2007 Vauxhall Meriva Life 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

I fell in love with this car the first time I got in it

Faults:

To be honest, I really was surprised that nothing has gone wrong with this car. There is a blind spot on right side, should be changed in future.

General Comments:

This car is reliable, a very good performer and economic on fuel. To drive it is a big pleasure, and it's very comfortable. The cabin is very big, and it looks like you are driving a big massive car, loads of room and loads of space for your baggage. Very quiet on motorways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2011

22nd May 2014, 13:15

The last comment doesn't ring true, I'm sad to say.

My Meriva uses lots of oil, especially in warm weather, but this seems to be a regular complaint from other review sites. One suggestion is to clear the engine breather pipes and change oil to a hot climate 10/40. I will try both.

The EPS light comes on regularly. There was one comment about power steering. Vauxhall admitted to me that it was a bad design and replaced mine free of charge - thank you Vauxhall. Nice car for the price, but the oil is a problem.

5th Sep 2014, 19:40

I have a Meriva 1.4 05. I too had EPS steering problems and eventually needed a part replaced at a cost of £850 - and YES I seem to get through a LOT of engine oil, recently had new seal fitted by the head gasket, but I still seem to have a small leak from somewhere. My mechanic too suggested 10/40W oil - which I'm now going to switch to.

7th Nov 2015, 21:44

The EPS steering column light coming on is a 'known fault' on these vehicles in this age bracket up to 09 I think. Google the Watchdog documentary on it. I had the same, took it to my local Vauxhall dealership, having phoned the customer services armed with the facts from Watchdog, and they replaced it for free, saving me hundreds.

10th Jan 2016, 16:14

Hi, we have just bought a Vauxhall Meriva 1.4 Life yesterday. This morning just reversed on our driveway in full lock. When moved forward, the EPS light came on and power steering failed. Is it right that we can take this to Vauxhall to fix (considering it is a common fault)?

2005 Vauxhall Meriva Life 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unreliable and dangerous

Faults:

I bought this as a second owner in 2009. The EPS light has just started to come on, and the power steering goes off.

General Comments:

I consider this to be very dangerous. I have a toddler and this puts him at great risk too. I have been quoted over £800 to get it fixed, and understand Vauxhall have issued a 'practice note' to all dealers to replace the whole steering column, rather than just the motor in the event of this problem. They clearly acknowledge, therefore, there is a recurring fault. Very unhappy with this car.

Otherwise, it is very nice to drive, particularly as I am 6' tall and need the space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2010

25th Apr 2010, 15:23

How do you think people coped without power steering before? I have had the power steering fail on me before, not a big deal at all, expect the unexpected my driving instructor told me years ago.

30th Sep 2010, 15:35

Having just seen a consumer report on UK television, it seems that this car should be subject to a recall. The power steering can cut out at anytime. It was shown that it was extremely difficult to control if you were caught unawares. Very dangerous in my opinion.

2007 Vauxhall Meriva Breeze 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Take a good test drive before purchasing

Faults:

On delivery car appears to pull to the left.

General Comments:

Overall, I am pleased with the car, the interior is well laid out and functional.

Boot is adequate, and rear seats maximise available space when laid flat.

The only disapointment is the 'Blind spot' due to the front pillars. This is particularly off-putting when turning right on round-abouts, or looking for traffic coming from the right. A serious design fault. If I had known about this at the time of purchase, I would have thought twice, and purchased another Astra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2008