2000 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2000 Vauxhall Astra Club 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19500 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 25

Summary:

A good family car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

The car is very comftable, the leg room in the front is very good for a 6 footer. the air con is a god send, the engine has a good response when you put your toe down. overall a bloody good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

19th Jan 2013, 14:46

I bought my Envoy Astra in 2003. I have done 100,000 miles now. It's got altogether 134,000 miles on it. I have never had any problem. I service it every 6,000 miles, and even the exhaust is still the original. It is driving very good; I hope to keep it for a lot of time ahead.

2000 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Underrated

Faults:

Nothing to report a gem to own.

General Comments:

I'm very impressed with the all round package.

Performance is good.

Handling and ride 1st class.

Stylish funtional Interior.

Quality and build are up with the best and I mean near BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

2000 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Not a bad motor

Faults:

Wouldn't start one morning - the engine had apparently flooded itself.

Illumination behind the heater panel failed after 6 months.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable, only letting me down once and that was cured by a visit from the AA.

The performance is reasonable, but I have been very disappointed by the fuel consumption.

The cabin looks good in grey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

2000 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance18847 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A high revving deathtrap

Faults:

This vehicle has been fine, and reliable. Until last night, driving home from a friends house I noticed the engine was revving oddly, then it took over and started to get out of control (revving). I pulled over onto a lay-by, turned the key and took it out, still nothing happened, the engine was running at extreme RPM, at this point I panicked and got out, I stood on the grass verge as it did this for several minutes, then it gave in, seized I would assume. It red lines @5000rpm, but had gone off the clock whilst in the lay-by, the smoke from it was unreal, as was the noise. I called the fire brigade to assist, they said it was extremely high in temperature, nothing they'd seen before on a car.

General Comments:

I was lucky not to have been hurt, as I was driving along at 80mph without control, only steering. Vauxhall will need to investigate this, before someone gets hurt or killed. I am awaiting Vauxhall to collect this to check it out, and will reply on here once I have heard what was wrong with it. Very scary stuff I have to say!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2001

20th Jan 2010, 15:19

Seems odd to call, what was a reliable car, a death trap because of one incident.

Over reacting? Yes me thinks!

9th May 2013, 15:49

Sounds like worn piston rings to me; a diesel car will (if the rings are worn) run itself on the oil it's burning from the sump. Switching the ignition off will do nothing because it's not running on diesel from the fuel pump, until it gives up the ghost. Death trap may be slightly extreme mind :)

2000 Vauxhall Astra Coupe Bertone Edition 2.2i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Good value, but is it special?

Faults:

Head lamps steam up.

Alternator failed.

Front spoiler came away.

Alarm was faulty.

General Comments:

The car handles nicely and the engine is powerful for the size of car. Excellent value for money with Aircon, Cruise, CD and lots more.

I wanted a stylish car and from most angles this one fits the bill.

I have a nagging feeling now that I should have spent a bit more and gone for a BMW 3 Series or Toyota Celica, as the poor reliability is now beginning to bug me.

Something which I didn't think would bother me, but which does occasionally is the image of this car -- to many people it is just an plain old Astra...

Not sure how long I will keep this car, as you will have probably gathered I am a little disappointed. If no more problems develop I may feel a bit better about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2001

18th May 2006, 04:31

Has this car had any timing chain issues?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews