1993 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 injection Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Poor man's Vectra

Faults:

Nothing really changed from the mk2 to the mk3 Astra, I've had both but if I could put this engine in the mk2 Astra I had I think I would be happier, really feel like a big girl's blouse in this model but overall it's not a bad car.

General Comments:

Anyone got a Evo 6 they don't want?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2000

4th Jul 2001, 18:14

I had one of these... again it was OK for 3 months. Was OK on fuel, didn't seem to want much. Not a bad drive. Accelerated like a doughnut in a bath. Clutch went (just like that!!!).

Then the timer belt.. Life eh.

Vauxhalls STINK.

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4i
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Engine managment system causing engine to rev up intermittently, otherwise no problems.

General Comments:

Getting 40MPG. Very economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 1999

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4 injection petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4 injection petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

The only problem I have had with the car is the bonnet sticking.

General Comments:

All round good car, expensive insurance for you drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

1993 Vauxhall Astra GSI 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Needed two new front shock mounts.

New stainless steel group A exhaust system (cat removed).

New starter motor.

Complete engine rebuild.

All done at 95K miles.

General Comments:

This car has absolutely stunning performance even before all my modifications, (superchipped, K+N induction kit, FSE boost valve, high lift cams and skimmed head) 178BHP 0-60 in 6.9secs. I find the Traction Control and ABS come in handy (sometimes).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

13th Jan 2001, 14:24

My Astra GSi 2.0 16v has those all mods apart from high lift cams and FSE boost valve, and it runs at 179bhp. Does this mean the cams and boost valve make no difference to performance?

11th Feb 2001, 15:28

On the Astra GSI the inlet manifold is very restricted, as far as there is a limit to how much air it can breath. Therefore there is a limit to how much fuel you can try to put in. It is pointless to fit high lift cams, and either a superchip or power boost valve will give the increases, but no more if used together.

9th Jun 2001, 10:23

I could do with some advice on traction control. My name is Kristian and I own a 1991 Astra GSi, the traction control only works for the first 5 minutes of use, after that the button is useless and the car continues to lose traction. I was wondering whether this is a common fault and would be very greatful for some advice.

Thanks

Kristian.

15th Jul 2001, 14:25

Is the 2.0L 16v Astra GSi engine actually a turbo to start off with, or do I have to do major mods?

Please e-mail me back @ mahatma_ghandi_2000@hotmail.com

Cheerz

ANDY L.

29th Jul 2003, 14:31

Can you tell me please if you heard if I can modify my 1.4i astra 1992 engine... I mean replace it with a GSI engine 2.0??

Is that possible?

8th Mar 2006, 09:08

Is this the 2.0 16v red top engine (149bhp standard) you're talking about???

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit Auto 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Sports mode button seems to have a mind of its own. It come on when it wants to.

General Comments:

The only real problem that I have with the car is the handling. It is as though you are cornering in a arm chair.

The car wollows into any corner above 20mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Lots of problems with fan belt slipping, general issues with rust spots (nothing serious).

Rain leak into the hatchback door and hence into boot space - just noticed this so I haven't found the leak yet.

General Comments:

Generally a nice car - reliable, smooth, quiet. Performance not brilliant, but that's fine with me!

But.. every Vauxhall I've had has developed a rain leak somewhere and I HATE rain leaks! (Perhaps this is telling me something).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 1998

1993 Vauxhall Astra California 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

In 115,000 miles, nothing at all, until the second timing belt decided to make a slightly early departure: painful.

General Comments:

A solid and (if one believes 'Which?') very safe car. Two daughters learned to drive in it, one of them testing the airbag in a mild argument with a grassy bank. On a run to Italy and back, it averaged 59.5mpg. Excellent stereo, too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 1998

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews