1993 Vauxhall Nova Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Vauxhall Nova Swing 1.2i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2i petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

Nice little runner that has potential

Faults:

At 30000 miles a new exhaust was required.

Badly designed parcel shelf, resulting in replacement twice.

General Comments:

The reliability of this car is great, and if kept well, it will last for quite a while.

Generally low running costs.

Good interior in the post 1990 models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1993 Vauxhall Nova SXi 1.2i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

An excellent choice for a first car, I highly recommend it!

Faults:

No mechanical or electrical faults as yet, although the Nova's trademark rust is appearing under the rear wheel arches and I also suspect rear bearing noise.

Security is a real problem, I had mine broken into with ease thanks to poorly designed door locks that are cheap and easily barreled out by thieves, so be warned.

General Comments:

Performance is very impressive for the engine size. I out perform most of my mates in their first cars (Fiesta's, 106's and such like). The SX standard trim looks the part too with a rear spoiler, sports interior with sports steering wheel and on the exterior, nice sports wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

10th Jan 2006, 12:02

I owned a 1992 Nova SXi for 6 years and was amazed with the car. I had very few problems with it other than bits of rust on wheel arches and doors which I had repaired at minimal cost. Was a very sport car and the 1.2 engine was very nippy. I have now got a new shape corsa and am no where near as impressed with it. Who ever has my black nova SXi - I want it back!!!

1993 Vauxhall Nova Spin 1.2 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59500 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

A fantastic buy if you buy carefully - avoid Boy Racer wrecks

Faults:

Nothing really.

Fan-belt slips a bit in low gears.

Interior full of squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

Only had the car for a month - no real problems with this one, but LOADS of tired ones around.

Problems I have found include rust around the wheel arches and doors, leaks (particularly in the boot on saloon models), and engines only running on 3 cylinders.

Nova's have very little room in the back - look hard for a good one and it'll be great - drives better than an early Corsa and is much cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

12th May 2005, 12:30

My brother has the same car as yourself, a Nova 1.2i Spin.

We took it to Scarborough for a day out and it was an excellent ride, very quiet at motorway speeds (70 to 80mph) to say it's only a small engine.

Easy to spin the front wheels from a junction though, or was that just my brother's driving?!

I rate these cars as good, ignore the fact that 'chavs' and boyracers drive them - these are good little cars.

12th Jan 2006, 09:16

The Nova Spin is a great car with lots of boot space. Nice to drive in town and Motorways.

1993 Vauxhall Nova Merit+ 1.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 305

Summary:

Fast and economical hatch

Faults:

Expensive services but that's all!

Smokes like anything when you accelerate hard.

General Comments:

It's a lively motor but you lose the fuel economy of the diesel as soon as the turbo kicks in. It's alright but if you want the performance you may as well get the 1.4 petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Nova SR 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A flop in the pulling arena

Faults:

Small back seats.

Wonky aerial, bad radio.

Me mum couldn't get in or out (though to be fair she is a bit on the round side).

Me old man reckoned it was a bit of a bird pulling motor, but it weren't for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Nova SRi 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

A sound car worth every penny!

Faults:

Wheel bearings, rusty arch!!

General Comments:

An amazing car which is very quick for a 1.4. Mine still turns heads and everyone I know wants it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Nova SRi 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

Good quick car, excellent acceleration (compared to a 1.2), looks good, not as common as an SR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Nova GSi 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Faults:

Not a sausage!

General Comments:

Fast reliable car, very comfortable and still gets the looks as a completely standard GSi. I might put some bigger wheels on but I might just keep the thing standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 1999

1993 Vauxhall Nova 1.2i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.2i petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

Wheel bearings, exhaust, heat shield.

Rust on front wings.

General Comments:

Excellent little car although it is an old design, only real problem is the rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews