1996 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1996 Vauxhall Omega GLS 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Smooth, fast and reliable

Faults:

The casing around the rear central console snapped off, but only pennies to fix.

Drivers dipped light not working, can't find the fault...yet.

General Comments:

First big car I have owned and it's a brilliant car to drive, nice a quick and a smooth comftable feel to it. I would recommend anyone to have one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

14th Oct 2004, 15:46

The dipped head light not working is the result of the dip switch failing, a replacement dip switch can be obtained from the main dealer and is easy to replace, it just slides in and a socket is fitted to it so the wiring is easy I had the main beam flashing on while I was on the motorway.

I work with someone at work as had the same problem as my self around about the same time.

15th Mar 2005, 10:34

I too had problems with omega headlight switch. Mine caught fire!!! got one second hand for 12 quid so can't really complain. If you colour code the exterior trim, they look gorgeous!.

1996 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

A lemon

Faults:

Engine management light came on on way home from collecting it from dealer.

ABS and traction control lights always coming on.

Headlamp/side lamp warning always coming on.

Auto gearbox failed, dealer had second hand one fitted, that failed soon after, had it repaired under warranty purchased from dealer, it lasted four days and failed again.

Radiator leaking from connector stub.

Drivers door handle failed, repaired, but works intermittently.

General Comments:

Like everyone says nice comfortable car, but very complicated.

I like to think I know my way round a car, but I look under the bonnet of the Omega and there are things that I can't identify.

I have owned four carltons in the past and it seemed a natural progression to have an Omega, what a bad experience.

Absolutely the worst car I have ever owned, can't wait to see the back of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 02:13

You have a strange comment... cannot identify things under the bonnet...

I have 17 years experience in automotive industry and I honestly -at the latest models- cannot identify many things under the bonnet...

4th May 2003, 12:32

Do you agree with me or disagree?

4th Jun 2003, 17:07

Looks like you got a lemon. I am on my second Omega and will have a third one day.

A Haynes manual will tell you what most of the bits under the bonnet do. Generally most modern cars have all the same kit under the bonnet now mainly to get through emmissions limits. If you want to be able to identify everything, suggest you go back to an older pre K reg without Cat.

Hope you get this one running well.

Try joining Omega Owners group on Yahoo Groups - loads of knowledgeable members.

18th Jun 2003, 11:00

Thanks, but after all the trouble we had my wife refused to drive the car. I couldn't bring myself to sell it to somebody so I put it through an auction sold as seen. I really wanted to like this car it was dark metallic green and looked superb.16v Golf here we come.

19th Oct 2003, 08:24

I have gone to an older car, but what a car it is, should have got one years ago. Mercedes 260E.

16th Mar 2004, 09:01

What is the address of the Omega Owners group on Yahoo, I can't find it?

Cheers.

1996 Vauxhall Omega Tourer 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Cavernous estate. Buy cheap

Faults:

Breaking trim parts.

Door hinge stiffness.

Interior light mounting broken.

Front seat backing springing free.

General Comments:

I bought the Omega as a family car to replace my Subaru Legacy Turbo that was stolen.

Interior design is a bit early 90's. The rear seats have 3 diagonal belts and accommodate 3 child seats across the back.

The electric front seats are only electric in the up/down plane. Manual adjustment for the fore/aft positions. They're comfortable though and don't cause any problems on 300 mile journey's.

The boot is huge. It swallows luggage/cots/toys/pushchairs/prams etc and the tailgate has a convenient internal handle to pull when the exterior's dirty.

The rear seat passengers have their own rear-console mounted air vent, but this is not very robust and small feet easily break the fins off.

The air conditioning is quiet efficient.

Handling.

The car is shod with attractive 16" alloy wheel and 60 profile tyres.

The steering is not very good. Vague around dead centre, it's not surprising when you look at the steering mechanism itself which relies on more links than are desirable to route the mechanism around the gearbox. It does weight up well during cornering, but the springs and dampers settings are ill-suited to the vehicle.

One one hand it's trying to have an element of "wafting" about it and the suspension is setup to achieve this, but the engine lacks torque and needs to be revved to get decent progress. The car feels as it's been driven out of it's parameters and rapid progress is not confidence inspiring. However, contrary to it's 7/10's performance, during seriously fast cornering, you can feel the superiority of rear wheel drive. Instead of a passive rear wheel steer that it's front-drive contemporaries implement to quell understeer, the Omega's balanced weight distribution comes into it's own and the vehicle exhibits impressive grip, tenaciously resisting understeer.

The 5 speed manual gearbox is OK, but is a little notchy and could do with a shorter throw and appropriately faster synchromeshes.

Unfortunately, the Omega lurches unpleasantly when doing "doughnuts". Ahem.

Thanks to being RWD, the vehicle has an excellent turning circle, almost at odds with it's size and is considerably better than my Nissan Primera. When conditions allow, a judicious application of application can reduce this even further.

The vehicle's equipped with ABS, but this seems to cut in quite readily. In both Subaru and Nissan vehicles, I've had to contrive a situation to test that the ABS was working. The Omega's can cut in during general enthusiastic braking. I had the suspension geometry checked (not by a 'Quick' outfit, but by a motorsport professional) and all was well within parameters.

Engine.

The engine is the 170bhp 2.5 V6 that's also fitted to the Vectra. The ECU is obviously tuned for emmisions/economy and there's a marked 'step' in the power delivery around 3000rpm. Other than that, it's smooth, but the idle can 'hunt' when fuel's low. Personally, I think the car needs at least a 3 litre engine for the extra torque required to make it the relaxing motor it purports to be.

Materials.

The quality of materials used are reasonable, but nowhere near Japanese quality. The door handle insert came off at 50,000 miles and a central locking solenoid failed at 60,000. Although at 70,000 miles the car remains rattle and squeak free.

The drivers side door has become unpleasantly notchy when opening. Hinge and catch rod lubrication have failed to make a significant impact on it though.

Dealer.

My local dealer forgot to perform various items explicitly asked for (in writing!). But they're only Vauxhall dealers and I'd been forewarned of poor performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 36 reviews