1997 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Premier 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Excellent buy, I wouldn't buy another!!!

Faults:

The windows are hard to roll down as they are quite stiff.

General Comments:

Its a nice car, comfortable, spacious on the inside.

Smooth on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Sting 1.0i 12v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0i 12v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Never want to sell it

Faults:

Middle section of exhaust replaced twice, back box replaced once (due to the support arm snapping).

Rust appeared round the rear wiper (was resprayed under Vauxhall warranty).

General Comments:

It handles well, is nippy (really fast for the engine size) and looks really sporty.

Well built. I had a New Corsa as a courtesy car for a while and there are a lot of things I preferred better in mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

1997 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, but not for anyone who expects to gain an ounce of pleasure from driving it!

Faults:

Nothing - faultlessly reliable other than a squealing fanbelt. Difficult to comment on dealer service - never have cause to see him!

Paintwork is however, generally poor quality - looks 10 years old, not 3!

General Comments:

Cheap to run and insure.

Although reliable and cheap. This car is absolutely terrible to drive. Every minute in this car is purgatory. Unassisted steering is ridiculously heavy and low geared (4 turns lock to lock!!), unbelievably sluggish, bouncy ride, hysterically noisy, handles like a 1920's lorry... I could go on. I cannot believe that this car was test driven before it was launched!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

26th Jun 2001, 03:55

I agree about the steering. When purchasing a new Corsa (93) I asked the salesman if power steering would be necessary. No, said he emphatically, a small car like the Corsa, no problem.

His advice was misguided. Parking is physically strenuous. Power steering is essential.

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Sting 1.0 12v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 12v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35360 miles
Most recent distance35365 miles

Summary:

Small on the outside, but big on the inside

Faults:

Rust spot under the bonnet.

General Comments:

This is a very economical car- does 60mpg and 500 miles on a full tank of 40 litres.

Very stylish with standard alloy wheels and a rear spoiler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Sting 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

Brilliant transport

Faults:

Engine management system warning light was indicating some sort of problem, but it kept running. Fixed at next service.

General Comments:

Excellent handling, will go for over 500 miles on one tank. Best ever was 57mpg. Very smooth engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Trip 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

A great little car with medium performance

Faults:

Rear boot lock siezed and rear intermittent wiper transistor blown.

General Comments:

Good all round car. Bought it because I needed a reliable, cheap to run car hence the rather high mileage. For a car with a small engine it is quite capable of accelerating away with cars that have larger engines. Smooth to drive over long distances even for a 6'0" bloke. Cruises easily at 75mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2000

9th Dec 2003, 07:23

Totally agree with the comment there being 6 ft and only 17 this car is very very good for me.

Being really heavy footed I think the Tripp is excellent for a 1.2 engine.

I also agree that it does cruise at 75 mph rather well. it dies at about 90 but will do a ton five!!!

1st Apr 2004, 05:52

I currently own a Corsa Trip, I have done since November; it is my third car as I previously had a Nova and upgraded. I find this car excellent for what I need; it is reliable when I carry children and fun when I want to go out with my friends.

My boyfriend also drives my car and admits that he likes it even though it only has a 1.2i engine he says it is very nippy and convenient for town traffic.

I drove it 300 miles to visit family last week and it handled the roads brilliantly; I went there using the motorway and came back on more built up roads and towns. I was very impressed with the performance of the car and also the miles per litre was very impressive.

1997 Vauxhall Corsa Trip 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Engine overheating during the summer.

Dry smell coming through vents.

Fuel consumption high (Only 30 mpg).

Heavy condensation taking ages to demist.

After 6,000 miles engine management indicator came on. Returned 2 days later with overheating and fuel problems sorted.

Another trip to garage sorted the condensation.

General Comments:

Despite many trips to the service dept about the overheating problems they kept insisting that there was nothing wrong.

Ditto for the condensation problems, it was fixed on the 3rd visit to another dealer.

I'll not even mention the astronomical depreciation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 1998

23rd Jun 2001, 17:51

I agree with almost all of the comments made about this car. I've just replaced my Corsa Trip with a lovely Renault Clio. Yes, the engine overheated, the engine management light persistently came on, the windows misted up if I dared to breathe when it rained and the ride and handling was utterly horrendous!

However...the fuel consumption on the car I had was fantastic. I would easily get 45mpg around town and on motorway/A Road trips 60mpg+ was not unusual. Still, I'd advise against buying one. They're very basic cars.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews