2003 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2003 Vauxhall Astra Astravan LX 1.7 TDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.7 TDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFord fiesta van

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

No faults to date.

General Comments:

Mine is a Vauxhall Astravan 1.7tdi.

I have owned the van for 4 years and to date it has performed faultlessly.

In 55.000 it hasn't cost me a penny apart from regular 20,000mile services, front brake pads and tyres.

It is very economical returning 50-55 mpg driving normally, mostly in rural areas.

There are no rattles; it starts first time every time, and in silver the paint looks as good as new.

The performance is excellent, especially the acceleration, allowing easy overtaking of slower vehicles.

Highly recommended. Can't wait until to try the later model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2003 Vauxhall Astra GSi Turbo Z20LET from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Z20LET Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Fantastic vehicle, but should have been 4x4!!!

Faults:

My car began cutting out when stopping at junctions and traffic lights, which turned out to be a common broken earth wire behind the dashboard, which cost £45 to fix along with a manufacturer ECU update.

After owning the car for 3 months, the turbo blew, which was put down to over boost, although a ZLET engine can't be over boosted, and the car was standard.

3 months after that turbo failure again; oil contamination this time.

General Comments:

Very fast, handles sound, comfortable. Did I mention very fast?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

2003 Vauxhall Astra GSI 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

Good all rounder

Faults:

No huge problems with the GSI.

The electronics messed up.

Apart from that it was OK.

General Comments:

The car was good; had it serviced every ten thousand miles.

This car goes like anything. The GSI is perfect in a straight line, but crap round corners.

Now I prefer the new Vauxhall Astra VXR; it's faster and better looking.

And as far as VXR vs GSI; the VXR for me, but the VXR suffers from torque steer.

The GSI is still a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

2003 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39840 miles
Most recent distance40850 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Fast and Stunning

Faults:

So far nothing yet.

Only problems I have is the interior lights are poor quality.

The dashboard lights behind the instruments aren't the best as they are sometimes dim then brighten up.

General Comments:

Very nippy car, so much nicer to drive something with a bigger engine than a heavy car with a 1.3

Lovely power delivery across the gears

Very good handling

Motorway driving is very comfortable, I find the cruise control very useful

Dashboard is well built and simple, but not ugly

Traction control does help, but doesn't stop wheel spin all together, but is good in the wet

Well built car all round

Petrol consumption is poor when driven hard, but average when driven normal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

2003 Vauxhall Astra SXI CDTI SXI CDTI from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission SXI CDTI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80097 miles
Most recent distance82357 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I am amazed at the amount of torque this things got

Faults:

Nothing yet? needed a timing belt at 80000 that's all I've done with it.

General Comments:

ASTRA SXI CDTI 53 PLATE MARK 4 (G)

I am amazed at the amount of torque this things got I'm sure its been chipped by the previous owner it really has a throw you into the back of your seat kind of feel, And somehow it gives me an minimum of 50mpg doesn't matter if I take it easy or gun it!

It's a really comfy ride too and its quite well equipped aircon etc, The seats are sporty on the sxi which I love, but my elbow sometimes has to fight with the seat when changing gear also the gearbox is a little clunky.

Overall this a great car if they still made this model from new I would buy it again and again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2006

2003 Vauxhall Astra SRi Turbo 190 2.0 litre turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Great fun

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've previously owned - a Mazda 323 ZXI, a Rover 200 Vi, a Honda CRX VTEC, a VW GTI mk3, a Renault 5 Turbo and a 205 GTi.

This car (SRi Turbo) is without doubt the fastest cars I've ever owned.

Not been to the claimed 150mph obviously, but there is a handy stop clock on the dash computer, and I have on many times had it to 60 in 6.5 seconds with no modifications.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2006

29th Jul 2006, 10:25

Wicked cars aren't they? Try an engine remap from regal or courtenay, and you'll be surprised how quick the damn thing is.

29th Oct 2006, 14:45

I own an astra sri turbo 190 and for some reason it doesn't seem to be as responsive as it used to be. The car's not long been serviced, but just doesn't have that real kick to it at the moment. I did let the petrol get low a short while back, but wouldn't of thought that would have resulted in this happening. Anyone have any advice on what might be wrong please?

5th Mar 2007, 02:26

Are you sure you have'nt got a replica because they only made the sri turbo in 2002. sorry.

10th Mar 2007, 05:22

They made them at the begining of 2003 too. It's a january model. I Wouldn't say 2003 if it wasn't.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews