles.

Gas tank sender pickup replaced 19,000 miles.

Transmission rubber support/damper replaced 18,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is my 5th TR7... I have been driving them since the late 70"s.

Great Style, great fun to drive, a piece of history...

The lowest quility car you can own. With that in mind.. a lot of fun to work on...

This in not a car for the weak of heart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2006

1981 Triumph TR7 Conv 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carTriumph TR7

Summary:

I love my TR7!

Faults:

Pickup coil connector came loose and had to be soldered.

General Comments:

This is my 5th TR7... Not a car for the average driver... But if you like a challenge and a unique car. The TR7 is a great choice... Plenty of parts availible... Great to drive... A fun car to drive!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2003

1981 Triumph TR7 DHC 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Bargain fun, if you're handy with spanners!

Faults:

Gearbox failed at 105k miles, which was disturbing, but a recon unit was easy to source and reasonably cheap. No problems with that so far.

Radiator was replaced at the same time, as it was weeping a little too much for my liking.

Windscreen wiper intermittent wipe is dodgy - the wipers don't travel far enough on the intermittent pulse. Just needs the electrics looking at.

Engine was a bit baggy when I bought it, but that was sorted out with the unleaded conversion.

The driver's seat has been replaced, and the foam is collapsing at the bottom of the backrest again.

Rust is a perennial problem on these cars, but mine hasn't suffered too badly. It's waxoyl'd for the winter which helps.

The feed for the starter motor relay perished, (it's right next to the exhaust manifold) but that's an easy fix with a soldering iron.

General Comments:

I'm biased - I love TR7's. I can forgive just about anything because of this. It's fun, different, and makes me smile. It stands out in the car park, and all my mates think it's cool.

It's not quick by modern standards, although I've had the ton out of it (uphill, with a good run up!) and it wasn't topping out or complaining.

It's also extremely comfortable, despite it's age, and has a lovely driving position - you're stretched out reclining, and the main controls are in just the right place.

The gearbox is great - other than the failure - and works like a rifle bolt. The throw is a bit long compared to modern cars perhaps.

Servicing is dead easy, all the bits are common parts (especially if you get the spin-on oil filter kit, which takes Ford Escort filters), but it likes frequent (4000 mile) plug and oil changes.

My only gripe is that the wheelbase is too short, which makes handling 'interesting' in the wet, but then it's easy to get the back end out, which is fun in the dry, especially as the steering gives you lots of feedback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

1981 Triumph TR7 DHC 3.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carMG Midget

Summary:

Amazing cheap fun

Faults:

The clutch failed after one month of ownership.

Rust has started to come though on the front wheel arch.

General Comments:

Converted to full TR8 specification by S&S preparations in 1997.

Lovely colour - Bordeaux Red with tan interior.

It's very loud, with twin stainless steel exhausts.

I keep forgetting to put my foot all the way down, when I do - whoosh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1981 Triumph TR7 FHC 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1981
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Classic cars or cars approaching 20yrs of age can require severe maintenance, dependant upon general condition via former ownerships. Sadly few people seem able to maintain a vehicle in pristine condition, and cars of this age can reflect that. However, treat your TR7 well and it will reward you.

General Comments:

A classic British sports car. Must be driven to be appreciated. Once experienced you'll feel the need to own one, or several. A 3.5 L - 5.0 L V8 option is an available (and exciting) upgrade. Excellent investment potential for the next 10 - 20 yrs. A driver's car, anything but disposable transport - please.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

11th Apr 2001, 15:24

Don't forget the 16v option, I have one, it was cheaper than an 8 and it still goes like hell!

1981 Triumph TR7 V8 convertible 3.5 V8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1981
Engine and transmission 3.5 V8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing mechanical, but you can spend lots of money on 'rolling upgrades' - new bushes, new roof.

Basically, you can run them cheap, but to keep them 'on the ball' costs lots of money.

General Comments:

The last 'fully British' mass-produced sports car!

Slap in a 4.6 litre V8 and have fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 1997

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews