1990 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1990 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

An underrated, cheap, fast Vauxhall!

Faults:

Nothing serious really for a 10 year old car, only rust on the rear wheel arches, and airflow meter problems (which are common I'm told).

Other than that, little niggling faults (usual Vauxhall dash lights!) that other owners had left to be sorted!

General Comments:

For the money a pretty good car, it goes well.

115bhp engine is basically a smaller version of the GTE.

It's pretty reliable and will see off quite a few so called fast cars and it's only a 8v 1.8!

A lot of car for your money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.2 petrol carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol carb Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier SRi 130

Summary:

Cheap and economical runabout

Faults:

HT lead needed replacing.

Solenoid on the starter motor packed up (hitting with a metal bar worked fairly well for emergency purposes only).

Sticking sliders on brake callipers (very common problem).

General Comments:

The car is a very quiet car when cruising at 80 MPH, not bad for a 1.2 :)

Very economical and easy to maintain, an excellent car for budding mechanics to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra GTE 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90603 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good run about

Faults:

Door rims split.

Door handles jammed.

General Comments:

OK on the whole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Good looking bargain

Faults:

Brakes (ABS poor), heated mirrors inoperative.

General Comments:

Cheap performer, but attracts the wrong sort of attention from boy-racers etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

Cheap and comfy motoring

Faults:

Only had it two weeks... just needs an engine rattle to be looked at.

Also has quite a bit of rust considering its age.

High miles so I expected problems, but it was cheap!!

General Comments:

Comfortable and fairly smooth on the road... slow off the line but performance improves as revs rise!

Steering is good. Charges happily at 95 on the motorway.

Plenty of space... a nice car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra GTE 8v 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra 1.3 Diamond

Summary:

Brilliant cheap reliable speed

Faults:

Recently bought so still sorting out the previous owners laziness.

Oil sump leaking, front calipers still stick, oil pressure gauge not working... nothing serious.

General Comments:

A surprisingly fast car. Sturdy - basically a standard Cavalier engine in an Astra. Major torque - peaks at arounf 3000rpm which allows relaxed driving. Still revs nicely. Very comfortable, firm.

Handling is fine as long as you know when to back off - practice and training is needed to really get the best out of this, which is more fun than a railroading car.

Digital dash is excellent - not just a toy.

It seems to surprise a lot of people who probably write it off as a boy racer wannabe performance car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Astra GTE 16v 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra GTE 1.8i

Summary:

The best car you could ever hope for with an honest living

Faults:

Burst radiator hose.

Rear shock absorbers worn.

General Comments:

Fantastic!

The insurance is high, but it's well worth it. I've covered over 50,000 miles in it, and it's only suffered from a little perished rubber (after ten years it's only to be expected).

I've modified the suspension, and freed up the airflow through the car (as well as a couple of other engine modifications: cams, head, breather). It's developing over 200bhp now, but you wouldn't know it if you looked at the fuel gauge - on the motorway it manages about 50 miles to the gallon.

Beautiful gearbox coupled with the power allows for obscene 0-60mph times (around six seconds at the last count!) and a top speed in excess of 150mph (where legal...)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2000

18th Apr 2001, 06:34

That's not true...6 seconds, over 200bhp 1.8i!!! I think not somehow - junk it!

16th May 2001, 14:12

It's not an 1.8i, it's a 2.0 16V, and yes 200bhp+ is possible.

3rd Aug 2001, 10:22

I agree mate mine is running at 196bhp I just had it dyno'ed. That geezer don't know wot he's talking about and can obviously not read! THE ASTRA GTE 16V IS A CRACKING MOTOR!!!

23rd Sep 2001, 16:55

You can get 300bhp from the 2.0 16v XE engine.

I know one chap with a 230bhp 16v GTE, 0-60 in 5.5 seconds and 156mph top whack.

Beautiful engines.

8th Jan 2002, 07:09

The Astra GTE is one of a kind and you can get the engine to 300bhp. It costs a lot but the car is well worth it. I bought a 1.8 8v at the age of 17. I loved that car so much that I bought a GTE 16v last year when I was 18. A top car if you look after it and the car will give you no problems.

I have now bought Ferrari body kit, zenden back and front bumpers and clear back lights.

11th Jun 2005, 03:56

I owned my first 16v at 19. I had 2 brilliant years in that car, then sold it for a Rover (bad move). After several cars and 13 years, I have another, a rare Champion model. The power per pound factor is second to none. My wife has a Fiat Coupe Turbo, which cannot catch the Astra from start to 155, when Astra is flat out. I am definitely one of the Astra 16'vs biggest fans.

25th Sep 2006, 13:01

I'm glad I found somewhere where there are people who truly understand the GTE. I bought a Champion, and it was only 500 quid. The thing's an animal. I got pulled by police, and there was a thing on the computer in there saying I got from 0-64mph in 6.3 secs (dirty unmarked car caught me off guard). I'm now banned and am fully restoring it. If any one has got any tips, email me please at main_man25@hotmail.com

Thanks a lot folks.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 41 reviews