2003 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A cheap fully loaded warm hatch

Faults:

The driver's side rubber window seal was incorrectly fitted from new. Although the dealership sorted it for free under the warranty.

There is a slight rattle somewhere in the dashboard.

The paintwork seems to scratch and mark too easily, even though I try to look after the car.

The other day the car had serious trouble starting up, it just wouldn't fire. Although this hasn't happened since.

The clutch pedal sometimes makes an irritating squeak when pressed down.

Although not the car's fault, the passenger door mirror was damaged by vandals. The dealership charged £120 to repair.

General Comments:

For a 1.2 litre engine car, the performance is excellent. In 2nd and 3rd gear at 4000 rpm, the car flies along nicely!

My car has Irmscher modifications to the bodywork and blue tinted glass. The car also has a chrome Irmscher twin pipe exhaust. It's a real eye catcher.

The interior is very good, far better quality than my Peugeot 106 Quiksilver.

The seats are very comfortable and the driving position is excellent.

The basic SXI package is brilliant, CD, remote locks, power steering, steering wheel mounted stereo controls, leather steering wheel, electic heated door mirrors.

I was surprised how much room there was in the back.

I thought it would be poor on the motorways. I was wrong. In fact, it's great on the motorways.

There's even little hooks in the boot to hang your shopping bags on!

Vauxhall offered 1 years free insurance, which I thought was great on a slightly modified car.

This is not my first Corsa SXI. I would gladly own another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

16th Jan 2004, 05:38

I own a Corsa Sxi September 2002 registered.

I have found this car very lovely and smooth to drive.

The fuel consumption I feel is not as good as on previous cars I have owned and my mirror button has fallen off, but is getting repeired by the manufacturer.

All in all though I thoroughly enjoy driving this car.

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Excellent sporty number

Faults:

Problems with the passenger door when the window is down and you shut the door, It makes a loud noise like the window is broken in the door. I took it to the dealer and fixed it under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent car for the money. Handles really well and is very quick!

Had major problems with the dealer, the car was meant to be delivered 2 weeks of ordering it, the car eventually turned up after well over a month, also vauxhall quoted me 2 years free insurnace then changed there mind and only wanted to give me 1 year free, I eventually got £250 off the price and they threw in mats, tank of fuel and other bits n pieces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

8th Jan 2004, 14:01

It's not that quick though really is it?I suppose for a 1.2 it is nippy, but its not a sports car other than that a pretty good review of a nice car.

11th Feb 2004, 07:18

Speed is of course in the eye of the beholder...

The Corsa SXi is not up in super-fast territory, but it's not up in super-high running and insurance costs either.

Having driven one, it is quicker than you would expect for a 1.2 litre unit, which is a pleasant surprise.

2003 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.7 DTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 DTi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

The best diesel car of this size on the market. Buy one

Faults:

Wiper blades look like they need replaced already. Otherwise, everythings great.

General Comments:

Very economical to run.

Extremely good traction for a small car. Great for taking off from lights or making right turns.

I'm very pleased with the acceleration, at all speeds.

The back end looks a bit flat, or is that just me? Otherwise, a great sporty looking little car.

ABS seems ineffective. Just this morning I had to control a skid on a wet road to avoid a 'men working' sign on a country road, when oncoming traffic appeared unexpectedly over the brow of a hill. I know I was traveling too fast.

Nimble handling with predictable understeer.

A bit dead until the turbo kicks in at 1800rpm or so.

Very high spec interior - I like.

Standard alloys could be a bit more aesthetically pleasing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

25th Dec 2003, 10:02

How come your sxi hs a turbo and ABS when normally it doesn't come as standard.

11th Feb 2004, 07:23

Addressing the above comment: "How come your sxi hs a turbo and ABS when normally it doesn't come as standard."

The Corsa being discussed has the 1.7-litre DTi diesel unit, which has direct injection and a turbocharger. It provides very good performance and will outshine the smaller petrol units.

A petrol Corsa with a turbocharger; now that I would like to see... brings back memories of the old Fiesta RS Turbo.

ABS is available as an option on virtually all Corsas and is standard on some models. Don't forget that standard specifications are continually changed anyway.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews