1990 Vauxhall Nova Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1990 Vauxhall Nova H 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A decent, unpretentious motor that gives you back ache, but gets you there

Faults:

Hand brake snapped.

General Comments:

For a small engine it handles very well at speeds above 70mph.

It's not particularly comfortable though.

The manual choke is a pain in the sphinkter after being used to an automatic.

After driving a 1.8 golf, it felt like it was powered by a hair dryer.

To whizz about the city or, increase your no claims it's the perfect motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2002

1990 Vauxhall Nova 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70645 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Avoid

Faults:

Overheating problems. thermostat failed at 72,210 miles.

Hand brake cable worn.

Head gasket blew at 75,346, considering it was only replaced at 59,617 miles.

Bodywork started to fall apart.

Engine developed a major coolant leak.

General Comments:

This was my first car back in 1997 and I still remember that fateful day I got it. The gearbox was heavy and it handled like a tank.

It was a cheap car to run and easy to work on, unlike my following vehicle, the Nissan Micra.

However one Saturday evening it overheated on the motorway. That was it, off it went a few weeks later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1990 Vauxhall Nova Diamond 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

A perfect first car

Faults:

My clutch cable snapped twice, but to fit an entirely new clutch it only cost £95.

General Comments:

A fantastic little car with lots of extra luxuries including electric windows, alloys and a sunroof.

Extremely reliable, starts first time even with 3 inches of smow on the bonnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Nova Diamond 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired79700 miles
Most recent distance82200 miles

Summary:

An excellent first car to play about with

Faults:

Manual fuel pump.

Poor handling, when standard.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for a 1.2.

The seats are very comfortable and and generally looks sporty, as standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Nova Star 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Never buy one again or at all!

Faults:

Distributor.

General Comments:

Not a very nice car to drive, handles poorly and feels like you're driving a slug.

Can do quite good acceleration if you push it, and I mean PUSH it!

Low spec interior, light does not work. Shelf has fallen off and the dashboard wobbles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

7th Aug 2002, 14:29

A car with that many miles is going to have a few faults like wobbly interior trim and a few broken parts!

It's had to put up with 100,000+ miles of abuse so it isn't surprising that it doesn't handle well or perform brilliantly - suspension and engine are probably in shocking condition!

I know someone with a Nova 1.2 Star with 150,000 miles on the clock and it's mechanically frail and half-dead.

If you want trouble-free motoring, get a new car! At least all that gets fixed under warranty.

1990 Vauxhall Nova Diamond 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, reliable box

Faults:

Nothing at all!

Rust on the bottom of the doors and small patches on the arches and front wing.

General Comments:

When I got the car the sun roof didn't wind back, but the electric windows were enough for me.

Looks sporty-ish thanks to GTE alloys, and metallic grey paintwork.

Handling and acceleration a joke, but you don't buy a 1.2 to go round Silverstone...

Self servicing saves plenty of money, even a novice like myself can manage it!

The stereo needs uprating if you love music like me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Nova L 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carNissan micra

Summary:

Good price for what you get

Faults:

Nothing, Endow takes care of his cars!

General Comments:

It's a good first car for those boy racers with not enough money for insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Great car with a great engine

Faults:

Water in the fuel tank!!

Wheel bearings needed replacing.

1 tyre.

Automatic choke a bit iffy when cold.

Clock & ashtray lights are very dodgy.

Driver's seat wear on Recaro style seats.

Overall, nothing too serious considering I rag the guts out of it everytime I drive it.

General Comments:

The SR's are very nippy with good fast engines.

Handling is also quite good, but greatly improved with wider tyres.

Very responsive engine, but with a few mods can be made super quick with the sky as your limit.

Suspension is also good absorbing most large potholes etc.

Overall a very quick car suited to someone with little funds, but who demands fun and speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

17th Oct 2002, 11:52

Vauxhall never made an automatic nova.

4th Dec 2002, 08:02

They did, however, make Nova's with an automatic choke - which was the author's point I think. And yes, they were iffy when cold.

7th Mar 2005, 02:28

I own a nova 1.2 j reg with a manual choke, i though for the engine size its not slow at all. so I fitted a stage 2 turbo and a k&n air filter, motex exhaust system plus a 1 litre nos tank, with this I thought my nova is the ultimate bondie! (boy)

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 36 reviews