1989 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland


The best things come in small packages


Nothing major only tyres, brakes and exhaust.

Passed MOT first time.

General Comments:

Wicked fun, 130mph tops chasing a Scooby (3 up).

Looks good for its age and has hardly any rust apart from the rear arches and the bottom of the doors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

24th May 2001, 06:40

Yeah, I'm sure your 1.3 Nova can do 130 mph!!! Dream on mate!

18th Jun 2001, 07:30

My 1.4 Sr only does 124mph top end, you dreamer.

25th Jul 2001, 16:24

My Brother owned a 205 1.6GTI and that only mustered up 130mph with me, him and my mate crapping himself behind my seat. 130mph out of a 1.3 engine? emm... NOT REALLY!!!

1989 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6i from UK and Ireland


Faster than most


Wheel bearings collapsed.

Warped discs.

Fuel octane plug fault, but nothing drastic!

General Comments:

I've spent loads of money modding it and it looks great. It's a full GSI spec and it eats XR2i's for breakfast. I've got a K&N, a boost valve and a Magnex exhaust. It does 0-60 in 7.89 secs and maxes out at 125mph. Not bad for a 11 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1989 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6i from UK and Ireland


Quick and cheap


Crank angle sensor made it cut out sometimes.

General Comments:

Faster than my XR3i, but the brakes need upgrading.

It's got a K&N filter and sport exhaust with 15 inch wheels & 195 45 tyres.

It's very good on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

1989 Vauxhall Nova GTE 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland


Rusty bullet


The fuel relay went after 7 months

Rust is appearing... everywhere, typical Nova.

General Comments:

The car is fast and great off the mark, bye bye XR2s, AX GT's, VTR's.

But mine slides like hell when it's wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

27th Jul 2001, 07:20

It is amazing how many Nova owners think they can have AX GT's... until one puts its foot down! Don't underestimate them.

Mind you with half of your Nova missing due to rust.. it might be nippier!!!

24th Nov 2001, 12:56

Since I whacked a set of FULDA tyres on my GTE it can handle the wet much better. Courtenay recommend them, and they made a difference for me.

Also, an AXGT will go round a corner quicker than a GTE, but we leave you GT boys sitting at the lights, wondering what happened?I've never been beat by a standard GT in my life.

20th Oct 2004, 16:42

I owned a pristine 1989 GTE between 95 & 98 and added a K&N 57i induction kit, Magnecor silicone leads, Bosch Super 4 plugs, Pipercross oil filter and Castrol RS oil. It went like s**t off a stick, easily adding 15-20BHP to the already 101BHP and could leave Renault 5 Turbo's in its wake. When I sold the car in 1998 it looked as goods as the day I bought it and had no rust at all. I have had more powerful cars since, but this still remains my all time favourite. What a classic!

30th Dec 2007, 08:47

Would you consider selling your Calypso GTE, as I'd be interested. I had one in that colour a few years back, best colour IMO. You can send me an email if you want on Jamesgsi@yahoo.co.uk


30th Dec 2007, 08:52

You can't get 15-20 bhp with an induction kit and new plugs and leads. Sorry. Whatever the marketing crap on the box claims, you just can't.

A 15-20% power increase on a non-turbo engine is impossible to achieve without head work and major upgrades to the fuel system such as well set up DCOEs or throttle bodies. Both of the latter would cost more than even the most mint GTE is worth today.

Your mods might well have made the car a bit sharper and therefore feel quicker, but if it translated to more than 2-3 measurable horsepower at the wheels, I would be completely amazed, and quit my job.

I build competition engines for a living so yes I do know these things.

6th Feb 2008, 09:41

These were great cars. 15 years ago. I can't believe anyone still bothers with them.

Go like stink with a red top stuffed in, or interesting in mint, original, show condition just like most cars this old, but that's about it.