1999 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1999 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance10450 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa GSi

Summary:

A little more thought could have made a good car excellent!

Faults:

Front left speaker blown.

Gearbox replacement at 10k service at dealers request. Apparently a known problem with an oil leak.

General Comments:

The car is a performance car but the gearbox is annoying in that the gear change interval is far too long. Superchipping the car reduces the frustration but does not completely eliminate it. Needs a 6 speed gearbox.

The build quality is inadequate for a car of this price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

1999 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Looks faster than it really is!!!

Faults:

1. New centre exhaust box due to loose baffles.

2. New wiper stalk as buttons kept popping off.

3. New heater switch as number 2 setting intermittent.

4. CD player keeps cutting out once warm (radio OK).

5. New steering rack needed as it is always groaning.

6. Garage suspect a new CV joint will be needed as it is often clonking.

7. Door cards keep popping off, front and rear.

General Comments:

I genuinely believe that this is a good all-round enthusiasts car. Lotus have done a brilliant job on the suspension and MSD have done some good work on the cars appearance and engine performance. All this is rather let-down by the poor foundation that Vauxhall give these people to work with. If the basic car was up to better QA standards this would be a better car. All my problems are NOT related to the fact that this car is a GSI, but because it is a Vectra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

31st Jul 2002, 11:47

I too own a 1999 Vectra 2.5CD manual. It suffers from two of these problems: -

1. Creaking steering, which my dealer advises is the steering Universal Joint - remains to be seen

2. CD output breaks down when playing at high volume (OK on radio). Still to be bottomed - has anyone else had a successful cure for this one?

An additional one is the EGR valve which broke up, and the pipe which feeds it split.

Other that that, so far an enjoyable car to drive and cheap to buy if not run.

1999 Vauxhall Vectra GSi 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Very good fast all rounder

Faults:

Gearbox replaced after deep oil leak.

Speaker blown in front passenger door.

Tyres replaced after 8500 miles due to tracking error from factory.

General Comments:

Very fast in right gear and revs:

40-60 in second

65-95 in third

But can be frustratingly slow when caught at low revs and when pulling out without spinning wheels.

Recaro seats fantastically supportive and make it the only Vectra I can fit in at 6'5".

Handling excellent - surprised 9 Impreza Turbos on a blast across Dartmoor! Still wish it had more low down acceleration through 6 speeds or the low ratios from the 2.0 SRi

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

21st Dec 2004, 10:11

Some of the comments are very valid, for me it's the best car pound 4 pound on the road even today! I've had mine for 7 months now and will never tire of driving it, it's a real head turner which deserves attention especially when polished up!

It's also one of the nicest sounding engines out there, OK it's not the biggest around today, but 7 years ago it was ahead of it's time.

My mate's love it, I love it.

Nice to have some grunt in reserve as stated previous which can surprise the in MUSCLE cars on the road today.

The Monaro, once again great value for what you are driving, the 99 GSI caused just as much attention as this latest offering is getting today.

1999 Vauxhall Vectra CDX 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Be prepared to be dumped on

Faults:

Climate control packed in. Engine held down by three bolts - broke down after two of them dropped out and the engine was bouncing out of the bonnet.

General Comments:

It has excellent trim which impresses all my friends, but at £24,000 new it should have.

The last Vectra (N reg) went back a shed after three years. I would not touch one of these cars with a barge pole if I had to pay my own money for it (company car).

The dealers are arrogant rubbish.

To be fair the car itself is good and has excellent R&D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2000

25th Jan 2002, 08:55

I have the same model as yours and have noticed that it has become noisy and the levels of vibration into the cabin has increased. Did your engine do the same thing before dropping off?

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 36 reviews