2000 Vauxhall Frontera Reviews

2000 Vauxhall Frontera DTi RS Sport 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carVolvo V40

Summary:

Looks good, as quick as most cars, ace reliability

Faults:

Speedo fault fixed easily with soldering iron, occasional engine light appeared... new battery and new vacuum pipes have cured this.

General Comments:

What a car! Love the looks, handles well for a heavy car, no need for the 4 wheel drive as yet.

Great room with seats folded down, comfortable, reliable, and one of the better looking 4 wheel drives about.

Timeless looks, as it's now 10 years old, but with just 108000 miles done, hope this will go on for a few more years yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2010

2000 Vauxhall Frontera Sport 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

Difficult to sell on, due to undeserved bad press

Faults:

Crankshaft pulley disintegrated in city centre in rush hour at 80000 miles.

General Comments:

Very economical for a 4x4, 35mpg is easily achievable.

Handling excellent and very car like. Although the ride is choppy and very bouncy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2009

2000 Vauxhall Frontera DTi LTD 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Very good car and is more economical than might be expected

Faults:

Air bag light came on permanently, diagnosed as a high reading in drivers seat belt tensioner.

General Comments:

I was a bit concerned about fuel economy when I bought it, but I have discovered that I get an average of 34mpg either around town or on a run (better than my 406.

Acceleration is quite good, especially when the turbo kicks in at around 1800 revs.

Not as noisy as I expected, in fact it is quite quiet, even at 70 on the motorway.

Cabin and ride very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

2000 Vauxhall Frontera limited 3.2V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

It's a bit of a wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

To date nothing has gone wrong with the vehicle since we purchased it.

General Comments:

What a car, it has plenty of power and delivers it with ease, and as smooth as a top of the range luxury saloon.

Interior comfort is good with plenty of cabin space both front and rear and there's ample space in the boot for all the extras needed for a weekend break or even a long holiday.

Long range traveling is a breeze with the smooth V6 making it a joy to drive.

Fuel economy is a little on the thirsty side, averaging around 22mpg rural, and 13mpg urban, but this is a small price to pay for the enjoyment of diving this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

4th Aug 2005, 03:42

I think that the car is a lovely car to have. I also think the car is thirsty on fuel.

2000 Vauxhall Frontera DTi Ltd 2.2turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

A good all rounder

Faults:

Sounder on alarm at 40,000 miles

Radio aerial base at 35,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is one of the more comfortable I have had. It is a good balance between off road and on road.

Performance is adequate with good mid range acceleration, economy is excellent averaging 36m.p.g.

It has been totally reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

18th Nov 2005, 10:08

The sounder (behind the LHS wheel arch) can be removed without any major detriment to function of the alarm.

Watch out for the Mass Airflow Meter malfunction, usually at around 40,000 miles. When put under reasonable load, the engine management light comes on and you lose power, (the turbo is disabled) £150 + to replace.

13th Jan 2006, 05:55

We found exactly the same two faults on our Frontera, ours happened at around 37,000,Mass Meter, was OK, until we hitched the Caravan on the Back, then the warning light came on as you described, after replacing, everything fine. this is our 3rd Fronty, I love it to bits. this one is a 2000 model. still only done 39,000 miles.

2000 Vauxhall Frontera DTI 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance62300 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Very basic high priced rubbish

Faults:

This car has had 5 sets of front discs and pads because they keep warping. It works out at roughly every six months.

It has also had one set of rear discs and pads at 50,000 miles.

One water pump at 58,000 miles.

Engine control unit at 55,000 miles and another at 62,000 miles.

Although nothing was found by the garage, the 4 wheel drive made a horrible knocking noise when driven for more than half an hour when the car had done 50,000 miles plus. The problem seems to have gone for now.

General Comments:

For the price of the car the interior is very basic and the plastic looks cheap.

It is OK on straight roads and motor-ways, but rocks and rolls round corners.

What use is a 4 wheel drive car without a differential lock?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

19th Jul 2002, 07:30

I read somewhere else that warped disks can be caused by keeping your breaks applied after coming to a stop on heavy breaking.

I think I caused this to happen on my car because the motorway slip road that I came off was a downhill slope with traffic lights at the bottom. I would come off the motorway hit the brakes, come to a halt and keep my foot on the break until the lights changed. The disk under the pad cooled down slower than the rest and caused it to warp.

This might not be the cause of your warped disks, but the explanation that I got sounded reasonable, hopefully it will save you some money.

Kind regards

Richard.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews