2005 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Vauxhall Corsa Life 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles

Summary:

Massive engine failure. And a below average car

Faults:

Camshaft broke in two.

All valves damaged because of camshaft breaking.

New camchain needed.

The car lost most of its power on the motorway temporarily.

Lately first gear is stubborn, and I need to de-clutch before engaging.

General Comments:

Suspension is soft, so it soaks up the bumps well. Lots of body roll.

Around town, if there is no massive traffic, I usually get 45 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2010

2005 Vauxhall Corsa SXI 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Peugeot

Summary:

Car is fine. Mechanics need more training

Faults:

Car cutting out when the engine is warm.

Engine fault lights illuminating.

Car won't start after cutting out or when ignition is switched off.

Changed relay system.

General Comments:

Returned to dealers on numerous occasions and told the fault had been rectified (not).

Traded car in for new shape Corsa this year.

Phone call today from a lady who has just bought the 05 Corsa; lo and behold she is still experiencing the same problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2008

23rd Jan 2012, 15:50

What happened to you, happened to me, and a fault couldn't be found.

2005 Vauxhall Corsa Breeze 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Distance when acquired11036 miles
Most recent distance29300 miles

Faults:

I got my little Corsa 1.0 Breeze just over a year ago now and have had nothing but problems with it. I bought the car on 11,000 miles and it has 29,000 on the clock now.

The most recent problem being a sort of squeak/humming coming from the front end. At first this was happening mainly when I turned left into a road or onto my drive etc. I took it to my local dealership where I have had a new steering column, steering rack, ABS recall, brakes took out and cleaned, new anti roll bushes x2, all to try and fix this humming noise. After all these visits, the car still remains the same and is not fixed.

This fault isn't there all the time and comes and goes as it pleases. It mainly happens now when I am reversing and turning the wheel at the same time.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it could be as when I take the car to the garage, I have trouble in getting the car to re-produce this noise and therefore the garage have no idea what to fix if they don't hear the noise.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2008

7th Mar 2010, 05:14

Probably the wheel bearing, I had a Corsa Life and hated it that much I decided to use it as a stunt car. See how tough it actually is, and it still worked after being flipped onto its roof several times. Strong car TBH, but unreliable, uncomfortable and undesirable.

2005 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A zippy, affordable and cool little car!

Faults:

12,000 miles: Front passenger wheel arch trim came loose while driving in heavy rain - fixed under warranty. An issue I had with my previous Corsa.

14,000 miles: Steering becomes heavy when parking and turning onto full lock, but only happens intermittently. Dealer unable to find fault.

A few weeks after this, steering has started to make a clicking noise only when turning the wheel to the right. Dealer identified noise, but unable to give a clear cause, currently a case of 'wait and see'.

General Comments:

Bought the car after local Vauxhall dealer offered a great part exchange deal for my previous Corsa. The SXi gives the sporty features, without the hefty running costs of a sportier model.

It still looks good, especially with alloys and metallic paint, though it looks dated when parked next to the new shape Corsa.

On the whole it's a lovely car to drive, both in town and on the motorway. All the controls are simple and easy to use, easy to park (apart from current steering issue) and makes an ideal first car. It also zips along country lanes nicely, although the suspension manages to be hard and bumpy on rough roads, yet soft and spongy on cornering.

The 1.2 engine is excellent, although needs to be revved hard for best performance. Overtaking at 50-60 MPH in 5th can be scary, but once up to speed it cruises well.

It can be run on pennies, with decent insurance, low tax (£115) and 20,000 mile service intervals. Fuel economy is so-so; it needs to be driven with care to get mid forties MPG.

Lots of nice features, such as 2-stage central locking, bag hooks in boot and clear dash-top display with time, outside temp etc.

The interior is spacious, with excellent seats, quality radio/CD player and cool white dials/silver dash trim.

Its well screwed together and reliable, the only concern being the current steering issue.

On the whole, it's a super little car that's practical, affordable, reliable and good looking.

Just need to start saving for the new model...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2007

19th Nov 2007, 09:39

Hi, I'm writing to reply to your comment about your corsa I am from Australia and have the equivalent marketed by GMH, I have the SRI version and have also experienced both of the faults you have listed, I am currently having the steering fixed by the car dealership, they said the entire rack needs to be replaced, if you are still in warranty you should push this issue, it won't get any better over time. Good luck.

10th Dec 2007, 02:42

Thanks for the comment; the steering problem hasn't got any better, but not any worse. It is just a pain when trying to park. The issue is getting the garage to listen; they were very dismissive last time they looked at it.

1st Jun 2008, 06:40

Update on the original review...

Owned the car for a year now and still think it's a great; for a small car it does everything you could ask of it- it easily accommodates 4 people, while you can carry a suprising amount with the back seats folded down. As you'd expect the little engine does struggle a bit when weighed down.

Running costs remain as good as you can get at the moment...

I'd recommend the SXi version as it looks better than the basic version while insurance is little more (even for a 22 year old)

Its never let me down although has niggling faults:

-Bushes on steering rack eventually replaced after 3 visits to dealer (cured heavy steering) - transpires it's a common issue on Corsas

-Steering column still clicking and now rattles on bumpy roads/makes a dull knock when parking- dealer insists there is nothing wrong.

-Clutch is very juddery when pulling away in first gear, but is fine once warmed up.

-Rattling noise when pulling away in first gear (possibly exhaust)

-Creaking from rear of car on bumpy roads

-Central locking often makes weird screeching noise and won't deadlock.

Vauxhall dealers have always been polite and professional, but you have really push them to fix anything under warranty- I've now given up trying.

Despite this, I still highly recommend the car.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews