1995 Vauxhall Tigra Reviews

1995 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6.16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6.16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Faults:

I bought my 1995 1.6 16v Tigra for a bargain price of 800, as it had been reversed into a post and had some damage to the rear passenger side, which was easily fixed.

It only cost me 100 off a mate to do the body work, and he threw in some extras in like colour coded my door handles and sprayed the rocker cover for me.

I haven't had any major problems as yet, but it just seems to drink oil and water.

The brakes are very spongy though. I have had them changed but still no difference, and it didn't fail its MOT for it, but I did get an advisory. The garage couldn't say what it was, just a problem with the braking system.

General Comments:

The biggest problem that I had was that I stopped at a supermarket to get some cash, and when I went back to my car, it wouldn't start. It didn't even make a noise, so I called the AA and he thought the ignition barrel had come away, and would be easily fixed but it wasn't. The pole that turns the ignition when you turn your key had snapped. There was nothing he could do, so I had to use my tweezers from my handbag to start the car to get home. It only cost me a tenner to get the new part, and twenty to have it fitted, but the annoying thing is that I now have 2 keys, one to start the car and one to open the doors.

I just hope that I don't start getting the problems that everyone else seems to have!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2008

1st Oct 2008, 11:14

Using loads of oil and water sounds like a problem to me! Maybe the head gasket is on way out as the water in theory should never need topping up and a good engine doesn't use much oil.

1995 Vauxhall Tigra 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual

Summary:

Lovely little car

Faults:

Splutters really bad.

Had new plugs/leads.

Full exhaust and cat.

Coil pack.

Welding.

Electric management light keeps coming on.

Car now has no power and is still spluttering, despite paying out for the above, and is gassing me with smell of petrol inside the car, so I can't drive it.

General Comments:

Absolutely love my car, but I just wish I could find out what's wrong with it, as none of the garages have any ideas left, so any welcome comments please.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th December, 2007

22nd Feb 2008, 14:28

Think its cheap michanics ripping us off! Depending on where I go problems found differ and so do prices!

1995 Vauxhall Tigra 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Previous carRenault Clio

Faults:

Don't have a clue???

General Comments:

I have recently bought a tigra for my 21st which needed a new engine. The engine was replaced and I hadn't even had the car for a day when I broke down.

The car made a chapping noise and was very loud and eventually lost power and I came to a standstill.

My car is getting looked at and the guy can't see a problem, but now reckons I have bent all the valves. How could this have happened so quickly after getting a new engine.

Someone else had a look at it and thought it may be the oil pump??

Sounds like there are many faults in this car, does anyone have any idea what is wrong with it??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2006

6th Sep 2007, 00:21

No oil was getting around your engine mate so if there was plenty in there then yeh looks like the oil pump may of gone.

1995 Vauxhall Tigra from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

We have had a Vauxhall Tigra P reg since last year.

It has had nearly a £1000 spent on it since we bought it.

The head gasket went, which was spewing oil all over the underneath of the car, then the gear box, had a new battery fitted last week, and now there's a leak into the car, from god knows where. It's also leaking into the CD radio and nearly ruined that.

General Comments:

Whereas most Tigra owners are happy with their car, this had been one fault after the other. My son's dream of a car turned into a nightmare.

Never again.

If this particular Tigra didn't develop so many faults, I would assume that it would be a fantastic car, we may be just unlucky.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews