1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, fast and fun to drive

Faults:

Rear brake shoes.

Automatic choke slow to respond.

Rear shock absorber mountings noisy.

Front wheel bearings beginning to whine.

Rocker box gasket leaked oil.

Rusty wheel arches, crumbing away.

General Comments:

Never failed to start, even though the automatic choke is a bit hit and miss, so rough when cold.

Quick acceleration for an old car and returns 30mpg plus.

Not much room inside and passenger seat is rather cramped.

Very easy to work on if something goes wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2009

15th Mar 2009, 13:41

Good review (our comments as also owner of a 1990 SR for the last 18 years and 108K on clock)

Choke - just wait, soon warms up.

Bearings / and choke absorbers have been replaced on ours.

Performance/ top speed still unbelievable for a car almost 20 years old!

Regarding rust! Find a good cheap local body repair garage and repair can be very reasonable.

Passenger seat seat seems OK to me... have you noticed that plenty of room for driver and with seats down boot is enormous for the size of car?

.. Devoted Nova driver.

1990 Vauxhall Nova LUXE 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Total rustbucket - hence there are none left on the road

Faults:

The car rotted away in front of my eyes.

Also, the door handle fell off.

General Comments:

One of my very first cars. Bought it off my cousin for £500, and kept it for about 18 months before selling it for half that to a boy-racer - who wrote it off a week later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2008

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Flipping great!

Faults:

Nothing to not, mud flap come off once..

General Comments:

Great car, very fun to drive and exceptionally fast when compared to modern cars of the same size.

Top car and would recommend it for anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2006

1990 Vauxhall Nova diamond 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Beast

Faults:

Absolutely nothing just a few bald tires.

General Comments:

Nippy little thing standard brakes are crap, but mint for modifying and great handling with some good suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

1990 Vauxhall Nova Merit 1.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Brilliant, cheap to run and so many performance parts, buy one if you can

Faults:

As with all Novas, the arches and rear suspension box frames have had to be repaired because of rust.

Turbo has become turbo, but hopefully one from a 1.7 can be fitted if its bigger and fits.

Front new wings need replacing because of rust.

Bonnet release handle siezes and handles are prone to snap.

Glove box outer facia & handle easily come off & need bonding back on.

General Comments:

Brilliant MPG on a single tank of diesel.

Small performance packed super-mini, I have raced a SRi and it won.

So many parts and after-market performance parts readily available.

Car handles so well once lowered and a decent set of wheels and tyres have been fitted.

No other small engined diesel can beat it for performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2005

1990 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Drive one before it is too late

Faults:

Timing belt.

Cylinder Head.

Starter.

Clutch.

Lots of Rust (especially wheel arches) - (partial respray has made car look like new)

...that is not a lot in 15 years.

General Comments:

Car remains sporty despite age. The top speed of the car is well documented by other reviewers.

A very easy car to drive, excellent acceleration, good handling for a car of the period, very good reliability.

Unbelievable storage capacity with back seats down - fridges, washings machines, arm chairs will easily fit (but probably best one at a time) Has got more space than our other car (Volvo S60)

Good visibility for the kids from the back.

We love it and so do the kids.

Will no doubt give up the ghost one day -unfortunately not made any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

3rd Dec 2005, 12:02

I agree with every thing you have said, but one thing I have to disagree with strongy is handling it handles like a cow swimming it just doesn't.

But I still love them.

20th Oct 2006, 18:30

Look guys... I'm 17 and everyone says.. oh look there goes that chav again in his Nova, but.. I genuinely do love the little car and the review is right. I mean my Nova (1.2 litre) handles on the road perfectly.. if I could keep this car forever I would, but they are old and dying out.. yet my car has no rust and is in perfect condition.. had some lovely body work LOL...

NOVA'S FOREVER xxxx.

22nd Jul 2007, 03:17

As the original reviewer, with almost 100K miles on the Nova still on the road with recent large bill (mainly welding). Otherwise just maintenance brakes, bearings tyres petrol gauge. Drives as well as ever!! We still love it.

26th Feb 2011, 07:53

Now 20 years of ownership!! And on classic car insurance.