2003 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2003 Vauxhall Corsa Club 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

It's an OK car

Faults:

Power steering keeps disappearing when it has been on full lock for a while.

Gear selector went.

The CD player went 2 times

General Comments:

However the cabin is dull and the seats are uncomfortable.

Apart from that is OK car for an Corsa and an 1.0 Be gettin an SXI or SRI for the next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

27th Mar 2005, 10:14

It's true what you said about the 1.0 corsas.

30th Mar 2005, 12:22

I agree on the power steering fault going away after been on full lock either way, I was told this was at one point my tyre pressures that was causing the fault, and again I took it back to the dealership and found my p.a.s (power assisted steering) was faulty and was replaced under warranty, thank god, as I found out this unit costs £450.00 to replace.

8th Sep 2005, 16:28

I have a 2004 Corsa 1.7CDTI SRI, and after a year my back is that sore I've had to take time off work. Bad seats!!

4th Nov 2005, 08:49

On full lock the power steering goes heavy on purpose to protect the bearings in the system. However your dealer will be happy to change the column (or indeed any part) as he will receive an unquestioned refund from GM as long as it is under warranty.

2003 Vauxhall Corsa Sxi 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Great little car, and excellent value for money

Faults:

Engine management problems: Problems starting, and cutting out. (I've had to have the chip reprogrammed twice).

Steering Rack: Had to be replaced at recent service.

Clutch: Slave cylinder failed at 30,000 miles.

Timing Chain: Became loose and worn and had to be replaced.

Interior Trim: Door trim on drivers side keeps coming loose and rattling, trim fell off from under passenger seat and from passenger door (around tweeter speaker)

General Comments:

Looks: The car looks great! I opted for the Irmscher styling pack.

Engine and Performance: The engine is very responsive and goes well. Acceleration is good, even in fifth gear on the motorway.

Fuel economy: Disappointing! I do a lot of motorway miles at the moment and this car eats petrol! Around town though it's fairly economical.

Handling: In general it handles amazingly, mine more so as I have upgraded the suspension. The original suspension was a bit mushy and soft. The steering is too light and becomes vague after 30mph. (But it comes in handy when parking!)

Interior: A little bland! Generally good quality a few bits have fallen off though! Becoming a bit rattly as the miles grow. Seats are holding up well. Stereo is of a good quality. Boot space is reasonable for a car of this size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXI 16v 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A super quick hatch back

Faults:

Steering column rattles.

General Comments:

This car is a very quick little number for the engine size.

It handles reasonably well and is quite a stylish car to look at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2i 16V 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance5996 miles

Summary:

Fantastic little sporty super mini

Faults:

Battery died exactly one year after it was registered.

Drivers seat feels a bit loose.

Passenger side windscreen wiper squeals even after a new blade.

Seat belt locks easily when attempting to put it on.

General Comments:

Strangely the battery died exactly a year after the car was registered and just fell inside the free A.A. cover (phew), problem solved, I think...

The drivers seat does feel a bit loose when going over bumps, pot holes etc. but I will have this remidied at the next service.

As for the seat belt, well, I'll survive!

Overall a wonderful little car that handles very well, is nippy enough for modern motoring, looks good and is exceptionally cheap to run.

Well done vauxhall!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

The best thing since sliced bread!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car so far. It has also been the best car I have had so far!

General Comments:

I recently got this car in Dec 2003, and so far it's been a dream. My previous car was a Peugeot 306 1.6XS, and compared to that, it is more fuel efficient, cheaper insurance, cheaper car tax, not much actual size difference on the exterior, and interior room is very good. Performance is also pretty much as good if not better, but as the engine is new, I do not thrash it around like I did with my previous car. Excellent on motorways/long journeys for comfort- surprisingly!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2004

20th Mar 2005, 14:23

Iv recently brought a corsa myself, have not picked it up as yet. Just wanted to know does the 2005 version sxi 1.2 have front fogs as standard..

20th Jun 2005, 17:44

Yes the 2005 SXI does come with front fogs. I'm waiting to take delivery of my 1.4 SXI (hoping it goes as fast as they say), I've gone for the A/C and solar protect glass. I have a 1.2 Punto at the moment. Hope it's a quick delivery, I can't wait!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews