1998 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1998 Vauxhall Corsa Sport 1.6 16-valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16-valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

An underrated hot hatch! (Less common than a Citroen Saxo VTS)

Faults:

Exhaust needed replacing in 2002, but it gave me an excuse to fit an aftermarket stainless steel exhaust.

Boot light failed to work, but later I found out that the rear spray jet's hose had split. It was repaired by the dealership, however there seems to be water still coming in the boot from somewhere, I will have to investigate it soon.

Lumber supports are wearing, but the fabric in still in tact.

Lighting behind the heating control's has stopped working.

Cassette deck on stereo stopped working, but again, it gave me an excuse to fit an aftermarket item.

General Comments:

This car is a great car, performance is great, and the car is very reliable apart from my mentioned items however I regard most of them to be cosmetic rather than actual running problems.

One of the major problems I have with the car is the steering, which in my opinion is a bit light, which may be fine for less large persons, but I feel if it had a little more feel it would improve it greatly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

10th Nov 2007, 15:08

Iv got a corsa and there good cars.. Good little run around. Very reliable, they never let you down and are cheap 2 run. Never had a problem with mine, if you treat it right then you shouldn't have a problem.

1998 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Good little car

Faults:

Nothing as yet, my mum also owned a Corsa Breeze and had no problems with it.

Have had a bit of trouble trying to get the old radio out though.

General Comments:

This is my second car, and so far so good. The acelleration is pretty feisty, but the steering can be quite light at times.

This is definitly the a car for the more inexperienced driver, if you want something edgy then this probably isn't the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

31st Jul 2005, 12:05

I also have a 1998 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze and you're right about the original radios which seem to be secured never to come out.

18th Apr 2009, 17:09

Fantastic first car, would recommend to anyone who has just passed their test. Mine's running superb.

19th Jan 2011, 13:48

To get the radio out, you need to insert the removal loops, then "push them outwards" as you pull towards you to release the clips; the radio will then come out.

I have a Corsa 1 litre too, and it's a brilliant little car.

1998 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze 1.4 Hi-Torque from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Hi-Torque Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carSeat Marbella

Summary:

Great runaround

Faults:

No major faults with this car so far.

I have had one minor persistent problem in that the main beam occasionally switches itself on.

General Comments:

Impressed with the engine, very economical and easy to drive as it has plenty of power in gear. Feels faster than the quoted 14 seconds 0-60mph. However it lacks power at high revs.

In 100,000 miles it has had:

2 new exhausts

1 new set of front disc's and pads, will need another set soon.

1 new water pump and a new cam belt at 80,000.

Only once had trouble starting it, this was after leaving it for a week in freezing temperatures, easily fixed with jump start.

For a small car it can easily accommodate 4 adults.

This car can be driven quickly though does suffer from a lot of under-steer when pushed on the bends, over-steer is difficult to achieve, but not impossible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

17th Nov 2004, 09:22

Good little car!

Found it to be nippier and more responsive than other cars in the same price range. had no major faults jut radio was a bit fuzzy, can't complain thouigh.

It is very economical, and for a small car can seat 4 adults quite easy. all in all if you are looking for a small car to run around in this would be it!!

1998 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze 1.0 12V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.0 12V Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Nice car - crap engine!

Faults:

After owning car for a short time the sunroof needed replaced. It was letting in water which was leaking out of the interior light. This required 3 trips to the dealer and two new sunroofs. Thankfully it was under warranty.

Car was recalled to correct a problem with the computer chip.

Difficulty in putting the car into reverse.

Back box has been replaced twice. Exhaust fell off once!

I am currently in the process of replacing the Air Flow Meter. This is costing £238 pounds!

Wheel rims quickly faded to a pale grey.

There is very little acceleration power as car has only three cylinders.

Car recalled again to make adjustments to front seats.

General Comments:

I love the shape and interior of the car.

It is comfortable and all the controls are easy to reach.

Vauxhall mechanics have said that this was the worst engine ever made by Vauxhall!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2003

8th Jan 2003, 07:32

As a company, we had a few of those three cylinder 1.0 12v Corsas, nobody had anything good to say about them. The saving grace is definately the price. These engines sound like a V6 when pushed (and they have to be pushed all the time) with very little power. An ideal learner/starter car maybe...

Steve.

24th May 2008, 11:38

Vauxhall didn't make this engine! It was made by suzuki but had a vauxhall box and running gear.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews