2002 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Vauxhall Vectra LS 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28755 miles
Most recent distance41255 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An impressive and comfortable car to drive

Faults:

Rear Suspension Bushes

Air Bag ECU

Electric Power Steering Pump.

General Comments:

The car itself is very good value and an exceptionally comfortable drive.

The only real problem has been a recurrent fault with the air bag control unit which the dealer found difficult to fix. The car was returned on several occasions before it was finally fixed. This was at no cost to me although warranty had finished.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2006

2002 Vauxhall Vectra LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Solid, quiet, roomy and reliable, but slow at low revs

Faults:

The spring controlling the cruise control broke at about 12000 miles. You can live without cruise control which is just as well as the entire pedal assembly has to be replaced. I was told that this is very expensive although mine was replaced under warranty.

I also had problems with the brake wear warning light being on constantly. The main dealer had the car in five times and was unable to repair the problem. I used an independent garage who fixed it for ten pounds. Guess who I use for my servicing now?

General Comments:

The car gearing seems very high which means it is quiet at high speeds. The down side is that you can forget about pulling away in second gear. At high revs there seems to be plenty of power, but it is gutless at low revs.

My car was fitted with Bridgestone tyres. I found the handling to be absolutely appalling. This went away when I changed to Dunlop. To be fair to Bridgestone they did respond to my queries very quickly, but the tyres had been disposed of so they could not investigate the problem. I really did find the handling to be absolutely dreadful, bordering on dangerous, which spoilt any enjoyment of the car to start with. I must have had a bad batch or something because they have a good reputation in F1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2006

2002 Vauxhall Vectra Elegance 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Ideal tow-car with plenty of space inside

Faults:

Oil Warning light kept coming on when travelling at steady 60mph for approx 5 miles. Took forever to discover the fault which was a computer malfunction apparently. Rectified and no problem now.

Cruise control doesn't operate unless both clutch and brake have been activated - no one seemed to know that at the dealers.

General Comments:

Chose the Vectra primarily to tow a caravan. Has been outstanding. Tows a 1300kg van with no difficulty. This year travelled 4500 miles in Norway over all terrains and coped wonderfully. The bonus was that it returned almost 34mpg for the overall journey which was outstanding.

The cabin size is excellent, plenty of room for 5 adults and the boot is cavernous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

2002 Vauxhall Vectra LSi 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Bulky

Faults:

Hear a ping from the rear suspension. Had a bush replaced, but still get noise. Anybody with same problem, it's driving me mad?

General Comments:

Slow off the mark, but great on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 05:14

Mines got a bonking noise, I think it might be anti-roll bar bushes, getting them renewed in a couple of days, I agree it's a big old lump, but nice on motorway.

2002 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.2DTI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2DTI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36005 miles
Most recent distance37400 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

The car is great apart from the noise in the rear

Faults:

Loss of power, and engine management light on. fixed itself after turning off engine.

There is a clicking like knocking sound from the rear roof area, when the car is being driven. (Its driving me mad). Anybody had this also or know what it could be, Thanks.

General Comments:

I like the way the SRI's sit on the road. like the Styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 18:20

Thanks for the Info the car is going in on Monday.

2002 Vauxhall Vectra 1.8 SRi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

I would consider another one, not a 1.8 though, but SRI yes. Probably the new 1.9 CDTI 150bhp

Faults:

Windscreen wiper linkage failed leaving only the driver side working (luckily). The dealer took weeks to get the part in to repair it, during which time the weather was bad, lots of rain.

Knocking from suspension mountings. I had to keep taking the car back to the dealer before they eventually fitted a factory modification. It hasn't done it since.

Interior light switch failed leaving the light turned on. As it was winter, this was a nightmare when dark outside. The interior light is big (as there is only one in the SRI - stingy) and is therefore very bright. Again it took ages for the replacement part to arrive with the dealer.

One headlight bulb has needed replacing.

Passenger vanity mirror light failed. Only a minor issue, but a failure none the less.

General Comments:

I had an old shape Vectra CD 2.0 DTI before. As soon as I drove this 1.8 car I was disappointed with the performance. As I had been used to the turbo kicking in on the diesel engine (albeit producing only 100bhp) in the old car, the acceleration (or lack of it) from this 1.8 125bhp engine is poor. It's a big solid car and needs a 2.2 minimum. Even now after 60,000 miles, it still frustrates me that I have to rev it hard to get it to move quickly.

The SRI exterior styling touches make this car stand out from the rest of the range. The darkened light lens, the deeper bumpers, those 17" alloys under lowered suspension give the car strong road presence. My car is finished in distinctive Nepal Yellow metallic and gets heads turning especially when clean.

The handling is very good and brakes are excellent. The electronics that keep the car flat in corners and under braking are state of the art. Your really don't appreciate how sophisticated they are until you drive an older car for the day that doesn't have the modern electronics.

Unfortunately the 5-speed gearbox is not great. It's a bit notchy and the through between the gears is too long and the lever too tall. Vauxhall could learn a thing or two from my wife's Audi A4. The short gearshift is still smooth and precise after 85,000 miles.

The interior of the car is generally good and hard-wearing. The Cabin is big, roomy if a little bland. The Sports seats are supportive, but don't sit low enough in the car for my taste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

20th Jul 2004, 16:35

Having read my review again, these are a few things I forgot to mention:

It winds me up no end when people deride the indicators on the new Vectra.

I applauded Vauxhall for keeping with them. I find them a joy to use, whether in normal or motorway traffic. I thought Vauxhall was the only manufacturer with this type of indicator, but in fact Audi has a similar system on the current A4.

The only issue is that only very occasionally, you might over indicate from side to side when turning them off. However, I understand that Vauxhall improved this on late 2003 model cars.

Standard kit in the SRI is generally very good. Automatic wipers and dipping rear view mirror, loads of airbags, cruise control, electric heated mirrors, air conditioning etc. No electric rear windows and no roof lights in the rear of the cabin is penny pinching though.

The sliding front seat centre armrest is great with a hidden compartment. However it interferes with where the handbrake is located underneath it. Its more that the handbrake is located too far back rather that the armrest being in the wrong place. The cup holders are situated in a rubbish position between the handbrake and the gear knob. Vauxhall should have done without the cup holders here and the handbrake could come forward. Cup holders should be in the dashboard, see Saab or Audi.

22nd Jun 2005, 07:13

What's wrong with standard indicators though? I have nothing against the Vectra (or A4) as such, but it does worry me when designers feel the need to play with a design which has worked perfectly well for the best part of a century.

Aren't there far more important things to worry about when designing a car? Like making those on a BMW 3-series work at all?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews