2001 Vauxhall Omega CD 2.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A delightful car at a superb price

Faults:

Oxygen sensor failed, replaced under 'Network Q' warranty.

General Comments:

This is Omega number three for me, and I'm delighted to say that I would not hesitate to own another when the time comes to change.

I confess that I was dubious at first at the prospect of buying a 'new shape' Omega, having heard mixed opinions of both style and performance. However, I'm happy to say that any such fears very quickly disappeared when I bought my 2001 2.2 CD Automatic a couple of months ago.

Surprisingly, the 2.2 engine seems to be quite a lot more responsive than my provious 2.0, the acceleration is crisp and quite effortless. The cabin is, as in my previous Omegas, huge and cavernous, with plenty of boot space and rear leg room. The equipment level is very good, with digital climate control, four airbags, heated seats and a whole host of other gadgets.

Externally, considering the car is four years old now, it is in very good condition, and looks fabulous in the Star Silver paintwork. Only a few very minor marks on the bodywork, as you come to expect with these large cars. the styling is superb and it really cuts a picture.

At £6,500 from a Vauxhall main dealer, and fully covered by the excellent 'Network Q' warranty for a year, I can only consider that I have found quite a bargain. This car was around £20,000 when new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

High spec car for little money

Faults:

Not a thing, but haven't had it long enough really.

General Comments:

The car is worth over £20k and picked it up for £8K after 3 years. Its got a lot of toys and is stupidly fast. I can only imagine what the the 3.2 litre engine must be like. Running costs are approx 24 mpg or £50 @ £0.80 per litre gets you approx 280 - 320 mile depending on your lead foot. Can accelerate very quickly at over 80 mph. I haven't had a bad vauxhall and welcome the news of a new build of omega post 2003. wish I had the chance to try a senator (too young!) If you are thinking about an omega - go for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

7th Feb 2005, 11:48

Pound for pound the best used executive car on the market, better looking than a BMW and much higher spec than a MERC. If you are a badge snob go for a one of the "premium" german brands if you are a realist go for the Omega.

13th Feb 2007, 06:14

I own a 2.2 diesel model it's nowhere near as quick as the MV6 etc. However it's a great car to drive and a really good looker. Tons of space for my Twin Boys and really practical and very comfy. I'd recommend an omega to anyone.

Rob.

8th May 2007, 16:18

Just got my 51 plate 2.6 CDX Auto today. Awesome! Quick as hell and sticks like glue! Always wanted one and it really was worth the wait, should have got one years ago. Can't wait to have a good long spin in the country, without the wife!

31st Aug 2010, 12:27

My is a question: what causes the oil which is found in the spark plugs pots?

1st Sep 2010, 02:06

Join the omegaowners.com forum and look at cam cover gasket replacement. You may also need to look at the DIS/coil pack rubbers, which get damaged by the oil, which gets there from a leaky cam cover gasket, which have a tendency to leak around the "half moon" rubber bit at the bulkhead side. I fitted three pattern parts, which all failed, and finally fitted the very expensive genuine Vauxhall item. Don't forget to use sealer around the half moons.

Follow this link direct to the repair guide: http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1180463563

2001 Vauxhall Omega elite 3.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent all rounder

Faults:

Fault with Headlight. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and relaxing to drive.

Very good Specification, with plenty of gadgets, and very good value second hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

2001 Vauxhall Omega CD 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A comfortable high speed cruiser

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

This car has been more reliable than my BMW 323.

One fog-lamp replaced under warranty - to my surprise as it was damaged by a stone.

General Comments:

The car goes well, and is fun to drive.

The steering is light and direct.

The boot is vast & the rear seats fold flat so you can carry house doors and the like.

Dealer discount made this an excellent bargain from new, with 3 year warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

18th Nov 2004, 09:02

I too own a CD, it's a 2002 2.2 auto and probably the best car I've ever owned. After 2 Granada's and a Carlton, the Omega is in a different league. I have had the cruise control activated and the software updated, I can see us being together a long long time. Pity it's discontinued

Peter Hopwood.