2003 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2003 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26800 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

Vibration through steering wheel at 75 mph - Resolved with swapping and balancing tyres.

Dash lights switching off - Resolved by changing the lights on/off switch.

General Comments:

Very good. Really enjoy driving the car and feels very solid. Build quality is very good and the piant and finish are fine. The handling is excellent, however the traction control, is not as involved as I thought it would be. The engine is smooth and feels quick. I like the fact is can go fast when required, but be sedate and quite for relaxed driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

2003 Vauxhall Astra SXI 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great all rounder for decent price

Faults:

The engine "pinks" (detonates) almost every time I change gear, and yes I can drive properly thank you! But haven't yet brought it to the dealers attention yet.

General Comments:

The car is very lively for a 1600 with impressive 60-100mph acceleration.

Sticks to the road like glue and can sail round corners at good speeds comfortably.

Nice interior, love the steering wheel controls and good base with standard CD player.

Very smooth and comfortable to drive.

Great brakes, shame about the lack of ABS tho!

Rear spoiler makes it look like a much sleeker car, also DE-Badged front grille gives it a mean look at the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2005

17th Jul 2005, 04:06

You might need a new knock sensor to stop the pinking.

13th Nov 2005, 15:10

I've got the 1.6 too and had the same "feature". The pinking is down to the computer, there is an software update available which sorts it.

2003 Vauxhall Astra SXI 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Very good price for a very good car I would recommend to anyone

Faults:

One morning the car wouldn't start the AA said it was the Monday morning Syndro, Fixed quickly though.

General Comments:

Good acceleration

Pretty Good comfort

Happy with the dealer and after sales service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

2003 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.7 CDTI diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7 CDTI diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1750 miles
Most recent distance17250 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A solidly-built, cheap, dependable, frugal workhorse

Faults:

No faults have shown to date.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle as a business workhorse and it's certainly not disappointed me. It's had zero downtime in the year that I've owned it.

I'm very impressed by the CDTI diesel engine - it's got loads of pulling power coupled with great fuel economy. I tend to drive quite sportingly, but the fuel consumption is always between 48 and 51 mpg (I keep accurate records).

The build quality is exceedingly good for a modestly priced vehicle (mine cost £10,000 with 1700 miles on the clock last April). Nothing has fallen off and there aren't any squeaks or rattles.

In conclusion I would say that I'm entirely happy with this vehicle and wouldn't hesitate to buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

21st Mar 2006, 13:54

After reading this review, and others, I think I can consider myself a bit unlucky. The 1.7 CDTi Astra (old shape) that I bought recently, an 'Enjoy' special addition, is full of infuriating buzzes and rattles, not to mention a banging/creaking sound from the back of the car when going over bumps. And in case you're thinking it's a high-miler, it had a mere 2500 miles on the clock and was less than 10 months old when I bought it!

27th Apr 2008, 15:32

Hi would just like to say that I have just bought an Astra LS CDTi diesel and it is a fabulous car to drive. As of yet have to check the low mileage that it is capable of doing.

Shaista Babar.

16th Jul 2008, 11:08

Just an update on my original review. I've still got the car and it's now done 58,000 miles. Not much has gone wrong with it in the three years I've owned it. The only significant problem was the starter motor which had burnt out (caused by a sticking ignition lock barrel - a very common Astra problem). That cost £280 to replace at a Vauxhall dealer. Fuel consumption remains very good, averaging at 52mpg. Not the most exciting vehicle to drive but the total cost of ownership remains pretty low which suits me.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews