1990 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 8 of 10

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Go Cav go

Faults:

Normal parts such as pads, discs and spark plugs.

Rust around the rear arches, keep clean!!

Offside rear door is prone to rust.

General Comments:

Good value car for the money.

Cheap parts to upgrade to 1992 spec. Mine has '92 front and rear aprons and grille (badgeless), headlamps, indicators and rear panel.

Throwing in a turbo style rear spoiler, it's the best Cav around. Spent only £200 to upgrade... not bad eh?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier GSi 2000 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier SRi

Summary:

Oh yes...

Faults:

Radiator.

Heater matrix.

Lots of warped disc's.

Sump leak.

General Comments:

Fast!! Eats most cars even today. XR2i turbos? Pants. Escort Turbos? Sanitary towels. Renault Turbos? It's getting boring now!!

Apart from a useless sized boot, woolly steering and the steering wheel adjuster constantly trying to stab my knee, it's still an excellent car. I even had a little go at a TVR near Tower Bridge and ended up smiling to myself whilst waving a fingered salute to the now fed up TVR driver. Shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

12th Aug 2001, 11:57

Well done for the TVR thing! TVR's are over rated pieces of crap and Cavalier's have much better looks and I'd rather have a Cav any day. Oh and well done with the high miles! GO CAV GO GO GO!!

14th Sep 2001, 03:40

You would much rather have a TVR over a Cav? I own a 4x4 GSi and I'd still have a bloody TVR over it, and I love my Cav to death. You need to get out a bit more methinks!

8th Jun 2003, 17:17

I don't know what TVR it was, but it would have had between two and four times as much power as your Cavalier, and it would definitely weigh less.

When he saw you flip the bird, I bet he was laughing harder than you were.

23rd Dec 2005, 07:18

There is nothing wrong with a Cavalier GSi as quick old bangers go, but if you think it will beat a TVR, you are delusional.

Nobody who drives a TVR would feel the need to prove anything against a decade old warmed over shopping trolley, and I'm not surprised he didn't take the bait. Probably just thought "plank", settled back into his seat, eased the stereo down a notch to listen to the V8, and smiled to himself. I know I would have done.

It's the same principle as when chavs in Novas try to race my FireBlade off the lights. Fun as educating these morons is, it gets boring after a while. Let them have their little boast on websites and down the pub if it makes them feel better. Just knowing you can obliterate them with a simple twist of the wrist (or flex of the right ankle) is good enough. Proving it isn't always necessary.

10th Feb 2006, 17:03

I agree about the chavs in nova's comment, but I do find it fun leaving them in my impreza STI. But not all nova driver's are chavs, some have top class mods. But most bikers seem to drive like nutters all the time, cutting everyone up! And they complain when you don't see them, anyone agree? Bike's are faster, but their just not worth the hassle, must get smelly in those leathers.

1990 Vauxhall Cavalier GSi 2000 2.0 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16V Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Faults:

About 4 months before I bought the car the head had been reconditioned, and the garage who did the work didn't bother flushing the water system properly which meant that there was loads of oil in the water system, which caused me loads of problems.

After I had the car for 2 months the radiator died, then the top hose, then the bottom and then the heater matrix hose went. I have also replaced the water pump and thermostat. The oil was also causing air locks, which stopped my fan from comming on hence overheating. The entire system has now been cleaned out and I have to pray the oil doesn't come back, cos we know what that means (pourous head).

I have recently changed the clutch and suspension strut bearings.

General Comments:

Despite all the problems it hasn't stopped the car from running like a dream. My GSi was imported from Germany from new so it has the European ECU chip (170 BHP) and it shows. I have 2 friends with UK GSi 2000s, and I pull away from them every time. I have also put a set of 17" alloys on and done some air box mods. I payed £2500 for the car and the performance is outstanding compared to much more expensive cars eg, Ford ST24, and BMW 325, and it's comfortable too, what more could I want?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2000

11th Apr 2004, 13:47

European Cavalier GSI's did not have a different chip and there was no difference in performance compared to UK Cavs.

15th Nov 2008, 22:49

I agree, a friend of mine has a foreign GSI 2000 and performance on mine and his are the same.

Not calling you a liar but there's no evidence to say that they'd boost the other GSI's up to 170BHP.

As far as I'm concerned, they're all 144BHP and 0-60 in 7.9 seconds.

16th Nov 2008, 20:42

That's 150 bhp, not 144.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 49 reviews