1995 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews

1995 Vauxhall Corsa LX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Best I have ever owned

Faults:

The first thing that went on the car was the water pump.

Had an MOT and only four other problems were picked up.

Needed a new tyre.

A bit of welding on the seals.

Track rod gaiter.

Wind screen wipers.

Nothing much really.

General Comments:

Best little car I have ever owned.

I do quite a lot of miles in the year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2014

1995 Vauxhall Corsa Twist 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86599 miles
Most recent distance86677 miles
Previous carKia Pride

Summary:

Comfortable, quick and very cheap to run. It's a gem

Faults:

Thermostat and thermostat switch both needed replacing when I first bought it at 86500 miles.

General Comments:

I have had a lot of cars in the past year. Fords, Fiats, Kia etc. But have never owned anything as comfy to drive. It really is a great little run around and very cheap to run.. it's a really nice looking car too.

Even though it only has the basic 1.2 litre engine, it is still rather nippy.

Sadly being the Twist version, it's totally basic and doesn't even have so much as a clock or lighter, but these silly things don't really bother me.

Definatly a recommended car for new drivers for the cheap insurance and fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2008

21st Aug 2010, 01:35

I have a Twist also, a white one. I absolutely love it :) x.

1995 Vauxhall Corsa Merit 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

This is a nice cheap to run car that will take you from a to b without too much trouble

Faults:

When I first got the car all was fine. The body work was nice and shiny and polished well. Under the bonnet most of the metal I could see was all rusting away. Recently the rust has been has been flaking off when I shut the bonnet.

When I pull the leaver to open the bonnet it doesn't jump up like it used to do, I think the springs are worn or rusty so I have to lift it up instead and then press the leaver.

The bulbs that illuminate the central console unit no longer work so can only see about 10% of the controls in the dark. Changing the bulbs isn't easy as I cannot remove the central air-vents to get to the screws behind.

The steering wheel is out of rotational alignment.

The seat belts don't roll back like they used to.

Condensation/misting doesn't clear even after using the heater/fan on high settings. The air flow cannot be directed completely to the side windows because of limits on the side airvents control.

Cannot seem to get rid of the mayonnaise build up in the rocker cover, not easy to take off either.

Car seems to jump forward as I put into gear with a thud.

General Comments:

Always starts in the morning, reliable.

Damn cheap to run. I can get about 300 miles on a long run with a full tank and about 130 miles on short journeys with a full tank.

Fits nicely into small parking spaces. Easier to control because it's a smaller car.

Interior is okay, not much room in the back though especially if you've got long legs. Nice headroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2006

1995 Vauxhall Corsa Arizona 1.2i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2i 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance73500 miles

Summary:

Reliable, cheap little day to day runner

Faults:

Rocker gasket leaking when bought - £20 and fitted myself.

Front brake pads, rear brake shoes, and 2x rear wheel cylinders renewed 1 month ago, cost £120 in parts.

Slight rust on front of bonnet.

Front windscreen wash piping cracking and split, replaced for £10.

Battery went flat quickly, but it turned out it was a faulty battery from a 1993 model. Cost £35.

General Comments:

The car is a great little car for running to work and back every day.

It has adequate acceleration from standing upto around 50mph, then it starts to get sluggish, probably due to age.

Once you get to 80mph ish, the car will happily stay there.

Steering wheel wobbles at 75mph.

Apart from that, a great little car.

Never broken down.

Starts quickly every morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

28th Feb 2006, 06:19

My wheel wobbled at 75mph..turns out the tracking and balancing are really crap on these cars. Had it fixed at the garage for £20 now it works a treat and I'm not using all my energy to turn the wheel everytime I need to turn now. So much smoother.

14th Sep 2006, 13:25

I have had one of these for 2 years now. No serious problems at all. had to replace the washer system because it got all bunged up with algae.

Brakes needed doing for MOT purposes...

Sheer wear and tear, cost was very fair and cheaper than most to replace parts.

Wheel inbalances have nothing to do with the car, just the wheels themselves. Get them balanced for £10 at your local kwikfit.

In all, I very reliable run around.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews