1987 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Vauxhall Cavalier Calibre 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

Quick, stylish Cavalier, sadly let down by severe bodywork corrosion

Faults:

Electrical problems.

Overheating.

Radiator leaks.

Water pump.

CV joints.

RUST! RUST! RUST!

General Comments:

A great looking car with its Irmscher body kit. This car also had cool alloy wheels with lowered suspension to make it look even better, with a fast 2 litre, 8 valve injection engine, but sadly let down by poor rusty bodywork.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

21st May 2001, 08:01

I own a Calibra and they are absolutely fantastic cars to have. I blew the 2 litre 8 valve standard engine and now I have put in a 2 litre 16 valve SFi engine out of a 93 K GSi. It has uprated brakes, K&N 57i induction kit and a full Devil exhaust system, twin 4 inch tail pipes. Top cars!

1st Nov 2001, 03:34

I have an SRi 1.8 and I have never been in such a fast car. It's been lowered and had the full touring car work done to it with a cobra bucket seat. Superchipped and very fast.

20th Dec 2002, 04:58

My friend owns a Cavalier Calibre, E reg, and its immaculate. So much so that it wins FIRST PRIZE at the Vauxhall Performance Shows at the Billing Aquadrome. Oh and its still its original paint RED not purple!

17th May 2003, 11:00

I have owned two mk2 cavaliers in the past, and both these cars have proved to be very reliable and pretty quick. even after my second one (an e-reg 130) threw a cam belt at 5500 rpm a quick change and re-timeing and it was off again... WONDERFULL motors I love them.

1987 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 130 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance10200 miles
Previous carBMW 323i

Summary:

More torque than Sainsburys

Faults:

Track rod ends are a pain to adjust.

Drive shaft rumble.

General Comments:

What a car, this is the second time I have owned this car and my brother owned it before me, it is a nice car with bags of power.

I have made a few mods but still fine as standard, the seats in mine are very supportive especially as I have back problems.

Please note that an injection clean and decent air filter can return it to the original miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

1987 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

A super first car with speed and style

Faults:

Sticky starter motor.

Headlight bulb.

Rear of sills.

Rear brakes.

Big ends.

Cam.

General Comments:

Started as a 1.6, but due to big ends and cam shaft getting rattly, a 1.8 engine with a Weber twin 40 carb was put in its place. Fitting was simple, in and out fitting on to the already fitted F12 5 speed gearbox.

Rolling road tuned and she is about 97 bhp at the front wheels. Beats most stuff off the lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

10th Sep 2001, 10:17

If your first car was a Cavvy 1.6, how the hell did you get insurance? I'm 17 and love Cavaliers, and wanted a 1.6, but the insurance companies didn't want to know so I got a Ford Ka instead, so I'm really annoyed.

24th Jul 2008, 10:50

First company car was a 1987 Cavilier 1.6 L in maroon. Never let me down but the gearing to engine torque match was atrocious. In 5th on a motorway you just couldn't accelerate, my father in law had a 1981 model with a 4 speed box and that was well matched. Other complaint was the appalling seats, any drive over 2 hours and I was Quasi Modo for a day. In 1990 I changed it for a Sierra and never had another Vauxhall.

1987 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap reliable motor

Faults:

CV joint rumble, ignition barrel set on fire.

General Comments:

A very very good car! I'm only 18 and this is my fourth car and it's by far the best, I bought it for £300. The fuel consumption was about 24 to the gallon but now I've had a play with it I can get 40 to the gallon and still get good performance from it. Bodywork is getting a little bit tatty but nothing a days work can't sort out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews