2002 Vauxhall Astra Bertone Coupe 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland


Good car, nice to drive fun, but with down falls too



When I got the car it had a tear in the passengers seat from previous owner, garage I bought it from replaced this free of charge.


Hard driving in this car uses front tyres, I've gone through one set in 10,000 easy. If the car is to be used in the snow due to the width of the tyres you must consider snow tyres. (Not cheap)

Alloy wheels:

Small cracks in the enamel were obvious I took back to Vauxhall and they were said to be just cosmetic and are fine.

Rear screen:

Heating element on screen burnt out Vauxhall said I damaged it when cleaning so will not replace under warranty and charged me £25 to look at it.

Heat sheid on petrol tank is low and got caught. beware of it.

General Comments:

Handling is excellent in good dry weather night mare in snow.

1.8 16v is a great engine cheaper insurance etc for the younger person. Quick and reliable nice and racy. For the racy sound you need a full system exhaust and induction kit.

Traction control is good for driving not so good for messing about in.

Nice looking car.

Not very comfy for high mileage or long sits in, but nice to drive and fun to handle.

Not easy to get engine performance parts, but body kits are good and easy to come by.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

6th Jun 2006, 14:20

Totally agree with review, I have been through 5tyres no word of a lie and I've only done 15k in it.

The heat protection on exhaust came on m5 because it rusted and empaled a car behind... still awaitin insurance on that one!

2002 Vauxhall Astra 1.7 DTi Envoy 1.7 DTi from UK and Ireland


Good all-rounder


External temp sensor is giving a false reading...5 degrees higher than actual. Being fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Comfortable motorway driving, solid road handling, excellent fuel economy and oodles of space. Perfect car for my 750 miles a week commute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

2002 Vauxhall Astra LS 17 DTI from UK and Ireland


Ideal family car


It revs to high when changing gears.

Speedometer moves to 5 mph when car is stationary.

A whistling sound coming from the engine when accelerating.

General Comments:

The car its self I am very pleased with.

It has plenty of humph and is very nippy.

I know I have not had the car that long, but these annoying problems do get to you.

It has been into the Vauxhall garage where I purchased it from, but they could not find anything wrong with it.

It is due to go back in for 2 days to have an extensive road check.

Performance wise it knocks spots off my previous car which was a 2.0 DI Vectra.

I just hope that the garage can work out what is wrong with it so that I can enjoy good motoring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

23rd Jul 2007, 18:11


I have a Peugeot 405 Turbo Diesel, and I had a whistling noise, which was a small hole in the front section of the exhaust, this lets out the sound of the turbo. Could be worth checking.

2002 Vauxhall Astra SRi Turbo 2.0 turbocharged from UK and Ireland


Bad on fuel economy, great on performance!


Nothing at the moment.

General Comments:

This car is definitely the fastest I've driven so far (0-60 mph in approx 7 seconds, though mine has been modified to achieve this in 5 seconds, which beats Subaru Imprezas!).

The cabin isn't very impressive, but with help from the (expensive) Irmisher styling, it adds some reasonable extras to look at.

Doesn't take corners very well, and braking round corners is a nightmare... I recommend Astra owners to get sports spring kits to lower their vehicles, and also change the brake pads to the performance ones called "Green-Stuff".

If you want to upgrade your Astra, then I recommend going to Regal Sport in Southampton; they can increase the bhp by about 100-200 (mine is now 280 bhp).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

7th Dec 2003, 07:11

Why chip it to 280 bhp when the chassis struggles with 200? You'd have made a quicker car by sorting the suspension.

29th Mar 2006, 18:51

You can buy a rear strut and roll bar which tightens up the back end making the handling amazing how it should have been, makes clio's look pathetic round twist and turns then I lose him on the straight.