1992 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier GSi 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Excellent high performance saloon for very little money

Faults:

The exhaust and clutch needed replacing and the engine needed a tune.

Pads and discs where replaced, but apart from these normal things the Cavalier GSI never needed major work.

If these engines are maintained every 3000 miles as the manufacturer states, very little goes wrong.

General Comments:

This is an extremely durable and reliable car with very good performance, and is a particularly good motorway cruiser for the price. Soon I will replace my 1992 car with a more recent Vectra V6 GSI model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier CDi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

The best older car you could ever buy

Faults:

The oil started to leak only two months after I purchased the car.

The engine warning light keeps coming on and then going off.

New exhaust at 46000 miles.

The dashboard rattles at high speed.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable.

A very reliable car.

The car drinks petrol quite quickly.

The car's road handling is excellent.

Unfortunately Cavalier's have a bad name but I can't really see why, mine is great.

This car gives you a very smooth ride.

Such a fast car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

29th Sep 2003, 13:12

I have a Mk3 2.0 8v CDI Cavalier, and it's great, but I have a problem with the engine stalling at tick over intermittently.

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier CD 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

The best older car you could ever buy

Faults:

The oil started to leak two months after I had purchased the car.

General Comments:

This car drives very well.

It is very reliable.

It was very good value for money.

The seats are very comfortable.

Sadly, the 2 litre drinks a lot of fuel.

There is no rust at all.

It is a very quick car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Performance and reliability at an affordable price

Faults:

It occasionally lost some coolant, though I couldn't find the leak.

Other than that, a set of dash bulbs and a thermostat.

General Comments:

The best car I've ever owned and I've had newer ones. Fast, totally reliable, comfortable and good looking.

£20.00 spent on repairs in 19000 miles, unbeatable value for a 9 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Insurance friendly monster!!

Faults:

So far nothing has gone majorly wrong. I needed a new exhaust back box and that's it.

General Comments:

Wow!! What a car. The first time I sat in the car I knew I had bought something a bit special. The first time I put my foot down, well, I could of done with a toilet roll. The performance of this car is amazing. It's such a big car but the power it has is awesome. It will certainly beat most of the boy racer cars around. I do find though that it doesn't like taking corners to fast.

The interior is great. The seats are Recaro trimmed so you can guarantee they're comfy, they are also very supportive. Everything is in there as well. Electric windows, tilt/slid back sun roof, PAS, ABS etc.

I would definitely recommend getting one.

One more thing is that they are affordable to insure. I'm a youngster and even I can afford one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

1992 Vauxhall Cavalier L 1.6 carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired129935 miles
Most recent distance141533 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Used car of the decade - what more can you say!

Faults:

Brakes - the one fault which kept recurring. Replaced front discs and pads, and had two sets of cylinders and shoes etc. on the rear, but they kept sticking.

Clutch squeaked from when I bought it, but it never got any worse.

Had to replace CV boots, brakes, and front shocks within the first 3 weeks!

General Comments:

It seems like I did a lot to this car within the five months that I owned it, and maybe I did. However, it set me back £800 to buy, which was a bargain, and all the parts were so cheap, it wasn't a problem.

Nothing whatsoever went wrong with the engine - it used no oil and made no worrying noises.

It is now being used as a taxi - in a way, I wish I hadn't sold it, as my 405 has been considerably more expensive to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 05:14

Used car of the decade indeed, you are so right. I sold my Cav and it ended up being ragged to death by some fat taxi driver and it broke my heart, it was such a lovely car.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 40 reviews