1997 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 7 of 13

1997 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A closet rocket ship

Faults:

Cam belt went at 77000 miles

DIS pack went at 50000 miles

Catalytic converter went at 64000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is a hoot to drive, doing things that no reps car should do.

It's an excellent mile muncher, chewing up huge distances in a short time with no fuss or bother, but adds an element of fun into the journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1997 Vauxhall Vectra ARTIC 2 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Still like the car

Faults:

Car has only done 27500 miles in 5 years been advised to have cam belt changed. After booking in for change told that cam rollers and tensioner require changing. This could also lead to the water pump required changing. Cost started at ?4.00 now it has risen to ?65. Is this known as piece of mind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

11th Dec 2002, 09:07

Try taking it somewhere else to have it checked!!

14th Dec 2002, 13:01

It's well worth having the cambelt changed along with rollers and tensioner. My tensioner failed, resulting in 8 bent exhaust valves and huge inconvenience. Quoted £1500 for a new head, but I got one from a scrapyard for £100 and fitted it myself.

1997 Vauxhall Vectra dl 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance183250 miles

Summary:

OK if you have a large bank balance

Faults:

3 gearbox's

2 airmass meters. before 100.000 miles

2 power steering racks by 120.000 miles.

6 pairs anti roll bar bushes.

2 power steering pumps

2 air return systems on front manifold.

Passenger door hanging off, weld poor.

Oil leaks are normal.

4 air pumps very poor service and many other problems to write here

2 master clutch cylinders.

General Comments:

The older Cavalier was a better car.

The Vectra is just a load of rubbish. It is a car well worth giving to Jeremy Clarkson.

I cannot understand why Vauxhall wouldwant to change a good car for this load of useless junk.

I did have two Vectras and in the space of 18 months my accountant showed me the cost in repair bills. Just over 7.000 pounds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

1997 Vauxhall Vectra LS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired108500 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Common faults are very annoying and expensive so will not be buying another

Faults:

Stalling on idle or approaching lights.

Faulty idle valve.

Revs up and down when approaching lights or junctions.

Very lumpy when driving.

Knocking in steering column.

Knocking and banging in rear.

General Comments:

Very comfy.

Loads of extras.

Nice design.

Body and interior well made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

1997 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39850 miles
Most recent distance43600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

An average car let down by lack of development

Faults:

Cam belt snapped 40,030 miles leading to engine rebuild. £800.

Wheel bearing giving in.

Cuts out - the old "holds at 1100rpm then stop" problem vauxhall can't fix.

Brakes worryingly poor at times.

Damp in boot.

General Comments:

I bought the car on an R plate with 39k miles on for only £4500 and had been well maintained. I needed a car desperately and liked the looks. OK it drives reasonably, but is no SRi, engine is smooth when it works.

Build quality is OK, seats very good and it excells on the motorways.

I have to agree with another comment here, its aimed at the fleet manager bean counters!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

5th Jan 2009, 15:53

I've had my Vauxhall Vectra SRI 2.0 for 5 years now, it had some cutting out problems when I first got it and believe this was due to an engine sensor problem, I had them changed and it has been fine ever since.

All in all I would say that the car is a proper work horse and is a very comfortable drive, long distance motorway driving or just simple shop run... Cheers Vauxhall.

1997 Vauxhall Vectra Arctic 2 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20500 miles
Most recent distance47425 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Jezza Clarkson was half right

Faults:

Electronic control unit light flashes on and off.

Driver's window is slow to lift.

Flat spots on acceleration.

Dash rattles.

Won't tick over half the time.

New water pump at 36000 miles.

New cam pulleys and tensioner.

New gearbox, due to the old one having the insides exiting the casing at 47000 miles.

Terrible fuel consumption.

Lack of power.

Terrible suspension.

General Comments:

My old car was a mk2 Astra 1.3; it had 198000 miles on the clock and never went wrong.

I've spent more on the Vectra on repairs than what the Astra cost me to buy.

Having said that, I would still buy another Vectra, as long as it had a full service history and faults fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 58 reviews