1990 Vauxhall Nova Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Recommended by the man called Dan

Faults:

Nothing at the moment, but I have heard they rust fairly easily.

General Comments:

I love the car, the looks and the way it sounds from the back when left ticking over.

Sporty, sexy, stylish and most electrifying in 3rd gear, I kept up with my brother's Vauxhall Astra 1.8 SRi on the little streets and bends, but on the motorway I was left a little far behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

A good car that goes very well

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, starts first time every morning. It has the standard look of a SR, no modifications done as the car looks fine the way it is. The car is rad and has the Nova alloys on it. It is just a dream car to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Cheap and good fun

Faults:

Judder off the clutch and the brake calliper pistons seized.

General Comments:

Still looks good as standard but can look brilliant with big wheels and lowered suspension.

Performance is good for the power output and it can keep up with AX GTs. A few modifications can make it very fast and fun.

Standard brakes are crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova 1.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Cheap speed

Faults:

Rust, not major, nothing else.

General Comments:

This car is the best I've ever owned, not only is it economical when taking it easy, but put it over 3k rev's and the little baby lights up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Catch one if you can

Faults:

Nothing major at all. Replaced the exhaust and that was about it.

General Comments:

Brilliant car, I loved having it.

It was great up hills as it was a 1.4, and would pass anything.

Never once let me down. Even started first time after it had been in the garage for 3 weeks while I was on holiday.

Only downside was it was too small for my growing family and the seats needed to be more supportive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Quick, attractive bargain

Faults:

Brakes seized.

New thermostat.

Seized choke.

Heater stopped working.

General Comments:

It is my first car and it is excellent, good performance at low cost, I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A fine junior hot hatch

Faults:

Brake calipers seized (about 3 times).

Speedo cable broke (twice).

All 4 wheel bearings replaced.

Faulty thermostat.

Back brake pipes rusted through.

Needed new steering column at 115K miles.

General Comments:

A fine cheap reliable car with excellent performance for a 1.4. Stood up well to 3 years of enthusiastic driving.

Easy to maintain and spare parts are cheap.

I would advise uprating the brakes (as I did) to GSi spec. and also get it alarmed. Also treat the back arches and sills to some underseal to prevent rusting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A low performance rip off!!

Faults:

It is a crapheap!!!!!

General Comments:

Don't buy a Nova SR as they are absolutely pants and they are crap!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

4th Dec 2000, 16:00

Why have you given no reasons for your comments, at least say why you don't like them.

1990 Vauxhall Nova 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Paintwork started bubbling over rear wheel arch when car was just 2 years old.

General Comments:

Cheap and cheerful runabout, just don't expect any sort of handling or performance!!

Experience of Vauxhall compared with other cars I have owned means I wouldn't buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2000

29th Mar 2001, 05:18

I don't think you're giving the trusty Nova a fair chance. I think they're fab.

My Nova is my first car and I think Vauxhall are the best car manufacturer.

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

When I fitted a KN air filter in winter I had problems on long distances, once I removed it the problem was gone. I had to grind the arches back to allow for bigger and bettter wheels.

General Comments:

Sporty, my girlfriend loves it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

27th Feb 2001, 09:32

I would agree with that, my mk2 Nova 1.4SR hates cold starts at this time of year. As soon as I put the standard air box back on, it purrs like a pussy cat. It's weird. But I love my Nova and would never sell it. My girlfriend want me to insure her on it, help me!!!!!!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews