1996 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews

1996 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance78200 miles

Summary:

Good as a first car

Faults:

Everything's fine, but there is a small patch of rust on the bonnet, and a small area of wear on the drivers seat the size of a pound coin.

General Comments:

I love my car, it's called Keith. It only cost me £500. It may not be the fastest, coolest or best handling, but it does me just fine, and surely that's all that matters from a car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2009

1996 Vauxhall Corsa SRi 2.0L 8v from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance97500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Rapid though nuts

Faults:

Nothing.

The car was a 1.4 16v, though the cam belt had gone so the previous owner fitted a Cavy SRi 130 engine.

General Comments:

The Corsa Vauxhall should have made.

This thing would blow a Vectra Gsi with a full car.

The torque steer was a joke.

Bought for a grand, sold for two 6 months later, which I regret.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2009

1996 Vauxhall Corsa Combo Van 1.7D from Spain

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.7D Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

Ugly, but useful

Faults:

Van-doors lock broken.

Stereo broken.

Ignition lock broke.

Pre-heating system broke.

General Comments:

Good work horse, reasonable on diesel.

Engine is agricultural, clattering away in front of you. Give it some revs and it sounds like a canal boat about to go critical.

Despite based on the shopping cart Corsa, it's actually fairly roomy for a van.

Good load space.

Ugly as sin with fat sides like a guppy, but that just makes it all the more useful.

Good in a crash. Mine is currently a write-off on the drive, crashed head on into a tree after losing control in the wet, not a scratch on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

1996 Vauxhall Corsa sport 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance134102 miles

Summary:

Exellent

Faults:

Nothing yet I am 17 first car very quick for what it is.

General Comments:

Very pleased so far nippy and gd fun:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

1996 Vauxhall Corsa Sport 1.6 injection from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Best sporty hatch around

Faults:

The only thing that's gone wrong with my Corsa is the timing belt. It's gone twice in 3 years!

General Comments:

This car is very underated.

It's amazingly quick and good to handle.

I love this car and it also seems to be rare.

Does anyone have a 1996 Corsa 1.6 injection sport with vauxhall body modifications or have I got a rare one?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 06:14

Nope they ant that rare mate.

1996 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.4i 8v from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4i 8v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, cheap to insure, but very underpowered for a 1.4i

Faults:

Boot lock broke and had to be fixed after having the car for about a year.

The cam shaft needed changing at about 90,000 miles as it was making the engine sound terrible, almost as if it needed the tappets tightening.

Fan belt screeched after 90,000 miles and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have owned the 1.4i 8v LS Corsa for about 3 years now and I have to say its been very reliable. Its never broken down on me once and is still in good condition. However, for a 1.4i the car is very under powered, leaving it feeling very sluggish and even being beaten by 1.1's! The torque of the car is terrible slowing down considerably when more than 2 people are in the car and also finding it very difficult getting up steep hills. I even timed its 0-60 and it took 15 seconds! However I have heard the 1.4 16v sport doesn't suffer from being so sluggish, doing the same in just over 10. Reliability of the car however is very very good, seeing that it has done over 100,000 miles for such a small engine. I have modded mine slightly with alloys, lowering, backbox and induction kit. Do not change the original air filter unless you want to serously lower its fuel economy! Before this however, fuel consumption was good if driven appropriately. Standard handling is OK, but I would definitely recommend lowering on solid springs and wider wheels for a more exciting drive. The car looks great with a few modifications, especially with wide alloys. Overall I do really like my little Corsa, but I could really do for something with a little more power, like the Corsa sport, not because I'm a boy racer, but because I am tired of slamming it into 2nd up a hill on a road with a 60 MPH speed limit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

21st Jul 2005, 17:12

Good honest review, sounds exactly like mine.

19th Jan 2006, 08:35

Good review I couldn't agree more, I have a 95 Corsa 1.2 8v so imagine what that is like!

30th May 2010, 15:24

I own a Vauxhall Corsa 1.4 Sport 1996. I wouldn't call it fast, but compared to other cars of its type i.e some Golfs, other Corsas etc, it beats them off the line hands down..

Without power-steering, a 3 point turn is a feat, but for any driving over around 15mph, it's hard to notice you don't have it.

One problem, as with most older Vauxhalls, annoying rattles are noticeable. Most however can be fixed with a screw.

Let's face facts, the sport model + alloys = a very good looking small car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews