1999 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1999 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance45150 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Its quick, very comfortable and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

Camshaft sensor found to be faulty, causing it to stall a lot. Replaced sensor and then found crankshaft sensor also faulty. Replaced sensor and everything is now OK.

Airbag light came on and has been back to the garage 3 times to no avail. Light is still on to this day.

Steering wheel makes a grating noise, and although annoying, can be lived with.

Knocking from rear suspension when reversing or going over bumps. Been back to the garage twice and no fault found!!

General Comments:

This model has more gadgets than 007's night bag.

If trying to race a boy racer is your thing, buy another car. Although it is a quick car, pulling away from traffic lights and roundabouts can be a bit of a let down, especially when you put your foot down and the traction control takes on a mind of its own and slows you down again.

I think the Vectra is allergic to oil. I have topped it up once in a year!

Inside the car its comfy, always warm with the automatic climate control, and very very spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Vectra 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

An albatross

Faults:

The air conditioning 'ran out' when the car was 2 years old - minor problem

The airbag 'squib' had to be replaced when the car was only a year old - minor problem

BUT worse of all the engine keeps cutting out and after visiting 3 garages - including Vauxhall I have been advised to dump the car as the diagnostics computer shows no fault. It's so dangerous to drive now, the engine cuts out as I change down gear without warning and as of course the power steering locks. Trouble is I haven't finished paying for the car. A friend had the same problem with his Vectra, (automatic transmission compared to my manual) after £1,000 spent on trying to find the fault he traded his car for another and kept schtum about the problem.

General Comments:

I'm stuck with a dangerous car that I haven't finished paying for that has a problem Vauxhall say don't exist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2003

28th Jul 2003, 04:10

Try renewing the Idle control valve, common problem.

8th Aug 2004, 12:27

Hi.

Had the same trouble, work at vauxhall, try replacing the O2 sensor.

13th Dec 2004, 07:55

I would ask Vauxhall to upgrade the Engine management systems as I had the same problem with my '98 Astra (auto), and the problem hasn't arisen since. The firmware in the management system maybe buggy hence the cutting out and the need to upgrade to a higher revision.

5th Jun 2005, 05:31

I have a 51 plate vectra 2.DTI the engine management system was changed June o4 and it has gone again, would it be under gauruntee.

7th Jun 2005, 02:05

With regard to my previous comment. The engine management light flashes when the engine is running and as a consequence I suffer a loss of power which I understand is normal ant ideas.

17th Aug 2010, 19:54

I had the same problem with my 2.0 Vectra CDX, my 1.6 Tigra and my wee Corsa.

It's either the lambda sensor which thinks it's a good idea to kill the car when it senses too much c20, or the air flow meter which is probably faulty.

I got rid of all Vauxhalls. Can't stand the clicky doors and knocky suspension, bulletproof engines though.

1999 Vauxhall Vectra LS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Good value road muncher

Faults:

Engine Management light came on at 50,000 - Dealer tracked this down to, errr... something that controlled cooling. (I just nodded, pretended I understood what he was talking about and let him fix it - Network Q were paying after all!!)

Seems to go through headlight bulbs pretty quickly.

General Comments:

Previously owned a Renault 5 (my first car), then I changed to a job with a lot more travelling and quickly found that the old Renault wasn't up to 500 miles a week!

Bought the Vectra after hearing good reviews about it being comfortable, reliable, reasonable running costs. So yup, 19 and driving a Vectra - my image went through the roof. All my mates reckoned I'd started a family somewhere.

So far, I've done 15,000 miles in the Vectra in 6 months. Yeah - I'm pretty impressed with it. It's the 1.6 16v (the only one the insurance company would even consider giving me a policy on) so it's no road-burner. Most of my driving is motorway - and it copes with that no worries. Pulls well up to 100mph (so I've heard...)

It overtakes pretty well - though you usually have to be in 3rd or 4th for any real kick.

Really comfy car - you really do arrive at the end of a long journey and feel like you've just driven to the shops. The ride is smooth and the whole car quiet, even at speed. Great seats - great driving position -good dash layout.

Pretty well equipped (this is only the 2nd model in the range) and it comes with leccy windows and roof, decent stereo with steering controls and ABS.

Economy is good - I average around 36mpg. But on a long (and steady) run - it can do about 44mpg.

It looks good - I prefer the sharper shape of the Vectra to the curvier Mondeo.

My only gripe about the car is the handling and steering. It will not be thrown around on twisty roads, where it will pitch and roll into every bend. It feels safe - but not sharp.

All in all - it's no babe magnet (though my girlfriend loves it) - but it's good, reliable, comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

16th Jul 2003, 10:02

Are you a boy racer by any chance!? I am not quite sure how you managed to decide that it was fast! The 1.6 is one of the most underpowered cars on the market! I drive the 2.0 and I wouldn't want anything less. Good on you for buying a Vectra though! Enjoy :)

25th Nov 2003, 10:51

He didn't say it was fast. He said it pulled well upto 100mph and to overtake you had to be in 3rd or 4th.

4th Feb 2004, 15:05

Very good review and agree with most of the comments. I bought my first Vectra when I was 19 and the first question my friends asked was where the baby seats were...

I sold mine in August 2003 but it was the most reliable car I'd ever owned. The only problem I had was with the malfunctioning radio/temperature display, but that seems to be a common fault; it was fixed £70 later.

I had the 1.6 8v version and pulling in 5th gear wasn't its strong point. But the tall gearing gives you 40-odd mpg when you want it - and considering my Vectra spent 90 percent of its time on the motorway, that suits people like me fine.

A 2.0 litre version would have been nice, but insurance and running costs would have been so much higher. Plus, at sale time I sold my car for more than the equivalent 2.0 litre model anyway (buyers seemed to think the 1.6 8v model was more reliable).

Sound purchase you made there - hope it stays that way.

17th Oct 2005, 10:04

I have to agree. I've had the 1.6 16v for a couple of years now and covered about 30000 miles. It is not fast by any means, but for quick continental touring on a budget it's been no bother.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews