1997 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze 1.2 8v from UK and Ireland


All you'll need in a small second hand car


Timing belt pulley replaced.

Noisy water pump replaced.

Otherwise OK.

General Comments:

A nice small car, reliable, fairly well built and cheap to run.

For a basic special edition has quite a nice amount of kit (Rev Counter, Power Steering, Tilt-slide roof, Multi Function Display)

Not a fantastic handler, safe, but very understeery. Stops well.

Engine gutless and a little noisy for such a modern car.

Only real complaints are lack of an airbag & central locking and the standard stereo was awful. Had to replace speakers and put a CD Player in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

12th Aug 2009, 09:30

Very true apart from the good reliability. In my experience it is the most unreliable car I have driven, and wouldn't buy another.

1997 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.4 from UK and Ireland


A good first car, though could certainly be more reliable


Oil Sump and Exhaust failed within a week of each other at 40,000 miles. Total cost of repair was £400+VAT.

Handbrake Cables and both Front and Rear Disc Brakes and Pads needed replacing at the 50,000 mile service.

Head Gasket blew at 52,000 miles. Approximately £200 to repair.

General Comments:

The car does feel quite powerful considering its age.

Has a definite "well built" feel to it. I have driven some other cars of a comparable age that certainly feel a lot older/lower quality.

Interior is not the best quality, in reality it's quite sparse feeling. I regularly travel for distances of up to 300 miles and on these trips you really do wish for a more comfortable driving experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Sport 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland


Practical budget performance hatch


Nothing so far, fingers crossed. Brakes are beginning to fade badly, probably in need of some new pads and discs!

General Comments:

Very frugal and quite fast at the same time.

Relatively cheap insurance.

Good seats.

Still not that exciting, but what do you expect from a vauxhall!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Sport 1.4i 16v DOHC from UK and Ireland


A great car for the younger person with good tuning potential


Oil pump gasket blew, expensive to repair due to high labour time, cos pumps hard to reach.

Rear brake cylinders leaked.

CAT converter fell apart.

General Comments:

Brought the car standard and it has been modded with bigger alloys, lower suspension, full sports exhaust system, air induction kit, high lift cams etc...

It accelerates to 100mph with ease, and handles well, but this is due to the above modifications.

As standard the handling was rather boaty and felt unstable. I opted for one without power steering as this isn't needed on a small car, and decreases road sensitivity.

Well chuffed with the interior, has sports seats and looking modern/stylish. But then I did have a nova before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

6th Oct 2003, 09:45

I agree with the comments that this car is expensive to repair. I owned a Corsa Sport 1.4i 16v N reg, but I decided that due to the time and money spent fixing this car it was not very economical. One of the problems which occurred was that the head gasket went on it. I would recommend this car as a short term investment, but the upkeep of this vehicle can be expensive due to the Ecotech engine.

1997 Vauxhall Corsa GLS 1.4 from UK and Ireland


A good value and reliable town runabout


Headlights and rear lights appears to blow every 9-12 months.

Water spray for rear wiper can get clogged if not used for long periods.

General Comments:

Very reliable and hardly anything goes wrong with it. A good town car because it is very nippy and easy to park in tight spaces.

Driving position can be an uncomfortable when driving for long periods (for any who is not short).

Power steering can feel a bit weak a times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Vegas 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Tremendous value for money


Absolutely reliable so far.

Required a new rear exhaust section at 55000 miles.

General Comments:

Very good town car, surprisingly comfortable on long motorway journeys.

Goes round corners OK if you slow down enough.

Very cheap to run - over 40 mpg, still on the original tyres after 62000 miles. Full service at the local garage (not main dealer) cost £60.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

16th May 2002, 15:41

Reassuring, I have just purchased a 1996 5dr Vegas with 64k showing, looking forward too many happy years.

29th Dec 2003, 13:39

The one think really missing from the Corsa is a cigarette lighter - not helpful when you need to plug in gadgets!

13th Apr 2005, 07:37

I fitter a cig lighter from a scap yard - the wiring was taped up just behind the ash tray and it simply plugged in.

26th Aug 2006, 18:36

Bought My P Reg 3 dr Vegas in dec 2003 and still going great, not had any problems at all.