1990 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier GSi 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Bargain super saloon

Faults:

Water pump gave up within a few days purchase of the car.

Fitted a new set of brake discs and pads about 1000 miles back and already starting to warp again.

General electrics on the car isn't at its best.

Oil leaking from the sump.

Passengers side driveshaft was replaced and now the drivers side driveshaft needs replacing aswell.

Suspension ball joints needed replacing for the M.O.T.

Clutch cable broke.

Exhaust front expansion box needs replacing.

General Comments:

Although the car has had a few problems, I would still say that it is a great car and quite cheap to run.

Fairly quick and handles well with good tyres.

Extremely cheap to buy so a right bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier GSI 2000 2.0i 16v Twin Cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Once bitten forever smitten

Faults:

The one and only problem I have had with my cavalier is that the Automatic Braking System light came on. I had owned it for about six months. The fault was traced to a faulty sensor.

General Comments:

An unbeatable flying machine for very little money.

I drove for twelve hours just to buy this car. It was well worth it.

I shall never part with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

I am well pleased with this car and will drive it until I run it into the ground

Faults:

Rusting along the wheel arches.

General Comments:

I have had no major problems with the car since I bought it over 9 years ago. There is now 173000 miles on the clock and it is the original engine, gear box and clutch. The most I have spent to get it through an MoT is £122.

The only problems I have now are rust on the wheel arches and looking a bit tatty on the inside of driver's door where I rest my arm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good reliable car, although prone to rusting

Faults:

Ignition barrel broke.

Bad rusting on the sills and the lower portions of the rear wheel arches.

General Comments:

Generally a very good car although underpowered for its size with a mere 1.4 engine!

Generally comfortable with plenty of room inside, good for carrying large loads and people.

Unfortunately, recently had to sell as it failed its MOT because of serious rust problems that have progressively got worse. Seems to be a feature of these cars that they tend to rust around the sills and rear wheel arches.

Would have liked to have kept the car for another couple of years, but was becoming uneconomical, although the engine probably has 100K + left in it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A surprisingly quick and deceptive car to the unwary

Faults:

Seems to suffer from bad electrical problems. Immobiliser going off for no good reason. Horn works when it feels like it. Electric mirrors not working. De-mister erratic.Steering very tight? Lights are a joke. Heater always on hot.

The fog lights didn't work until I realised someone had nicked them!!!

General Comments:

A very quick (135mph) 0~60 mid 8's family car that leaves a lot of modern cars gasping. Beats my previous XR3i easily. Handling is excellent, much better than I am willing to push it. Fuel consumption is fairly good. Engine loves to rev to get the best out of it. Not as comfy or quiet as my previous Sierra GLSi DOHC.

Still a fairly modern looking design. The back suspension is not fully independent which would have improved high speed performance, shame! I would certainly buy another model in 16v form.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Beautiful, good looking, great mile muncher for a cheap price!

Faults:

No problems as yet!

I've put 122000 miles on the clock and she still runs like a dream.

Brilliant performance considering she has munched up 156000 miles!

General Comments:

This a comfortable, reliable car.

I paid £1500 for her when she was 8 years old, not bad considering the amount of miles she has eaten up in 3 years.

Never once broken down.

Starts first time, even in the freezing cold.

Guess what my next car will be - another Cav. I'm selling my beloved Cav this year before she knackers out - bless her!

I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2001

8th Aug 2001, 06:09

UPDATE! 9/8/2001.

I've just sold the old girl for £800 nicker, not bad considering I paid £1500 for her three years ago.

Just brought an 'N' reg low mileage 2.0i LX, beautiful.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 49 reviews