1990 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1990 Vauxhall Astra Estate 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Competent, durable workhorse

Faults:

Nothing out of the ordinary.

I have changed the rear brake drums and the exhaust system.

Oh yes, I had to have a new heater motor.

General Comments:

Apart from the fact that being non-turbo it slows down a bit on hills, I cannot fault the car.

I use 5th gear whenever possible and it regularly delivers 54 miles to the gallon.

The main dealers seem knowledgeable, helpful and friendly (experience of 3 in different parts of the country).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Astra L 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable, reliable and a bit squeaky!!

Faults:

Front brake calipers seized.

Replaced the brake pads.

New clutch fitted.

Passenger door lock won't open from the inside.

Reversing lights only work when they want to.

General Comments:

Apart from the little things that have gone wrong, it has been a fantastic first car.

The performance is pretty good for a car of its age/mileage, parts are cheap, and it's so easy to drive.

One thing I would improve is the handling! If you're fond of taking roundabouts without slowing down don't even think about driving this!

It's very reliable, it's been through snow, rain, ice, and sun, and always starts easily.

Fuel economy isn't too bad, can normally get around 130 miles from £10 as long as you don't push it too hard.

As for performance, 0-60 is OK, 60-80 isn't too great, and 80-110 (which is the most I've had out of it) is surprisingly good!

Overall a wicked first car if you haven't got much money, squeaks and rattles a bit, but it is getting old!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Astra GTE 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap speed!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with mine touch wood, but you have to watch out for rattly hydraulic lifters when cold!!!

And rattly dash boards!!!

General Comments:

This car is pretty surprising.

It does 0-60 in 6.2 seconds and reaches speeds of 140+ MPH.

BHP is 160.

It handles a lot better because I have just bought some 17" alloy wheels and F1 tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 12:14

6.2 seconds to 60! I think it's closer to 7.5 seconds, and the BHP is 150 not 160.

7th Jul 2001, 08:34

Agreed - you'd never do it in 6.4. What Car clocked an early example at 6.9 seconds, but the first year or so of production saw a different ECU and 156 bhp instead of 150. The late 87 and early 88 models were the quickest, but most are wrecks or TWOC'd burnt out shells now.

Either way, this is a seriously fast car, and will wipe the floor with any other hot hatch you could care to mention in a straight line.

1990 Vauxhall Astra SXi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28176 miles
Most recent distance33012 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

RS Turbo eater

Faults:

N/S drive shaft gaiter split.

General Comments:

I bought this car last year with a genuine 28,000 miles and FSH and I'm only 19!

A very good car, but suffers from lift off over-steer.

A very quick car, not far off 16v performance, faster than annoying Renault 5 GT Turbos!

Best moment was beating an Escort Turbo and reaching 135 quite easily with more to go.

Has anybody else got a car like this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

27th Jun 2001, 11:42

Rs turbo eater? Beating a Renault 5? Well maybe you are a superb driver but my experience would lead me to believe that with stats of:

0-60 - 9.6 seconds.

Top end - 123mph.

The Sxi is nowhere near as fast as a 16v GTE or the turbos. Sure there are good and bad versions of all cars and all Vauxhalls are gamey critters but there are limits.

Keep it on the road.

11th Oct 2001, 10:31

I ve got a GTE 16v and although it is a very quick motor, it is nowhere near as fast from 0-60 as a GT Turbo!

1990 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra 1.4 Merit

Summary:

Still better than a lot of modern crap!

Faults:

My SRi is still performing well even though it is now over 10 years old.

Since I've owned the car it has had a new radiator, timing belt and I've fitted a complete new braking system from the 2.0L Cavalier.

These bigger brakes really are superb even though the car doesn't have ABS.

I had a meaty sound system put in, including a pair of Infinity 6x9 speakers in the rear. These are twice the price of your usual Sony or Kenwood speakers but well worth it if you ask me. The bass kicks ass!!

Rust on the rear wheel arches is now the biggest problem. All Astras seem to be prone to this.

General Comments:

The gutsy 1.8 litre unit from the '90 Astra SRi is still enough to make it quicker than a lot of so called quick modern cars... 306 diesel turbos, Golf TDi's are no problem from the lights. It can show a 1.8 16v '95 Escort a clean pair of heels as well.

Worst thing about my car: the harsh ride.

Best thing: Torquey engine and plenty of car for, what, around a grand now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 41 reviews