1993 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1993 Vauxhall Astra Si 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A great ride, and the car is worth every penny

Faults:

There has been nothing wrong with the car so far, I have regularly serviced it and there has never been anything found faulty. I have never had anything wrong on it M.O.T. wise as well.

General Comments:

It is a cheap car, is very nippy around the town and performs very well on an open straight, but if you go above 90mph the suspension is slightly bumpy. Otherwise it is a smooth ride.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a cheap sporty car that is cheap and easy to modify, eg. a spoiler or alloys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

20th Jan 2001, 18:24

A great way to sum up a great car.

14th Dec 2002, 04:07

Isn't the "Recaro" Interior beautiful? I prefer it to the "GSI" interior.

1993 Vauxhall Astra Cesaro 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Nice looking motor, excellent specification

Faults:

Water pump leak led to overheating and cylinder head gasket failure. Non dealer mechanic sorted me for £200 though.

Got the alloys nicked, pro job cause the covers were removed from the wheels without damage.

General Comments:

1.4i is not exactly quick but multi-point fuel injection gives 80 bhp - (60bhp for single point on the Merit!). Cheap insurance though.

Good MPG - 360 to 400 miles on a full tank.

Lovely looker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

16th Jan 2002, 06:03

My 1.6i 1993 Cesaro Water pump failed too leading to overheating and valve guide failure / warped head / gasket blown: WATCH THE TEMP ON THESE!!!

Rear-wiper module's driveshaft seems to rust up on Astra Mk3s. If power present module is faulty: Disconnect power, drill out module's rivets, withdraw driveshaft & lightly sand before lubricating and reassembling unit. Rivets can be replaced or use (M3?) nuts and bolts.

Does anyone else notice that the NSR tail-light bulbs fail much more often than others?

Otherwise, good drive & styling.

18th Aug 2007, 10:02

I have recently purchased the 2.0l 8v Cesaro, and boy is it quick. It just wants to keep going.

The only problems I have had is the water pump is on its way out, and the rear window wiper motor. Other than that, it was a bargain for £200; what can I say.

1993 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4 single point injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 single point injection Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired74500 miles
Most recent distance77600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra mk 2

Summary:

Bag of spanners

Faults:

Well, where do I start?

Bought the car in June 2000, everything was alright. After a month or so the thing kept cutting out and wouldn't start again, cost me £300 to get it sorted out but it still does the same. Took it to Vauxhall to have a look but they say there's nothing wrong with it, more like there's nothing right with it. Took it for an MOT, passed no problems so do I have to wait 5 minutes before it starts or is that just Vauxhall for you?

General Comments:

Dont buy one, stay away. Good on the petrol, other than that leave them alone. You will fork out more for repairs than you paid for the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

25th Mar 2001, 07:39

1993 Astra merit 1.4. Generally fine but that business of suddenly cutting out when waiting at traffic lights!

A very good vehicle servicer (not main agent) can find nothing wrong.

The only clue seems to be that it is OK when cold and OK when hot. In between there seems to be a dodgy period.

5th Sep 2002, 11:47

Astra 1.4 Merit 1993 - not too bad when starting from cold, but after it has run for a short while (10 - 15 minutes) get a pulling sensation. More often than not, car cuts out and won't start again for a short while. Car also cuts out sometimes when stationary.

A rescue service at one point advised it was distributor cap and rotor arm - no such luck!!

Both have been changed however problem still persists. Still no idea what is wrong.

3rd Jan 2004, 19:16

I had a similar problem myself with a mark 2 Astra. Turned out to be a blocked idle jet in the carb. I think that the single point injection has a similar sort of problem.

23rd Nov 2004, 05:09

My Astra survived over 90,000 miles without any trouble, but recently the engine cut out when stopping at traffic lights etc. I discovered that it was the ignition module/coil, which when replaced (even by a second hand one) solved the problem.- P.M.

25th May 2007, 16:44

Cutting out whilst driving, at junctions, no preference with it being hot/cold temp???

Same problem as my Astra. advised by Rac man to replace Ignition module. Mines still waiting for one to be replaced as the wrong one was ordered.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 40 reviews