1994 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1994 Vauxhall Astra Mark 3 Cesaro Sport 1.6 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216 SX

Summary:

Absolutely spanking!

Faults:

Rear shocks went at 60k, but I'm really giving the car a thrashing and she still won't give in.

Very cheap parts available widespread. Interior is still mint!

The ICE is good with components in the front and coaxials in the back.

Wheelspins and burnouts can prove expensive since 195/60/14 tyres don't come too cheap!

If only Vauxhall put discs on the back then this car would be perfect!!!

General Comments:

Lovely performance, 0-60 under 10 seconds and easily hits 100 with no effort at all! (damn Gatsos won't let me take her to the limit!).

Loads of grip with the 195/60/14 alloys.

I've beaten a BMW 325i and a Punto GT, and this car is standard!!!

Can't wait to see the performance when I slap a Pipercross filter and Piper straight through on it! De-cat pipe and chip should get me hitting 120-125bhp from the 95bhp standard!!

The gearbox is too close in ratio between 3rd, 4th and 5th and screwing the car involves giving the clutch a hiding too! She'll hit 135mph no problem! I WANT A GSi Now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 09:36

This man knows what he's talking about. Great performance for a small engine. I'm the git who undertakes everyone in a Pineapple Yellow version!

27th Jan 2002, 12:18

Absolute Rubbish!

Them other cars weren't trying mate - 0-60 in 10 seconds - my mum's old Metro could do that.

27th Jan 2002, 12:24

What a load of crap! My Astra GTE (2.0 16V) with 156bhp will reach a top speed of 140mph, so there is no way a 1.6 8v Astra would even nearly get to 135mph, it would be more like 120mph. Secondly, having 95bhp standard, adding a chip, exhaust and air filter would not give you 125bhp, you might get an extra 15bhp if you're lucky.

Because of this I very much doubt you beat 325s, though possibly a Punto GT. And I would not recommend completely removing the air filter if you value your engine.

27th Jan 2002, 13:42

Questions have to be asked of this review, the 325i and Punto Gt that he beat in a 1.6 Astra is total nonsense.

A 325i will hit 60 in under 8 seconds as far as I know, getting this 1.6 astra under 10 would be a struggle.

27th Jan 2002, 13:45

Those power and speed figures are way out. Get to a rolling road to do before and after comparisons of modifications and if you want to test your top speed, don't rely on your speedo. They generally under-read at a rate of around 10%.

1994 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Good for a 1.4

Faults:

Alternator on the way out and it's starting to show signs of rust on the rear arches.

General Comments:

For a small 1.4 this car's performance is not that bad, and it does have a slightly sporty feel to it while it's being driven. Handling is moderate.

With a few small extras it can look very sporty, especially the 3 door, and it has one of the best looking insides I've have seen on a car. Loads of space front and back.

If you are going to buy one I would strongly recommend a 1.4 multipoint injection one or a 1.4 16v or above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

1994 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89500 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Economical, reliable, decent car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and if it were not for the higher than average insurance grouping, it would rate better in the running costs. MPG averages close to 55, but this can be a lot less if the car is due for service.

It is a comfortable relaxed car, good at motorway speeds. My biggest criticism of this car however, is its awful handling, and poor stability when being driven briskly on typical A/B roads. The steering is also heavy at low speeds and very sloppy at high speeds.

Overall though I am pleased with this choice of car and would consider another as a replacement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews